We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time visit to MONTEREY”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1st time visit to MONTEREY”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

older hotel but very convenient to locations worth visiting in monterey! wharf is walkable good restaurants close by.

rooms are big and spacious; but for the price no free wi-fi in the rooms... need to go down to lobby for free wi-fi.

valet is worth it coz the closest parking structure is 3 blocks away... and with valet the hotel gives you unlimited access to your vehicle when you need it

bath amenities could be better considering the price but on the overall we had a great stay

Room Tip: high floor away from elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradr_Sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I'm delighted to hear that you had a great stay, thank you for choosing us for your first visit to Monterey. I hope we'll see you again.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    511
    216
    72
    23
See reviews for
364
385
34
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The problem with this hotel is that it is required to have a gold or platinum member card in order to have wifi in the room. My silver elite card is not good enough. This is the 21st century where even coffee shops have wifi so this sucks.

I did mobile check-in but still had to wait in line to pick up the key. There was only one staff at the counter, so there was a long line for people to check-in or picking up their keys. The room was pretty old.

Additionally, they had a list of recommended places to go and the restaurants they recommended were expensive while they did not even mention the bar and restaurant downstairs! I definitely expected more out of a Marriott hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for being a loyal guest, I appreciate your comments and will be sending you a private message now.
Best regards,
~Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We're loyal Marriott people, & although this hotel may have a great location, bring earplugs (seagulls squawk all night--not kidding; they kept us awake) & for ladies, a magnifying mirror. Walls and glass doors do nothing to dampen the noise. We could distinctly hear a phone conversation in the adjacent room well into the night. It could have been worse. It's hard to fathom a hotel like Marriott not having magnifying mirrors. And, too bad there isn't a nice cozy place for a cocktail instead of the horrible sports bar. (I know, I know, we're being picky, but not everyone wants 6 or more TV screens in their line of view.)

Room Tip: Bay view is nice, but again, the seagulls--but, they were there first. Higher floor is helpful for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neverhome2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for being loyal Marriott guests and for staying with us. I hope you'll return.
Best regards,
~Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Not only the hotel is greatly located but the welcoming staff is such a great asset for the company. We often visited the place and they are always helpful. Suite is your best choice if you wish to have a big room and lots of luggage.
We will always come back. Walking distance to the Wharf and 15 to 17 mins to 17 Mile High and Pebble Beach Golf Courses which we played on 2 consecutive visits.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a great time.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The room we stayed in fairly modern...the bathroom was a little small. The Bed was very comfortable. But the best part was the 2 minute walk to the wharf and 15 minute walk to the aquarium. The Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aujmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I'm so glad to hear that you made the most of our great location and enjoyed your stay. I hope you'll return.
Thank you,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I don't blame the staff who were obviously poorly trained. I'll be as brief as possible; our room was not a Bay View room as listed and booked. We had a roof and street view and if you stood right next to the far side of the window, you could see the bay over the rooftops. This should have been advertised as a Partial or Obstructed View. We complained, the manager was very apologetic and offered us points and a move. He would move us to a "spectacular", frontal view, straight out (hand gestures included) overlooking the bay. We moved. The room was worse. We were now 2 floors lower, overlooking the street and if you stood up against the window, you could see the bay as before, except now the rooftops were obstructing even more. The cold food we moved, had nowhere to go. There was no frig in the second room. They brought us a frig, plugged it in. It never got cold. The rooms were clean and I won't go on anymore about the rooms. Breakfast was included, or so it was advertised. It wasn't until the last morning of 4 mornings that we were told the buffet was 1/2 "continental" at a lesser price and 1/2 "cooked food" at double the price. By the way, that was after we finished eating. Always trying to use Marriott for points, but will never go back there.

Room Tip: I don't know how to advise on this. What they tell you is not what you get, unfortunately. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest, I appreciate your comments and will use them as a teaching moment for our staff. I have sent you a private message as well.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Marriott wants to be the new destination for the "in" crowd. This is the impression one gets from their new television ads. Then there is the reality...

This property in Monterey is to be avoided at all costs. It is definitely not worth the money or a return.
1. The rooms are quite old. The walls are thin.
2. The public spaces are dirty. Just take a walk around the hotel. Disgusting.
3. The facilities are not well maintained, starting from half of the equipment in the gym that did not work during our stay. We notified management about the issue and we were told that maintenance could not find any issues with the machines. Perhaps they failed to listen to us when we said: "the machines repeatedly power down halfway through a workout!". Where the operative word is "halfway"!
4. The hotel staff was friendly but clearly incapable of taking care of the hotel.
Overall this is just a 3 star hotel that wants to play in the big leagues. Just stay away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us, I'm disappointed to hear about your stay and will be sending you a private message.
Best,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing