We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service & location”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great service & location”
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Contrary to other reviews we experienced great service at the Monterey Marriott. Staff was friendly, helpful and courteous. Our corner room overlooking the bay was quiet with great views. Yes, you have to pay for parking but come on - it's Monterey.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    511
    216
    72
    23
See reviews for
364
385
34
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Had a great stay. Greatly preferred the location downtown over ones nearer to the bay and aquarium. Lots of restaurants in the area. Staff at the hotel was great and had outstanding suggestions for dinner. We require an ADA room with a roll in shower and access was great. No problem in the room.
We had a great package that included valet parking and breakfast for 2. Without the package parking is pricey ($20/day).
Also, buy ticket to the aquarium at the front desk. Saves in two ways - tickets are good for 2 days (if you need it) and you can go in the members entrance avoiding lines. Price is the same as a 1 day ticket at the aquarium.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

At first I was a bit resistant to staying here because of some of the reviews but I was so surprised with the top quality service we received at this hotel. Yes the hotel is not super modern or brand new but it is very, very nice. Rooms are spacious and clean, the staff went above and beyond- opened the doors for us, greeted us, offered help every time they saw us.~ I have stayed at other hotels that might have had fancier faciliies but by far this hotel will be a favorite.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachnena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I'd avoid it if you require ANY assistance. Even early check in or need adjoining room for child. Staff rude and unhelpful. Poor training through out the hotel from doorman, bellmen, front desk. Rooms are large and nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OCDSonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I just returned from a trip to Monterey and Carmel Valley. I stayed with my daughter who participated in the Half Marathon on August 7/10. Overall, the service was not bad with one exception: I was asked to show my passport and I was questioned about my background. Due to a series of minor strokes and heart attacks I have a 'false' accent which sometimes 'ignorant' folks assume it is Spanish. I am a proud Canadian and my passport is Canadian. Passport information was copied on file and it appeared on the final bill. I contacted customer service but I did not receive much support. I am going back to Monterey/Carmel with a group of Canadians in the near future but I wil DEFINATELY STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odessea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This hotel towers over the centre of Monterey. You can't get lost if you're staying here, as you can see the hotel from practically everywhere. It's close to Old Fishermans Wharf and the beach, and a short walk from Cannery Row. It's right next to Alvarado St which has some great bars and restaurants on it. The location is as close to perfect as you're going to get here.

I stayed here for the MotoGP at Laguna Seca. It's a 15 minute drive from the circuit, which was good (although there are closer hotels - the Embassy Suites in particular). It's a very classy hotel, so I felt slightly guilty in my dusty shorts and baseball cap. Only one snooty check in girl seemed to mind though - the rest of the staff (bar, valet, cafe, etc) were very friendly and eager to help. I felt very at home for the majority of my 4 night stay.

The rooms are very nice (though our eighth floor one was slightly let down by a shabby bathroom with a rickety sliding door). The TV is excellent - lots of HD channels - but there's only free internet in the lobby (which is huge but has limited seating...). The bed was great, I slept like a baby. Everything feels very luxurious.

The cafe serves Starbucks coffee and the Sports Bar on the ground floor is very nice, with a huge projector showing various sporting events. There's a classy restaurant on the top floor but I didnt venture up there. It's a big hotel - not cheap, but you do feel like you're getting your money's worth of amenities.

This is a great hotel. Better for visiting Monterey itself than for heading out to Laguna Seca, but if you've got the money it's worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monterey
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The Air conditioning (AC) sucks.........if you want to get to a room and feel that crispy cool ac feeling, Marriott Hotel in Monterey is not he place for you. Room was $250.00 but AC is poor. Save your money and go somewhere better.

Wife was mad....

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank larryleadoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing