We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms and a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms and a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The downtown location is great and is near the trolley stop, which connects to the aquarium and Cannery Row. We had a room with a beautiful view of the Monterey Bay. The room was a good size with plenty of storage, and there was a spacious bathroom arrangement with abundant countertop. I liked the reading lights by the bed. We purchased their Monterey Bay Aquarium package which included an excellent breakfast buffet and some tickets to the aquarium. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay. We had a good one from the 3rd floor; an higher level might be even bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCalifMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our Aquarium package and the amenities of your room. We look forward to hosting you again on your next "staycation" in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    505
    211
    71
    23
See reviews for
357
379
34
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Walking distance to pier & bike trail. Easy drive to Carmel, Point Lobos State Park and Big Sur. Our room was a nice size for family of 4, very clean and friendly staff. Very comfortable beds and updated bathroom. We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. We had a pretty good meal at the sports bar near the lobby. Great breakfast at Lou Lou's Griddle In The Middle on the pier. We checked out on 4th of July so the street was closed in front of the hotel for the parade. As a result the hotel could not use their underground garage during the day. In the morning they moved our car and then had staff walk us to the spot, all along helping with luggage and directions. Really great customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
I'm so glad you were able to experience our authentic Marriott hospitality and great hotel amenities during your stay with us. Thank you for the great review, and I hope you had safe travels after checking out on Independence Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Totally normal Marriott experience when in the hotel. The location of this hotel is heaven. With the shuttle service in Monterey you can easily get around town without a car. The hotel is near anything a tourist could want and the US can be proud that it has such a great vacation destination. One thing...if you want to go to the aquarium make sure you purchase your tickets at whatwever hotel you are staying in. They offer all the normal discounts (AARP, AAA, etc) as you will get at the aquarium itself, but the ones you purchase at the hotel are good for 2 days instead of 1 day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We are very proud to have such a great location in one of the most beautiful cities in the United States. I'm delighted that you agree, and I'm happy to hear that you made the most of your stay with us. Thank you for sharing the great aquarium tip with our future guests, and I hope you will come back for another family vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

First of all when I booked this hotel, I received an email from the head concierge, Virginia. She is quite an addition to this hotel. I asked for potential things to do in the area and she returned with numerous options which we used and were very happy with. She also helped with an upgrade to the room. Virginia is awesome. Now back to the hotel. It is in the heart of Monterey with a spectacular view of the bay and city. You are right across the street from the wharf and next to several good local restaurants. The hotel has a great breakfast buffet in the morning. All of the hotel staff from the valets, bellmen, front desk, maids, concierge are outstanding. I am very impressed as I have stayed in hundreds of Marriott's. This goes down in a top 2 or 3. I will definitely stay here again when in Monterey.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Wow, thank you for the fantastic review. We're honored to be in your top 3! We really appreciate your feedback, and we'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Virginia. We look forward to seeing you again on your next vacation to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Normally the reviews I write on Trip Advisor tend to be good and I don't write too many poor reviews but in this case I feel compelled to. Stay at the Marriott Monterey in early June and while obviously the surrounding area was great, the hotel was the weak point of our stay in the Monterey Bay area.
What I've noticed with the old established brands like Hilton, Marriott and Hyatt is that in the US they all have older buildings and facilities compared to their hotels around the world. Some of them do a good job in updating the rooms and hotel in the US but in this case, Marriott has not done a good job in getting the Monterey hotel modern and up to date.

Here is the overall negative feedback from the experience:
- Called the help desk line from my room about 4 times and only 3 of those times was the phone picked up. This was at all hours of the day too so it wasn't like I was calling at peak times.
- The lock and latch on the door was loose and needed to be screwed in. Plus the door was very hard to close. These are simple detailed things that they should be focused on and maintenance should be checking continuously.
- Service both at the front desks and in general felt like you were dealing with a Union crew on a United Airlines flight. You got the feeling that there business is so stable that they really didn't have to try to hard with the service.
- Furniture and TV were pretty old school and looked cheap.
- Breakfast was pretty weak with not a lot of healthy options. I think I remember getting barked at by one of the staff for not taking cranberry's from the right location. This kind of fit into the overall vibe of the hotel.

So, obviously I am not recommending this hotel. I'd recommend you look at other hotels in the area in particular in Carmel.

Room Tip: If you have a room facing the bay, be prepared to hear people partying down at the bars across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJtoSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We have already begun renovations on some of our rooms, and the entire project is scheduled to be completed next year. However, we deeply value your feedback, and we are sending you a private message so we can follow up on some of the issues during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here for a few days for a conference. The service is very good - not once did we ever open a door for ourselves. The beach/sea otter theme is cute, and the rooms are nice enough. As an Elite Gold member, we were upgraded it an "elite room" but it was no different than any other room on the floor from what we could tell. The view, however, is definitely 5 stars. Absolutely gorgeous views of the bay with the sound of sea gulls and sea lions in the background. Small balcony is a nice touch to fully enjoy the scene. I would likely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with bay view and balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strykerwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
We love our sweeping views of Monterey, and we're very happy that you enjoyed them as well! Thank you for the wonderful review and room tip. We're glad that our staff could assist you in every way, and we hope to see you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here while exploring Monterey & Point Lobos for a few days. While it isn't the newest place around, we found the staff delightful. They made us feel very welcome, offered opinions when asked, and really found a balance in the whole "personal/professional" thing ! Would stay here again just based on our experience with the staff. I would like to mention Jing, at the front desk, especially. She was great in finding what we wanted and making our stay memorable !!

The hotel was good with status recognition and also making staying there on a birthday very nice !
As an aside....the breakfast was great as well !

In summary...great people, rooms a little dated but clean and good smelling, awesome location for exploring Monterey (WAVE bus stop right outside motel)

Room Tip: Communicate your needs to staff, most are willing to please. Be respectful and polite in your requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thanks so much for the great write-up, we really appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing