We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll go back”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Gautier, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“We'll go back”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Perfect location, walking distance to most of the restaurants, shops and attractions in Monterey. The view from our balcony on the 9th floor covered the bay and most of the surrounding area. Took many pictures from the balcony alone! Our room was spacious and comfortable (the bathroom could have been a little bigger but it sufficed). There was absolutely no noise from other guests! That never happens. Very nice and helpful staff all around. Easy parking with courteous valet service. I see no reason to stay anywhere else in Monterey. (The review of Three Flags Café is covered in the restaurant reviews.)

Room Tip: Get a room facing the bay, high enough to see the whole area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtonic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I'm delighted to hear that you will return, thank you for your review.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    527
    227
    72
    28
See reviews for
384
399
34
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The overall hotel is very nice, but the real experience depends on where your room is. Mine was on the 3rd floor, right above the pool. Don't expect to relax in the afternoon in your room. It was noisy, and kids ran up and down the hall screaming for 2 straight days. Pricey stay in a nice hotel but overall I was unhappy with what we got for the money. And for a nice hotel, the gym was only average...with minimal weight equipment and machines.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
I'm sorry to heat that you didn't have a restful stay. I will be sending you a private message now.
Thank you for brining this to my attention,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The service in this hotel is top notch and rivals more expensive hotels. Centrally located to Fisherman's Wharf and a good 15 minute walk along the bike path to Cannery Row and Aquarium. Rooms are very clean.Though there are food and drink establishments in house, I recommend restaurants on the wharf or Cannery Row. They have ocean front views and must be seen to be believed. I can't say anything bad about this hotel. Just fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilbertGaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I'm delighted to hear that you're a loyal guest, thank you for the review.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I am Platinum with Marriott, and paid a little extra for bay view (well worth the price for the view of the bay!)....when we checked in, room wasn't quite ready, but was ready by 4:00 checkin time!! The front desk didn't tell me we had been upgraded, so the surprise on my wife and daughter's faces were priceless!! 2 floors, king in master with sofa and bigscreen, huge master bath, and office on first floor, living room, dining room, and bar area on 2nd floor, along with another bath area, plus and outdoor veranda with big dining table overlooking the bay!! We felt blessed after being upgraded to this palatial suite! Thank you, Marriott Monterey staff!!

Room Tip: Pay for the bay view! The higher the floor, the better the view.... we were on floors 8 and 9, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FL2urist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
I'm so delighted to hear of your stay, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with everyone. I hope you stay with us again.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

older hotel but very convenient to locations worth visiting in monterey! wharf is walkable good restaurants close by.

rooms are big and spacious; but for the price no free wi-fi in the rooms... need to go down to lobby for free wi-fi.

valet is worth it coz the closest parking structure is 3 blocks away... and with valet the hotel gives you unlimited access to your vehicle when you need it

bath amenities could be better considering the price but on the overall we had a great stay

Room Tip: high floor away from elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradr_Sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I'm delighted to hear that you had a great stay, thank you for choosing us for your first visit to Monterey. I hope we'll see you again.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The problem with this hotel is that it is required to have a gold or platinum member card in order to have wifi in the room. My silver elite card is not good enough. This is the 21st century where even coffee shops have wifi so this sucks.

I did mobile check-in but still had to wait in line to pick up the key. There was only one staff at the counter, so there was a long line for people to check-in or picking up their keys. The room was pretty old.

Additionally, they had a list of recommended places to go and the restaurants they recommended were expensive while they did not even mention the bar and restaurant downstairs! I definitely expected more out of a Marriott hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for being a loyal guest, I appreciate your comments and will be sending you a private message now.
Best regards,
~Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We're loyal Marriott people, & although this hotel may have a great location, bring earplugs (seagulls squawk all night--not kidding; they kept us awake) & for ladies, a magnifying mirror. Walls and glass doors do nothing to dampen the noise. We could distinctly hear a phone conversation in the adjacent room well into the night. It could have been worse. It's hard to fathom a hotel like Marriott not having magnifying mirrors. And, too bad there isn't a nice cozy place for a cocktail instead of the horrible sports bar. (I know, I know, we're being picky, but not everyone wants 6 or more TV screens in their line of view.)

Room Tip: Bay view is nice, but again, the seagulls--but, they were there first. Higher floor is helpful for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neverhome2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for being loyal Marriott guests and for staying with us. I hope you'll return.
Best regards,
~Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing