We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mariott hospitality in a great city.”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

After a long drive we were tired and cranky.As we pulled infront of the hotel,
Three valet persons greeted us and proceeded to show us the utmost hospitality. The registration person treated us with utmost respect and care.
We were taken to the 8th floor spacious and beautifully furnished room overlooking the ocean. We loved our stay at this Mariott. We even wanted to change our plans and stay an additional day, but the hotel was fully booked.
We intend to visit this beautiful hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vatche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

The bell staff and front desk were very friendly and accomodating. Overnight parking was reasonable. While the hotel says non-smoking, it was clear that our room had been frequented by smokers. The room was very large, but the decor was average, a bit tired by Marriott standards. Perhaps because I was using points, they gave us an undesirable room. But we enjoyed our stay overall.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Motel is remodeled it still has new carpet smell, they have wireless wi-fi in the rooms. Our room which was not 300.00 had a refrigerator. If you're an elite member you get free wi-fi and breakfast. The staff was great from the valet, desk, even the maids were friendly...my problem was the windows. We were on the 8th floor with a bay view, but couldn't enjoy it because of all the noise from the pool area below. The windows are not insulated and infact had big gaps at the top. Makes what should have been a great experience in a very nice hotel less than exceptable. The pool does close at 10pm so that is a plus. After that we enjoyed a great evening

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel is good and as expected but has nothing special to distinguish it from many others. The architecture is very plain as if no effort was made at all, the rooms are fine, the breakfast buffet is good but not spectacular. It is a short walk from the seafront. There is a pool and a gym.

Room Tip: The street facing rooms are fine for sleeping as the traffic is quiet. You may prefer a pool facing...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaitiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The bar facilities are pathetic, bar filty and filled with screaming children playing video games, service non existent. And they still ad the very famous American obligatory tip. Immaterial of the standard of service. There are no lounge facilities, and no proper restaurant, visiting from South Africa very disappointed in the standards,

Room Tip: Make sure the Irconditioned does not drip all night
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grazia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We've requested for a higher floor to have a bayview, but got the roofs view instead, on a Sunday. The rooms setup is like a maze. The shower curtain had a fresh blood; clearly that it wasn't cleaned by the housekeeper. Now the positive points: The bellmen made sure that they open the doors for their guests; impressive. The only hotel that we had this experience was at the Trump Hotel in Hawaii. The beds were comfortable and we had extra very nice pillows. The breakfast was the highlight of my stay and the service of our waitress too. I recommend this hotel just because of their great service and their delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank presley150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our 2 teenage girls while visiting the area last week. This hotel is very well located, with a convenient walk to the Wharf, Cannery Row and even the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Rooms are nice and spacious, bedding was great, and the hotel was very well kept. The service staff was wonderful, friendly and very helpful. I don't personally care for the trend towards vanities that are open to the rest of the room, because it makes it very difficult to rise early and leave without disturbing the others, but the prevalence must suggest that others don't mind it.

Even so, when all was said and done, we all agreed that we wouldn't have stayed anywhere else and we highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I suggest you request an eastward/bay view room, level 4 or higher so you can see over the adjacent...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,455 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £149 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing