We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this expensive three star property”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Marriott wants to be the new destination for the "in" crowd. This is the impression one gets from their new television ads. Then there is the reality...

This property in Monterey is to be avoided at all costs. It is definitely not worth the money or a return.
1. The rooms are quite old. The walls are thin.
2. The public spaces are dirty. Just take a walk around the hotel. Disgusting.
3. The facilities are not well maintained, starting from half of the equipment in the gym that did not work during our stay. We notified management about the issue and we were told that maintenance could not find any issues with the machines. Perhaps they failed to listen to us when we said: "the machines repeatedly power down halfway through a workout!". Where the operative word is "halfway"!
4. The hotel staff was friendly but clearly incapable of taking care of the hotel.
Overall this is just a 3 star hotel that wants to play in the big leagues. Just stay away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us, I'm disappointed to hear about your stay and will be sending you a private message.
Best,
~ Rene B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I've stayed at Marriott hotels for years. I'm an Elite member. But I just don't understand their business model. Last night we stayed at a Courtyard in San Luis Obispo. The parking was free, the wifi was free, and there was free coffee in the lobby. We had plenty of pillows on the king bed and there was an extra blanket in the dresser. Tonight we're in the Monterey Marriott. We have to pay $24 to park. It's $7.95 for the low speed wifi. You have to buy your coffee at the coffee bar. There were three small pillows on the king bed and no extra blanket in the room. It costs more to stay here and we get so much less. Come on, Marriott. What can you possibly be thinking? Start treating your customers right. We do have choices and I'm certainly thinking I may choose to go elsewhere in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank satxgrillguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed, we don't like our Elite members to feel this way. I will send you a private message now as I'd like to speak to you about this.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Hotel was just in a great location, very big and beautiful, very nice rooms and roomy. Great Restaurants all in walking distance and the staff could not do enough for you from the Valets, to the Buss Men the Front Desk Clerk, the other help~!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your review, I appreciate your kind words.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel when i attended a wedding in Monterey. I knew this was away from Cannary Row and in the "dowtown area" of Monterey so didnt know what to expect.

I was very pleasantly suprised. The room. the staff, the amenities all were terrific. It was a tremendous value for how close to everything we were.

We stayed there with a number of other guests of the wedding and we found they had some variety to the rooms - specifcally the bathrooms. We had a room with a great bathroom/sink area with a large standup shower and view of the pool. However others had a more traditional "tub/bathroom" configurations. make sure you ask.

We ate at the resturant, had coffeee at the coffee bar and used the pool facilities. All were top notch. w had never spent much time in downtown Monterey and usually hit Canary Row or Fishermans Wharf but we were surprised by the variety of local/walk-to restaiurants/bars and nightlife there was right around the hotel.

A Great Stay!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about what view you have and if you have a stand up shower ro regular tub. We foun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here after having a horrible experience at another hotel. Thank you Marriott for allowing us to stay on short notice. This hotel was great from check in to check out. The staff were wonderful and the hotel was great. We would stay here again. There is also a laundry room here which was a bonus since we were on a 2 week trip thru California and the last hotel had a broken dryer so we arrived here with wet laundry...we also arrived frustrated and exhausted from the previous hotel...(see my review of Hyatt Carmel Highlands) and this Marriott hotel certainly was refreshing to say the very least. We certainly enjoyed all the wonderful restaurants and shopping in the area. The staff here are fantastic as are the rooms. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I'm so glad to hear that we were able to help you in your time of need. I'm delighted that you had a nice stay and hope you will be back to visit us again.
Thank you,
~ Rene B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Monterey is over run with places to stay, the choices are near myriad. This Marriott is one of the best, however. It is central to most things in the town that are central to tourism, it is easy to get to and leave by car, and most importantly, it is very comfortable and offers a great night's sleep. Depending on your room and floor height, you also can score a very nice view. The bar has been ignored, tucked away around the corner from the lobby, too many TV screens and noisy, with rather basic furniture - resembles more a college beer bar (although much cleaner) than what one would expect from a first class hotel. The breakfast is excellent, well laid out, cannot ask for more. The service from the staff is always good at a Marriott as well. So with prices for regular style motels soaring, the price to stay here is competitive once you factor in all that is involved. Bottom line: comfortable, polite, quiet, what one expects at a Marriott property.

Room Tip: Higher floor and away from elevators and ice machines, always. View rooms are pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your review, I really appreciate it.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a few days because of it's close proximity to Monterey Airport. We also did not want to rent a car and this was the best choice by far. It was so convenient to walk the short distance from the hotel to the Wharf and enjoy all of the sights and flavors it had to offer. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. There was a balcony with sliding doors so we could let the cool breezes flow through the room. The bathroom was a bit strange because the sink and counter portion had no door. The commode and walk-in shower were made private by a pocket door. There were no hooks to hang your dry clothes to change into after showering so you had to use the sink area to dress. If one of us wanted to sleep late it was difficult to do so because of the open area. Other than that the hotel is extremely pleasant. We had breakfast in the cafe downstairs. I don't think they missed any possible food one could desire. The chef made your eggs to order in front of you so you could have her add this or that as it was being cooked. The entire staff receives our award as the friendliest and most accommodating ever!

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room. The outside rooms have street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuntimesTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us, I'm glad that you enjoyed our location and staff.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 56 in Monterey
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £129 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing