We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We recently stayed at the MBI for the final part of our Honeymoon in California. We booked through Hotwire and I contacted the hotel ahead of time to check up on our room etc. They were absolutely fantastic in getting back to me and offered us an upgrade which was very kind and most welcome.

The hotel is at the southern end of Cannery Row (away from the biggest crowds) next to a park and around 10 mins walk from Fishermans Wharf in a great location. The hotel sticks out into the water with rooms along one side with stunning views of the bay and marina.

We loved the room, certainly a good size and well equipped. Breakfast included in the rate was a real bonus, delivered fresh and on time every day. People who have complained about it must seriously eat lots for breakfast as with coffee, tea, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, juice and boiled eggs on offer we were stuffed every day!

I would recommend ensuring that you book an Ocean View room as the Cannery Row rooms didn't look anywhere near as nice and defeat the point of staying next to the sea when you look out onto the road. Parking is extra, but with it being so busy in Monterey its actually just piece of mind to have somewhere close, easy and reliable to park.

We had a great stay at MBI and will be back again if we venture to Monterey, just splash out and make sure you get a room overlooking the water!

Room Tip: Get a view of the water, not Cannery Row. Its why you chose this place anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your very kind review. We were very happy to hear that you found your stay to be absolutely delightful. It was truly our pleasure to help make your honeymoon an unforgettable one and hope that Monterey will always have a special place in your hearts. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    425
    108
    38
    25
See reviews for
242
1,011
52
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I highly recommend Monterey Bay Inn as your Monterey stay of choice. From check-in to check out, our experience was exceptional. Take advantage of the town trolley to visit local historical and literary sites. Stop is a short two blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay- view room from which you can hear and see the harbor seals. Walk to shops, aquarium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The perfect night spent here - where I paid a bit more than budgeted and realized if you only have one night in a special location you might as well splash out on the best location! I felt so grateful to have found the perfect accommodation for a one night stay. I loved the view, the binoculars and the local history book so thoughtfully provided. I came away with a great appreciation for Monterey and it's history. So much so I started reading Cannery row the very next day!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFCulver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful Monterey experience. It is those small touches you mentioned, such as the binoculars and history books that we hope make our guests feel welcomed. Our staff truly tries to make every guest experience memorable and we were so happy to hear that your one night in Monterey was one you’ll never forget. We all forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to the Peninsula.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The staff is very nice, the hotel is a bit old, however they have a great location on the water, and they try to do their best with what they have.

The lobby is average, you feel that the hotel needs renovation, and it gives a maximum feel of a 4 star property.

We had the PANORAMIC OCEANFRONT room. Wow, what a view, with a nice balcony and lots of space. However it has a loud annoying AC right next to the bed! The room rate was very high for what the hotel had to offer ($530+tax). I understand that the view is fantastic, but I believe that the rest is worth $300 max.

Room Tip: - The PANORAMIC OCEANFRONT room is simply breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are couldn’t agree more, our Panoramic Oceanfront Rooms are simply breathtaking. These newly renovated rooms are truly spectacular with the most amazing views and we were so happy to hear that you experienced the “wow” factor. However, we were disappointed that our boutique property fell short of your expectations and that you did not find value in your stay. While summer months and weekends do command higher rates during our peak season, we do offer very attractive promotions and package offerings the rest of the year in the hopes that everyone has the chance to experience the Monterey Bay Inn.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with excellent standard of rooms. Rooms with sea views give an opportunity to see the amazing array of wildlife. The hotel thoughtfully provides binoculars to assist. Very helpful reception staff who seamlessly sorted out a problem with our booking. Complimentary continental style breakfast served to the room if requested.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 7 day California trip, and my favorite memory of the entire trip is the accommodations we had at the Monterey Bay Inn. Spend the extra money and request an ocean view room--during the evening and night you can hear the waves crashing on the rocks, the seals, and watch the fishing boats from your room. It was absolutely perfect. The accommodations were very comfortable and clean, the rooftop hot tub was an awesome experience, watching the fishing boats at night from inside the hot tub was very special. The fron desk staff was very nice, and answered questions if you asked, but they didn't volunteer too much, and not as friendly and welcoming as the other 2 places we stayed. Not really a negative, but not a plus either. The rooms were cleaned up promptly and well, and the turn down service with chocolate was awesome. I wouldn't even look at different accommodations if we went back, this one was absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: If you love the sound of the water, choose ocean view, the balcony and room were always filled with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenFrPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your amazing review. We were all pleased that the Monterey Bay Inn was the best experience you had during your recent travels to California. Our ocean view rooms are something that we hope everyone gets to experience, as nothing quite compares to hearing the ocean waves right outside of your window. Regarding our service staff, we were pleased that you found everyone to be friendly, but were disappointed that we fell short of providing you with a personal and attentive guest experience, which we hope to share with all our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to not only provide you with excellent accommodations, but also with world class service.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in an oceanfront room (complete with binoculars to watch the charming sea otters) and it was lovely. The location was excellent as well. The scenic walkway is right outside the main door which made it easy to walk to the piers without worrying about traffic. The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were all very friendly; they even make it easy to purchase two pillows from the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BrideFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing