We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only had one night but seemed like a great place”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
perth, western australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“only had one night but seemed like a great place”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We only had one night and arrived in darkness. We hadn't booked and were pleased to get a room with 2 doubles to share. We left early the next day, but the hotel itself ticked all the boxes, apart from no free internet in the rooms, so sadly had to go to the bar :) The breakfast included was fantastic, eggs cooked to your liking.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kramerpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    518
    221
    72
    25
See reviews for
372
393
34
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
370 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Stayed here for a conference.

The rooms are comfortable but the decor is a bit frilly for my taste, and completely unrelated to being in Montery. Parts of the bathroom look slightly dated, but not enough to concern me. It was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and hot water was plentiful and consistent. Staff were friendly. Parts of the conference were catered, and the food was good.

Main complaints: the meeting rooms and hallways were too cold. The internet service is usable but a bit slow and the connection takes a while to get established.

A very short walk to Fisherman's Wharf. Cannery Row and the Aquarium are also walkable, although at about half an hour some might find them too far.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Great hotel in a good location... Friendly and helpful staff...
Super room...

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidTravels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This hotel is rated at 4 stars by Priceline. Maybe based on amenities, perhaps, but on service, not a chance. Lines at check-in were long, there were hairs in the shower and on two of the pillows. No non-valet parking, so expect to pony up an additional $20 on top of already overpriced rooms. It seems like Marriott Hotels in general, and this one in particular are starting to want to nickel and dime the guest to death. If it's not valet parking, then it's an absurd $13/night internet charge, or $3.50 for a bottle of water. Not to mention threadbare towels? That said, the bed was comfy, and the TV was gorgeous, as was the Lobby. Otherwise? not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savonwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My husband and I chose the Marriott in Monterey because of its central location. We were able to walk to the aquarium, the Cannery District, the wharf area, and downtown stores. What a fantastic spot! The hotel itself is beautiful and very clean. Our room was average size, but very comfortable and well appointed. The bed was comfortable; however, the mattress did not have a lot of support and was too soft (my back hurt in the morning). The pillows were way too soft--luckily, I brought my own. The pool is heated and so is the jacuzzi; however, there were so many children we were not able to use them. Of course, that is probably because we went the week after Christmas--when all the schools are out. You don't notice the kids though because the rooms are extremely quiet--they obviously have good soundproofing.
The staff is wonderful--the cleaning personnel, the concierge, the desk clerks, etc. were all extremely nice, friendly, and caring. Valet parking is $20 per night (way too much in my estimation), and you MUST valet park your car, so you can't escape the charge. There is free wi-fi in the main lobby; however, if you want to access it in your room it costs $12.00. That didn't please us either...I mean, come on...really?
Overall though, it is a great hotel with a great staff in a wonderful location. If we're in the Monterey area, we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CABeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

The Monterey Marriott was average, nothing really wrong, but nothing great either. It was a comfortable stay in a clean room, with nothing exceeding expectations. Overall the hotel was decent but not memorable.

This is a suitable hotel for business functions. But if you're coming to the Monterey area for a getaway, I recommend staying elsewhere more special.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shinywings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sac delta
Level Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We had the most incredible stay we have ever had at a Marriott. From the time we valet our car, to departure, we were treated with such caring and respect. The hotel was beautiful and the rooms were clean and large. All the staff was friendly and polite. I can't say enough about them. If you get a chance, stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlcroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 55 in Monterey
517 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing