We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I absolutely loved this inn. we stayed in an oceanfront room on the fourth floor. it felt like we were on the ocean . we opened the door to our balcony to a beautiful view of Monterey bay. we saw sea otters, sea lions and even jellyfish from our balcony. binoculars in the room to use was a wonderful touch. you leave a preference for breakfast and what time delivered on the door. fresh fruit, muffins, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh juice. everything was delicious. they also put out fresh cookies at 3:00 everyday. we walked to the wharf (less than a mile) and to a wonderful pizza place giannis( also less than a mile) and walked along cannery row. it is located at the end or beginning, whichever way you want to look at it, but it was very quiet. staff was amazing. although the inn dosnt look like much on the outside, the inside is lovely and the rooms are modern and beautiful. bed was super comfortable and big flatscreen tv.

Room Tip: we stayed in 412 and the room was looking straight out onto the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    439
    114
    38
    27
See reviews for
252
1,032
52
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had a king bed room overlooking the ocean. It was a room full of character, with a balcony to sit and enjoy the view, having room service breakfast. The hotel is right at the end of Cannery Row and is within walking distance of restaurants & shops. We had a meal at the Fish Hopper restaurant . Very good. Hotel staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Book a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I rented a 1 king bed room that faced the ocean and it was a lovely room. The balcony was of a decent size and the bed faced the ocean. I saw the sun rise and the sun set from my bed which was amazing... They delivered the continental breakfast to my room (fruit, pastries, coffee, yogurt) which was nice. Huge flat screen TV with satellite cable. The location of the hotel was close to local activities (I went kayaking with Adventures by the Sea which is literally right across the street from the Inn). Also, the Inn is the cheapest of the hotels on Cannery Row. There is shopping and dining along Cannery Row. Fisherman's Wharf is close by as well. Overall it was a great experience and well worth it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

When we were there it was full house. But since it is located at the end of Cannery Row, it's very quiet.

Service is not so fast because apparently we share staff with the bigger sister hotel down the road.
But rooms are clean, spacious and excellent. I love the balcony where we can sit to sip our coffee and enjoy the view.

Breakfast is included and is generous as well. So ask for anything you need, they'll give them all to you if it can fit in one tray!

There is a little stretch of sandy beach right beside the Inn. Just good enough to play sand and have a picnic.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumzelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were celebrating an anniversary, and made a short trip from San Jose while visiting friends. they recommended the hotel, and were so happy they did. The location was right on the ocean with a view of the marina and beach with a park. The staff were very welcoming with best wishes, chocolate and wine in our room. It was located at the end of Cannery Row so we took advantage of the nice walk to downtown, Marina, and shops. We found great food nearby, and took a site seeing drive around the town. Perfect get away from Missouri.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have enjoyed the location, view, room, ammenities, sounds, general feeling of comfort, the Aveda products, the otters, the birds, the sunrises, and their specials; it's become a part of my life. The staff is absolutely and professionally courteous and thoughtful. I drive 2 hours, and I'm Home! Breathe!!! aahhhh...... Nice Getaway!!! :)

Room Tip: There are are bayfront and bayview rooms. Both are great, but the bayfront affords better bird and o...
See more room tips
Green Features: Thank You for your effort. You provide a special bag for recycleables and it helps keep the room organized if you don't want housekeeping service.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Thank you so much to the team Monterey Bay Inn - especially Wendy who gave us incredible service on arrival. Our room was beautiful, in great condition, spotlessly clean and had a fantastic view.

Having stayed in old Monterey, downtown in the Marriott and in the Hyatt in the past, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough in terms of location, service and views- it's worth every penny and the service here from staff truly sets it apart from the competition.

We went to sleep listening to the waves and sea lions and looked for otters from the balcony while eating the daily breakfast which was delivered to our room.

We can't wait to come back for our second anniversary this December (for an even longer stay hopefully; your hotel was really a highlight of our holiday in California).

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiamhenMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing