We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend Monterey Bay Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend Monterey Bay Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

We had a combined leisure/business trip to Monterey, and the Monterey Bay Inn met all our needs. From very nice and comfortable rooms, to watching sea otters cavort in the water below, to having glaucous gulls perch on the deck railing, we very much enjoyed our stay.

We enjoy dining out, so the absence of an on-site restaurant was not a concern for us. The in-suite continental breakfasts were quite healthy and good.

Since the Inn is located mid-way between the Alvarado downtown area and the aquarium, we did not use our car for four days. While there are two hot tubs, there is no pool, so this may not be the best location for families with active children.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    415
    108
    36
    25
See reviews for
233
1,001
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Stayed in a really nice room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the bay and the park. The view from the balcony was beautiful. The room was very comfortable and the bathrooom is gorgeous.

The hotel is a short walk away from the Cannery Rown shops and restaurants. It's a short distance (by car) to 17-Mile Drive/Pebble Beach - that was amazing.

The only detraction was the parking. The parking garage is under the hotel, which is good because the weather does not matter, but the parking is very tight and it is tough to maneuver a larger vehicle in and out of some of the parking spaces.

I was only there one night and wish I had more time for my stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves2Travel929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

Not as fancy as the other hotels on Cannery Row, but it is elegant and definitely the best bang for the buck. That's not to say that it is inexpensive, but you're not going to do any better and still wake up next to Monterey Bay. Staff is polite and caring, the rooms are very comfortable without all the pretension. I've been here three times now and will stay here whenever I go down to Monterey.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveOinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

I got our room pretty cheap on expedia, however that was because that particular room faces a parking garage so rather early in the morning you get to hear a loud, intrusive noise of the garage opening. So make sure and request a room on the ocean/bay side of the hotel (which it is right on the bay!).

I'm a bed snob, but this bed exceeded my expectations. The mattress was ultra firm, but soft so sliding into it was heaven after a long day. The bedding was luxurious and clearly high thread count. Even better, the pillows were in different levels of fluffiness so you could have just the right one or combination to fit your pillow desires. Our continental breakfast was delivered right on time with the bagels still warm from the toaster. The bathroom's multi-head shower was amazing.

Best of all, the staff was incredibly friendly and happy to answer any questions or help us out even though we arrived at quarter til midnight without any notice that it would be a late arrival.

The place also has in-room and at-spa spa services at a reasonable rate ($85 for an hour massage).

We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittimeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

We had a room with a view of the Monterey Bay. It doesn't get any better than that. We slept in the comfy featherbed with the sliding door open. The sounds of the waves cascading over the rocks lulled us to sleep. We woke to beautiful sunrises and enjoyed the continental breakfasts that were served to us by the very friendly staff.

We would definitely stay here again!

Regarding other comments about the $13 parking fee - all of the public lots were $10-15 a day, so to have a place where our car was secure was well worth the fee. We parked our car Friday night and didn't use it again until we left to come home on Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieNGroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

I was staying in the area for a wedding, but the Monterrey Bay Inn made it an extraordinarily experience. Great facial and massage at The Santuary at the hotel -- the hot towel treatment is fabulous! Room and bath were elegant, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast in one's room was great. I preferred the bagels to the muffin but both were good, as was the fresh fruit and coffee. I had a full ocean view -- the water was so close, it was almost as if I were on a boat. Sunrise over the Bay (yes, part of it looks East!) was marvelous. The service was excellent. I needed help with directions -- Julianne at the front desk was particularly helpful in giving directions. The location is perfect -- on Cannery Row and just steps away from a little beach with tidal pools.

All and all, a splendid place to stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djmmHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

Long overdue review of a lovely hotel. One of the best locations in Monterey. Splurge for the full view room, and ask for a higher floor. (Those sea lions can be noisy!) Don't overlook the rooftop spa. (Go early or late and stake out your spot. It's small, popular, and can get crowded, but patience will reward you with a romantic experience and nice view.) Really nice place with competitive rates. Friendly and accommodating staff, who I promised a good review on tripadvisor. Here it is! We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saucyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing