We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here after having a horrible experience at another hotel. Thank you Marriott for allowing us to stay on short notice. This hotel was great from check in to check out. The staff were wonderful and the hotel was great. We would stay here again. There is also a laundry room here which was a bonus since we were on a 2 week trip thru California and the last hotel had a broken dryer so we arrived here with wet laundry...we also arrived frustrated and exhausted from the previous hotel...(see my review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands) and this Marriott hotel certainly was refreshing to say the very least. We certainly enjoyed all the wonderful restaurants and shopping in the area. The staff here are fantastic as are the rooms. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I'm so glad to hear that we were able to help you in your time of need. I'm delighted that you had a nice stay and hope you will be back to visit us again.
Thank you,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    505
    211
    71
    23
See reviews for
357
379
34
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Monterey is over run with places to stay, the choices are near myriad. This Marriott is one of the best, however. It is central to most things in the town that are central to tourism, it is easy to get to and leave by car, and most importantly, it is very comfortable and offers a great night's sleep. Depending on your room and floor height, you also can score a very nice view. The bar has been ignored, tucked away around the corner from the lobby, too many TV screens and noisy, with rather basic furniture - resembles more a college beer bar (although much cleaner) than what one would expect from a first class hotel. The breakfast is excellent, well laid out, cannot ask for more. The service from the staff is always good at a Marriott as well. So with prices for regular style motels soaring, the price to stay here is competitive once you factor in all that is involved. Bottom line: comfortable, polite, quiet, what one expects at a Marriott property.

Room Tip: Higher floor and away from elevators and ice machines, always. View rooms are pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your review, I really appreciate it.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a few days because of it's close proximity to Monterey Airport. We also did not want to rent a car and this was the best choice by far. It was so convenient to walk the short distance from the hotel to the Wharf and enjoy all of the sights and flavors it had to offer. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. There was a balcony with sliding doors so we could let the cool breezes flow through the room. The bathroom was a bit strange because the sink and counter portion had no door. The commode and walk-in shower were made private by a pocket door. There were no hooks to hang your dry clothes to change into after showering so you had to use the sink area to dress. If one of us wanted to sleep late it was difficult to do so because of the open area. Other than that the hotel is extremely pleasant. We had breakfast in the cafe downstairs. I don't think they missed any possible food one could desire. The chef made your eggs to order in front of you so you could have her add this or that as it was being cooked. The entire staff receives our award as the friendliest and most accommodating ever!

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room. The outside rooms have street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuntimesTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us, I'm glad that you enjoyed our location and staff.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here on a drive down highway 1 and ended up tweaking our plans to stay an extra night because we liked the hotel so much. The staff were incredibly nice (especially Jamie on the desk the night we checked in!) and gave us a free upgrade to a huge suite with lovely views of the city. Breakfast was delicious, though would be a bit expensive if it hadn't been included in our room package (we booked the Romance package, which for not much more than the basic room rate included free breakfast for 2 plus a bottle of wine in the room). Hotel location is great, close to Fisherman's Wharf and some good restaurants. There is also lots of off street parking if you don't want to pay to use the hotel parking. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again myself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
It's great to hear that we lured you to stay longer. Thank you for your review.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed with our Marriott points.

The staff were excellent and looked after us very well. We got upgraded to a great suite with our own balcony / patio area complete with table and chairs. We had a lovely view of the bay.

The hotel is perhaps a little tired

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for being a loyal Rewards member. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
286 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I liked being in a huge hotel once again. I was fun to stay on a high floor and look down once again. I found the hotel attractive overall and service was friendly. Has indoor glass elevators. Very cool. Also if an event at Laguna is going on, don't be surprised to see some great vehicles parked out front.

Room Tip: I like high rooms, many of which have a great view. You can see the coast from this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColbyButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times on my travels and never had a bad experience. The location by the waterfront and Monterey pier is top notch with many things to do. I definatly recommend the old fishermans grotto on the pier for amazing food in a very nice atmosphere. The valets and doormen were very professional and knowledgable on the area and were able to ask the right questions to determine what exactly I was looking for.

I have found over the last few years that the Marriott brand has been a very dependable group of hotels if you are looking for a good nights sleep, reasonable rates and clean, comfortable rooms. Amenities at each location vary and this hotel has done very well providing great service and comfortable living when travelling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason_B_604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
I really appreciate you being a repeat guest, thank you for your loyalty.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#16 of 55 in Monterey
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing