We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely:)”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely:)”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Just lovely from the ocean view to the cookies in the lobby no complaints at all. Lobby and check in good experience , room very very nice spotless and nice amenities from honour bar to CDs to binoculars to enjoy the view. Spacious bedroom ,large bed facing the ocean, nice walk in style bathroom with separate toilet. Lovely balcony with stunning bay view side rooms have better views than end ones. Cannery row 2 min walk is quirky and lots to see eat and drink at. Shortly after settling into room we were greeted with a bottle of wine and chocolates very nice touch ( I had rang ahead as it was my husbands birthday ) absolutely lovely can't fault it .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mutlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    426
    108
    38
    25
See reviews for
242
1,012
52
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Location, location,location, this hotel literally is ON the bay, at the very end of Cannery Row. Use your binoculars to see the sea otters hanging out on the drifting seaweed, in the Spring the cormorants are nesting, sea birds flying by all the time, a multitude of sea lions to see at the pier. The first night we heard sea lions barking at the pier. The hotel itself is well run, shows a little age. Front desk and service staff are superb. There are two small, not so hot hot tubs on the premises.

Room Tip: Top floor to be sure for ocean sealife viewing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyJudeOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved loved this hotel. So clean and comfortable with amazing views. Breakfast in bed hot tub on roof and second floor close to cannery row and Aveda products. I will definitely be coming back to this hotel for future romantic getaways.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Well designed room. Bed facing the view. Large clean bathroom. Free continental breakfast delivered to your room every day. What more could you want. Also on Cannery Row. Only negative was having to pay 15 dollars a day parking. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveandLin1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was one of our stops as we went up the coast on our honeymoon. We picked the hotel for the great location and nice view for a reasonable price. The room was very clean and they offered binoculars to check out the view along with a nice Continental breakfast. The bed was very comfortable! It's located at the end of Cannery Row so it's very convenient to walk to restaurants, shopping, the wharf and the aquarium. They knew it was our honeymoon so they sent champagne and chocolates to our room. The staff was friendly and the customer service was excellent!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have stayed at the Monterey Bay Inn 3 times now and will probably stay here again the next time I am in town. The rooms are nice, clean, and almost every one has a balcony that overlooks Monterey Bay.
This hotel is located on Cannery Row, a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, the historic downtown area... there are good bars and restaurants all around.

They offer a free continental breakfast delivered to your room in the morning... turn down service in the evening with chocolates!! :).. Two hot tubs.....

BUT.. the thing that sets this hotel apart is the fabulous staff.. friendly, helpful... doing everything in their power to make your stay a delight.

I hope to get back there soon...

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Went here for my wife's birthday and we LOVED IT!! We had the oceanfront room on the 3rd floor and you could see forever!!! Loved hearing the ocean waves flowing in on the rocks and the seals talking away!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront room is more private. You could leave the blinds open and not be afraid someone is going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabe e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing