We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast buffet and a great location in Monterey!”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast buffet and a great location in Monterey!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I travel frequently to Monterey and this is my hotel of choice. Located in the middle of the downtown and directly across the street from the famous fishermans warf, there is no better location. When you wakeup in the morning don't miss out on the fabulous breakfast buffet. From various fresh fruit to cooked to order eggs and omlets to all the side items, this is a fantastic way to start your day. Marriott gold and platinum members be aware that the buffet is free during the weekdays as they do not have a lounge. If your staying in Monterey California, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    535
    232
    72
    28
See reviews for
397
406
34
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We took Amtrak from San Diego, and paid for their bus ride from Salinas to this Marriott. I loved the room - the colors were light and decor pleasant. The bathroom was nice as well. The service was excellent. We enjoyed their breakfast buffet - the continental included hard-boiled eggs and cheese, plus everything else usually included (especially good fruit). Although several TA reviews said ask for a room not facing the street, we did anyway to get a nice view. We enjoyed the view of the bay, but the first night, it was noisy in the middle of the night- I think from people leaving their sports bar and spending a lot of time outside talking very loudly. I slept through it the second night, though. I really loved the location. I felt like I was in the middle of a small town and enjoyed walking the area. I liked taking the free "trolley bus" across the way to the aquarium, etc. Fodor's recommended a restaurant right next to the hotel, Montrio Bistro. Their food is excellent. We also ate at Rosine's Restaurant, 434 Alvarado St. Good home cooking, reasonable prices. Be warned, though: They have several irresistable 6-layer cakes on display. I had the lemon and in took me 3 days to finish it! I look forward to staying here again and will probably get a front facing room again for the view.

Room Tip: To avoid noise, get a room in the back. Room 514 has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

There is plenty to do, several excellent restaurants and places to shop within walking distance of the Monterey Marriott. The service received from all staff members was excellent. This was the first time we stayed at this Marriott and the first time we have stayed in Downtown Monterey. We were in Monterey to celebrate our 46th Anniversary. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgmeigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This was my fifth trip to Monterey for a conference. It has a great location and was very convenient to the conference center next door. Hotel staff are very friendly. Public areas were kept immaculately. Convenience to bars and restuarants made for great evenings after the conference.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 284Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The hotel is in a great location for visiting cannery row, the aquarium and the wharf. Our room was on the 9th floor with a nice view of the pool and peek at the bay. The bathroom did not look like it had been cleaned when we checked in and the wallpaper was peeling off. At 6:00 in the morning we heard loud engine noises that seemed to be coming from the pool area. We also ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night and there was not any extra in the room and room service had to be called and told to bring some up and leave it outside the door as not to wake others sleeping in the room. When we checked in we were told that we had a choice of newspapers and our choice would be delivered to our room in the morning, this never happened. Our breakfast in the morning was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okeechobee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was my second stay ath this hotel. It was undergoing some rennovation the last time I stayed and has been greatly improved since my last stay so I thought it was worth re-reviewing. The location couldn't be nicer - only a block or two from Fisherman's wharf. On the next street over there's a Farmers Market / Craft Fair on Tuesdays. Every staff member I encountered was very professional and courteous. I would highly recommend this hotel whether on business or vacation.

Room Tip: Being a Marriott Rewards Gold member got me a room with a beautiful view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I enjoyed this hotel very much! It is immaculate, comfortable, great breakfast. The Hotel Personnel are very nice. The only thing (for me) and this hotel doesn't reflect the 'charm' of Monterey. It is basically a block building and nothing really speaks out at you. Its a beautiful and top notch place. For me, it just doesn't have character. Great Location, comfortable beds, nice views. I have nothing to say negative about the hotel, its personnel, or accomodation. Nice Pool and Hot Tub.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cottoneyedjoe314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#10 of 56 in Monterey
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing