We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place I'll Stay In Monterey!”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockton Calif
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Only Place I'll Stay In Monterey!”
Reviewed 1 March 2009

I had planned on just a one night stay, but after becoming so enamored with the hotel and it's location, I decided to stay another night. Juliana, the front desk clerk, made all the arrangements for me. What a great personality and work ethic! The room was immaculate, comfortable, and worth every penny.
Rather than being boxed in, the location next to San Carlos Beach with the bay at the rear gives more of a natural connection to Monterey Bay. Plus it's centrally located between the shops, restaurants, and aquarium of Cannery Row and the old time ambience (and great restaurants) of Fisherman's Wharf.
While a thoroughly modern hotel, it seems to exude a hominess that makes you look forward to returning after a day of adventure. There may be newer hotels with valet parking, but I'll settle for parking my own car over nouveau-chic pretentiousness any day.
I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quixoticwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    439
    114
    38
    27
See reviews for
252
1,032
52
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here, (rm 414) I had taken my wife away for a couple of days, we were tired when we arrived, check-in was quick and when we got to the room the sun was just setting, my wife was very impressed with the full ocean view, the sound of the waves and gulls (gulls can be loud at times but didn't bother us) filled the room. The front desk gave us a great recommendation on dinner (The Fish Hopper) then after dinner we went back to the room to relax and crash. As talked about in other reviews the outside of the inn does not reflect the rooms, (very spa like). After a good nights sleep we woke to an ocean view from our bed, we could see sea otters, sea lions and dolphins from our balcony!!!! Awesome!!!! There is a tv in the bedroom but you will spend all of your time looking at the view!

We really liked the feel of the bathroom but it was quite cold in the morning as no heat from the room really makes it into the bathroom. Bring slippers if you don't like cold floors. The biggest disappointment was the water pressure in the shower, it was quite weak and the water was "soft" so it felt like you never really got the shampoo or soap off you completely.

The only other issue we had was, even though it was very quiet, I could hear/feel people walking around in the room next to us. The floors were creaky.

One more note: they charge for parking ($13 a day) and for wi-fi ($10 a day). In our opinion these should be complimentary! They do offer a continental breakfast every morning delivered to your room at no charge for registered guests. The food was fresh and the coffee was great!

All in all we had a great stay (the room had more pros than cons) and look forward to the next time can make it to Monterey!!!! We highly recommend the Monterey Bay Inn!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendersBurbank_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

This hotel has become one of my favorite places to stay. The staff is great, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the location is very convenient as you can easily walk to cannery row and fishermans warf. But best of all is the view, from our room and balcony we watched dolfin, otters, seals and even saw a whale. This is one of the rare hotels where I felt comfortable using the hot tub it has a great view overlooking the bay and was kept sparkling clean. What a great place to relax and enjoy the bay. My husband and I have traveled a lot and this rates right at the top of the places we have stayed. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviwalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NJ, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Perhaps my experience at the Monterey Bay Inn was a result of staying at a "romantic hotel for two" with two kids, but it wasn't all that I had hoped for given the price. Though the hotel was obviously far from full we were given a room at the end (203) which barely had a view of the ocean. Most any other room down the hall would have had a nicer view. Ours was mainly of bushes. You had to stand up against the wall to look out towards the ocean. The room was large, comfortable and nicely appointed, and the bath room was huge and gorgeous, but the pullout couch was very noisy with squeaky springs. Even though I had been forewarned about the paucity of the breakfast, I was still disappointed. After filling out the form for three people in the room, we were given just one plate, two forks and three spoons. The coffee and tea were cold. The muffin was soggy and I'd expect better than a Lender's bagel for the price of the room. It was an easy walk to the Aquarium, and the hot tub on the roof was nice.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubberbandeffect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We went to Monterey to watch the ATT&T ProAm. The day of our arrival we were able to check in early (around 10:30AM) which made our day so much easier. We were able to park the car at the hotel, catch the bus, and see as much of the tournament as we could. After a day of walking around Poppy Hills and Pebble Beach, it was heaven to settle into a feather bed. The best night's sleep I have ever had in a hotel! The hotel is located on Cannery Row which enabled us to walk to restaurants and the Aquarium in the area without ever moving our car. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Monterey and I wouldn't think twice about staying here again. It's a jewel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novatolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, CA
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2009

I took my fiance up for her birthday. We were only there one night but it was amazing. When you first see the hotel you kind of think it may be kinda shoody on the inside and not live up to its pictures. But once you step inside, its simple outter apperance is erased from your mind by there beautiful lobby. Even the elevator was decorated! We were on the forth floor which is an open hallway, so once you step out of the elevator if its cold and windy your gonna feel it. The room was spacious and beautiful and no matter how many pictures you see online the view from the balcony is 10x better when you actually see it! You can hear the waves crashing and the seagulls all night and day. We kept our balcony door open the whole time we were there but if you dont like the noise the glass is thick enough that you can still get a good night sleep. Its located only a couple of blocks from all the cannery row attractions. Good walking distance. It was a great getaway for us as a couple but i didnt really see to many familys there.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chavaz_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJolla
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Don't let the unimposing front entrance fool you. Great rooms on the water. Very private and the balconies literally go right over the bay. Feels like you are sitting in a large cabin on a cruise ship looking out over the water. Rooms are modern and well appointed. Great large bathrooms. Front desk staff was very nice.

Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SS1LaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing