We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I just checked in today. 7/8/2014 First off we arrived early around 1 pm normal check in is at 4 pm. We were told once our room was ready we would receive a call. Well we never did once 4:15 came around we headed back to the hotel. We arrived and was not greeted with a smile nor did she smile or have eye contact the whole time we were talking. We asked Wendy about the phone call she said the room wasn't ready till now. Then she tells me its going to be $10 dollars extra each additional child. I was never told this when booking. When I booked my room I told them I needed a king bed with a pull out sofa because we will have our two little ones with us for our wedding anniversary. When we arrived in our room there was pubic hair in our bath tub so disgusted. We are paying a lot of money to stay here. If my card wasn't already charged we would've went somewhere else. So far my anniversary is not going as planned.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank joanna y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We appreciate this guest's feedback and honest comments, as they are vital to our continued improvement. This review was posted shortly after checking in to the hotel. The following morning our front desk manager reached out to this guest to address their concerns and to remedy the situation. We are pleased to report that after speaking with our manager they are looking forward to their next stay at the Monterey Bay Inn.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for four nights and the location is great. The hotel staff is very helpful. The continental breakfast that is brought to the room was very nice. Very quiet place to kick back and enjoy yourself. Being from AZ we were surprised to find that the rooms did not have AC. After one night we found out that the evenings cool down enough that the room is no longer hot and that AC is not needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravel969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast delivery. Our guests really enjoy the convenience of eating from the luxury of their own room and soaking up the beautiful views of the bay. As you mentioned, air conditioning isn’t typically needed in Monterey, as we are lucky enough to experience the cool coastal temperatures, which we hope you got to enjoy before heading back to Arizona. We hope your travels bring you back soon.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Monterey Bay Inn is a very great place to stay in Monterey.
Also for a week would it the a place to be.
Unfortunately we booked only one night there on our Roadtrip to San Francisco.
The hotel offers free breakfast IN YOUR ROOM and you have the possibility to use 2 hot tubs for free. One is in the courtyard of the hotel (no wind, warm, but no view) the other one is on the 4th floor on the top of the hotel. (windy, cold, but the view is awesome!!)
You also have great restaurants near the hotel and also a small beach.
The parking costs $16.- per Day but it is just located under the Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a Ocean View or an Ocean Front room! Don't miss the hot tub!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBPPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in an ocean room, whilst we were there it was my husbands birthday, the staff kindly left a signed card, bottle of wine and chocolates in the room for him, it was a very much appreciated gesture. The hotel is in walking distance of Cannery row and the wonderful aquarium. Our room was spacious and very clean, the bed was very comfortable, leaving the patio door open it was great to hear the sea. Would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends, nothing was too much trouble for the staff who always had a courteous word and smile.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Although we only stayed one night at the Monterey Bay Inn, it was so nice we wish we could have stayed more. We upgraded from an ocean view to an ocean front room – apparently ocean view means you can see the water but you might have to crane your neck – and ended up directly facing the water. This came with a slight whiff of nature, thanks to all the nesting cormorants out and to the left of the hotel, but we loved it and came away with lots of pictures of baby cormorants, plus a good picture of the nosy seagull who landed on our balcony in the morning.

The hotel bed was amazingly comfortable and plenty big enough, while the bathroom and its twin sinks meant my wife and I were ready in double the time we usually manage. Breakfast, delivered free to the door with the hotel’s complements, wasn’t massive but was very much appreciated. About the only downside was the parking – although it’s directly underneath the hotel it took a bit of effort to wrestle our big American rented car into a space. Can’t beat the location though and the man who checked us in was great too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, but must agree that one night is never enough. As you noted, our ocean views are an unforgettable experience. It allows our guests to get very close to nature and sea life that they wouldn’t typically get a chance to, unfortunately this happens to include nosy seagulls, as you mentioned from time to time. Our bathrooms are a favorite among our guests and we are happy that the double vanity helped you get ready in lightning speed, allowing for more leisure time. We look forward to welcoming you back for a much longer stay in the near future!

Sincerely,

Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed hear as part of our US west coast honeymoon road trip and it was a great way to start it off. Warmly welcomed upon arrival, and as it was Mother's Day, my wife received a nice rose. We were also upgraded to the sea-view which was nice of them.

Room was spacious, quite a large bathroom and clean. Bed was comfy and you are able to open the balcony door to let the sea breeze in and listen to the seals at night (or leave them closed if it gets too noisy). Most TV channels available so it was nice to watch some US telly (especially as Game of Thrones was on). There was a jacuzzi but didn't get the chance to use it.

The hotel itself is within walking distance to the pier. It was roughly a 10-15 minute walk, but you tend to stop for the views/photos.

Parking is available on-site at a cost, which was the only negative as there seemed to be enough spots to cover the rooms. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Sea-facing if possible
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dezza1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We are thrilled to hear that you and your wife had a fantastic stay during such a special occasion. We are honored that you chose us as your destination for your honeymoon and are pleased to hear that our staff made you feel welcomed. We hope that you will return if your travels ever bring you back to Monterey.

Sincerely,

Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel was the perfect location for our visit to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. It is located on Cannery Row which is a short stroll to local restaurants and the aquarium. We never needed our car once parked. The hotel staff was welcoming the minute we arrived.

Our room had a view of the spectacular bay and marina. The only thing we could hear were the lapping waves and nearby barking sea lions.

The room was clean, spacious and they even deliver complimentary continental breakfast to your room in the morning.

What more could you ask for when you're on vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tsonloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,455 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £138 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing