We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“monterey stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“monterey stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

a very nice hotel with pleasant employees. stayed in a big room with two beds big enough for 2 people. love that the wharf is just around the corner which you can walk to. would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlo1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us, I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and Monterey. I hope you'll be back to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    505
    211
    71
    23
See reviews for
357
379
34
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I checked into this hotel for our wedding anniversary. We received great customer service from the beginning and it did not stop until our trip ended. The hotel, for us, was in an ideal spot and served as a launching location for all of our Big Sur trips. The concierge at the hotel helped us get special Marriott tickets for the aquarium. While the property may be a little dated, it is clean, and well kept. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. We would definitely recommend this property to all of our friends and family visiting the area.

The hotel was a very short walk to the wharf, aquarium, and other areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
I'm so glad we could make your anniversary stay with us ideal. Thank you for staying with us and a Happy Anniversary to you and your wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at many Marriott's over the years and this one in particular was disappointing. The room was small, furniture outdated (although carpeting and wall covering appear to updated). Bathroom was very odd. The shower and toilet are in a small room closed off with a sliding pocket door. The vanity in sink are basically in the room but a half wall separates this area from the rest of the room. A coffee maker is provided on the counter, but the electrical outlet is at the other end of the counter.

Bed was comfortable, but the top sheet had a small tear and the fitted sheet had several small holes and stains (nice attention to details). Our room was located on the streets side anew as very noisy. All night long you could her people making their way to or from the taverns. Bring your earplugs. Ate at note the sports bar (characters) and the restaurant (3 flags cafe). Menu was exactly the same. Very creative! Burgers were below average although Cobb salad was good.

I did not use the fitness center but did go for several runs. There is a great bike/walk/running path but make sure to go early and it gets very crowded with all the tourists. You can take the path past Pacific Grove (South) or past Ocean Side (North).

Based on my experience I generally would not return, but I will be staying here in 2014 and 2015 for work related travel. Hopefully things improve.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us, I regret that you found your stay disappointing. You'll be happy to know that we do have renovations planned. I hope you'll come back afterward and give us another stay. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed one night while heading down the coast. At check-in we were told that there would be a water shutdown at 11 with restoration at 5 am. Come 7 am and the water is still not on, meaning no showers for most of the hotel. That is when it usually falls apart but I have to commend the professionalism of the team. Things were obviously not going right but the entire staff was calm, empathetic, and looked for ways to rectify the situation. My wife and I ended up using another room that did have water to take showers. What really blew me away was getting a personal letter from the manager, Clid, apologizing for the inconvenience and giving me his number if I had any concerns or issues. I had, in the confusion of moving rooms, left a coat and shirt behind which he promptly offered to fed ex to a hotel we would be at a few days later. But then he also solicited my feedback regarding his staff, including my compliments about the valet parking team. He said that he appreciated the detail of my comments and intended to use them at a team meeting to reinforce the good behavior. The whole concept of excellent customer service obviously gets talked to death-- what I saw first hand was a genuine commitment from the manager and his team to not just deal with the day to day, but to deal with the problems and obstacles, and truly commit to customer service. This exchange took an unpleasant experience and turned it into my giving the place the highest rating. Other recent comments about the location, room cleanliness, etc are all spot on but its the people at this hotel that make it shine the most.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
I'm so glad that Clid and his team were able to give you excellent service. Thank you for staying with us and for telling others about your experience. I hope you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, MA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent two nights in this newly renovated hotel in the charming town of Monterey, with a room overlooking Monterey Bay. The room was large, clean and well appointed, and the staff and concierge were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay- view room. The upgrade is well worth it, and corner rooms are especially lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jverdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for rating us so highly. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your newly renovated room with the bay view. I hope you'll stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel is very nice and the room are clean. Nice restaurant for breakfast. Great bar with very good appetizers. Wish Starbucks kiosk was open in the afternoon. Staff was helpful and friendly. Reserve a bay view room. It is worth the few extra dollars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, Director of Sales at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I hope you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed one night to check out Monterey, CA. The staff was very friendly and greeted us each time as we passed by. We had a great bay-view room that was especially good when the sun rose in the morning. The hotel is newer looking and was very clean. Breakfast was full and good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lushou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I'm so happy that you found our service, food, and location to be to your liking. It's great that you got to enjoy a great view. Thank you and I hope you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing