We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price the AC sucks”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The Air conditioning (AC) sucks.........if you want to get to a room and feel that crispy cool ac feeling, Marriott Hotel in Monterey is not he place for you. Room was $250.00 but AC is poor. Save your money and go somewhere better.

Wife was mad....

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank larryleadoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

We just returned from a stay at the Marriott in Monterrey and were very pleased with our room--we stayed at one of their suites; housekeeping prepared the room very nicely, and we also had the concierge, Virginia make reservations for us at Peppers(best food in the area) and the Chart House. The Chart House was an anniversary celebration and Virginia went above and beyond the call of duty!!! The Chart House treated us like royalty and made the evening magical; I can highly recommend both the quality of our room and the professionalism and thoughtfulness of Virgina Baker!!!
The only negative I can add was: no free internet access, which is interesting because it is becoming commonplace at even less expensive hotels and you must valet park

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed for two night with children. Great location, a few minutes walk to the bay and restaurants. Rooms were large, very clean with very comfortable beds. I'm a neat freak, so I checked the towels and sheets, all looked very clean and crisp. View from our room was amazing. Justin at the front desk was amazing! He moved us to a higher level floor and to a room with a spectacular view, corner room on the 6 th floor I think. You can see the whole bay.. Breakfast was very nice.. Definitely recommend 100%..

Must do:
1. Whale watching
2. Eat at the Fisherman's Grotto, Excellent food!!!! Try Roasted garlic, fried calamari and clam chowder and fried oysters!!!mmmmmm yummy!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwahba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

The room we had at the Marriott was large, clean and very comfortable. We had a great view of the bay. Everyone was really helpful with directions, resturant selections and getting our car from valet. We had the buffet for breakfast each morning, at their resturant, and it was very good. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank putmeonabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Stayed for a night wasnt impressed at all rated 4 star but doesnt represent it rooms need updating, lots of car noise just outside the room , the bed was so hard that it gave us backache and the air was dry and stuffy.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulia30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Monterey Marriott and happy with the personal service. We were able to get an earlier check-in that the 4pm time.

What we did not like was the pool (too small and not very nice) and the room amenitites were not all there (coffee, coftee pot etc.). It is suppose to be a 4 Star Triple A Diamond Hotel but I diagree. The price especially does not meet its advertising expectations. We booked the Hotel through an agency and they reassured us that there would be a Fireworks Display at the Fisherman's Wharf 2010 but there was none. We even requested a Bay View to see the event. We ended up checking out a day early and found another hotel on Cannery Row for a much lesser price.

I would not recommend to stay at the downtown Marriott area again. You are better off in the Cannery Row area near the Aquarium.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacati0nVacatio0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Stayed here for a night while visiting Monterey. The location is such that you can walk to the wharf. Cannery row and the aquarium are a short drive away. Rooms were reasonable and the overall ambience was good. Overall, a slightly above average experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 56 in Monterey
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £129 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing