We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, quiet and walking distance to everything..”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Galt, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet and walking distance to everything..”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was our third trip here and our second time staying at this hotel in the last 7 years. Monterey bay inn never fails us and the ocean view rooms have beautiful views. You can hear the ocean crash against the rocks and hear the sea lions by the wharf.. Which we love! This hotel is in the middle of everything, is a short distance to cannery row and the wharfs. The spa on the fourth floor is small but a great view surrounding you, overlooking the ocean. The only thing I can complain about is the continental breakfast doesn't have much to choose from but its great they bring it up to your room.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    425
    108
    38
    25
See reviews for
242
1,011
52
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bermagui, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I came across this hotel by chance after a long days drive. As soon as you enter the hotel you feel relaxed due to beautiful location, trendy decor and low key friendly welcoming staff. Great room, good beside lighting which is rare. Very comfortable bed and nice little balcony. Best bathroom ever with again great lighting. To top it off, they delivered a free breakfast to the room with very good coffee! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here the night of 11/2/13. I looked at many hotels in Monterey and I think this is the best value and nicest place for the price. Our room was contemporary with an updated bathroom. The Aveda toiletries were a nice touch as were the fluffy towels. Bed was very comfortable and there was a mini fridge as well to keep your water and wine chilled. Beautiful view of the water/beach and marina. The hotel is within walking distance of Cannery Row and many restaurants and shops on Fishermans Wharf as other posters have commented. So overall a great location, good hotel with friendly staff and breakfast delivered to you each morning. An A+ in my book! Would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDavisTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed only one night, on a side trip from our week in San Francisco. It was a Friday night, Nov 1. The view from our 3rd floor king suite of the harbor was very scenic and I think better than the ocean view rooms. The hotel was built in, I am guessing, the 70s. I however, it has been upgraded (probably many times) and is very fresh and quite stylish. The room and furnishings do not disappoint.
We left the terrace door cracked open all night to hear the sea lions and the waves. Traffic noise was minimal to none. The location at the end of the row of buildings and next to the park and beach is probably the best on Cannery Row. It is actually about a 2 block walk to Cannery Row.
Parking cost was minimal, only $15.
All in all, the location and the view were well worth the price. No on site dining available. I prefer that as it makes us stroll down and back to dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoondanceIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Having started our California visit with 4 nights in San Francisco, this is a very nice place to relax and stay in a charming seaside resort.
Great location on Cannery Row with the harbour a mere stroll away, along with everything else.
Very helpful staff, large and comfortable room and a super balcony to sit on at the end of the evening looking out to sea. The sea lions add the background music whilst you sit there - very enchanting...!
Breakfast delivered to your room at a time of your choice and was really good - nice one.
I notice some reviewers mentioning dark and dingy corridors - well I have to say that it never crossed my mind so perhaps either this is overplayed a little or my powers of observation are not great!
While you browse around the town you really need to visit the aquarium - absolutely wonderful and I have never seen such beautiful surroundings for all kinds of marine life anywhere else and certainly of a much higher quality of anything I have seen in the UK or Europe.
A meal overlooking the sea and watching Sea Otters with their young ones, blissfully peaceful...
Carmel as a resort next door is also well worth visiting - very few people wandering the beautiful beaches when we were there.
So if you are looking for a peaceful couple of days by the sea - I think you will really like Monterey and the Monterey Bay Inn.
Enjoy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear sandyman57,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I’m so glad you found our staff so helpful, that you enjoyed the beautiful bay views, and that you found the wildlife so enchanting. A peaceful stay at the Monterey Bay Inn is just the thing to recharge while experiencing the natural beauty of the Bay. Thank you for mentioning your enjoyment of our complimentary breakfast. I’m pleased that you found our breakfast satisfying!

I think that our world-class views of the bay and our excellent location on Cannery Row means that guests such as yourself can enjoy everything that Monterey has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great Monterey Bay experience.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just returned home from a two night stay to celebrate my husband's birthday. Others have referred to the dreary appearance of the hallways but we were told that the carpets were being replaced and would be finished by the end of the year. Once in Room 415, it was very nicely done and we were pleased with the furnishings and attention to detail. A nice and surprising touch was the bottle of chardonnay and box of chocolates with a birthday card from staff. They were very helpful and friendly. There are some areas of the property that still need work but our stay was a really nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abuela63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We visited the Monterey area at the end of October as a family vacation and were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful it was.

As others have said- after walking through the hallways you wonder if you have really come to a place worth the money you have paid. Though I wouldn't call the hallways dingy, I would say they are out of date, however our rooms were on the third floor, and I noticed that the hallway on the second floor seemed much more updated.

We paid the extra money to stay in an ocean front room, and it could not have been closer to the ocean (though it is the bay!) without being in the water! Sitting on the balcony and watching the otters and sea lions swim past, as well as all the different types of birds, was a great experience. We joked about the fact that the hotel leaves you a relaxing disc in your room, titled "Sounds of Monterey Bay" but, if you are there at at a time when it is warm enough to leave the door cracked at night, you have the pleasure of listening to waves crashing & sea lions barking. Very relaxing!!

The rooms were large and comfortable. The beds were great! As a family they were accommodating enough to give us adjoining rooms, which worked out very well for us.
The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the bathroom was huge. Overall the rooms seemed really up to date, and all offered a balcony which was lovely. Breakfast is continental, however it's delivered to your room instead of the typical breakfast room situation. It seemed that daily they offer a hard boiled egg, pastries (which were different the days we were there) yogurt, and fruit, coffee and juice.. All was delicious!

As for the hot tubs- when we visited the 4th floor hot tub, there was lots of sand in/around the hot tub, which was a big turn off, but must assume it had blown in from the shore, because otherwise I don't know how it would have gotten there. The hot tub on the 2nd floor is adjoined to a big courtyard with tables and a (gas) fire pit. We enjoyed sitting by the fire one night and chatting with some other hotel guests. This hot tub also did not offer any sand! It is more enclosed than the one on the 4th floor.

The location is excellent as it is an easy walk down Cannery Row to different shops and restaurants. Also a quick drive to Carmel and to the Pacific Coast Highway-to Big Sur- which was a bucket list item I was happy to cross off!

I would definitely return! My main piece of advice to people looking to stay here may be to not spend a lot of extra money on "ocean front." While ocean front was great, it appeared to me that ocean view was pretty nice as well- not just a tiny peek of water as some hotels may offer, this truly seemed like a very nice view with similar perks as to those who paid a lot more to have the ocean front.

I hope to return here someday! It WAS worth the money!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethompson1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing