We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great value!”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great views, great value!”
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I chose the Monterey Bay Inn based on positive tripadvisor reviews and because it was more reasonably priced that the other highly rated oceanfront hotels in the area. We were very pleased that the oceanfront balconies were enclosed and thus offered a greater degree of privacy than those we saw at other hotels. The included breakfast was a nice bonus too! It was always delivered on time and was very generous. It was great fun to try and spot sea otters with the very nice binoculars provided in the room.

The location is wonderful. It is on the other end of Cannery Road from the aquarium, but riding the free trolley bus (which has a stop near the hotel and goes right to the aquarium and other sites like Fisherman's Wharf) proved to be a big highlight with my young son! San Carlos Beach, right next to the hotel, is great for exploring tide pools and we even got up close to young sea lions basking in the rocks. During high tide, most of the beach gets washed out though.

We would definitely stay here again next time we're in Monterey!

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ValueSeekerRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    439
    114
    38
    27
See reviews for
252
1,032
52
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

My husband and I came to the Inn with our one year old son. This was our first time to visit Monterey and we were excited to be in a location on the water where we could easily walk to several destinations we knew we wanted to visit, including the Aquarium and the Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel provided a pack n' play for our son, leaving us with one less thing we had to bring! Our son, Ben, loved being able to see out to the Bay and watching the sea gulls and geese- that kept him well occupied. The accomodations were wonderful with a beautiful bathroom, and a great king sized bed. The hot tubs were also a highlight of the trip. The roof top tub is amazing at night with great views and cool breezes while you sit in the hot water. The staff at the hotel also proved themselves friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Finally, the continental breakfast served in the room was perfect for a family with a young child- I wish breakfast coud come to us in our bedroom at home- especially with fresh squeezed orange juice!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We have stayed here several times in the past, and it's always been a special treat when we visit Monterey and Cannery Row. It had been about 6 years since our last visit, so we had great memories and were really looking forward to returning. Unfortunately, the hotel is showing its age, and is trying to coast by on its reputation and its Cannery Row location.

On the plus side, the location really is great. Right at the end of the Row, within easy walking distance of everything, including Fisherman's Wharf and the Aquarium. It has a beautiful harbor-front location, and I love being able to hear the seagulls and the seals from the room. Our reservation was fine, and the front desk staff was great.

The room was okay, but showing its age. The door wouldn't close without a lot of pressure, due to a hump in the floor. There was an obvious patch in the drywall ceiling over the shower. The tub filler and the bathroom mirror were both loose. The toilet didn't work right unless you fiddled with the handle. The furniture has nicks and scratches, and in this day of inexpensive, upgraded flatscreen TVs, this hotel still has small, older tube sets that have definitely seen better days.

"Breakfast" was a disappointment. I remember it as being much better and much more elegant in years past. Now it's just a basic, cheap offering, with very little food - you get more at a basic Holiday Inn or Best Western.

The hotel has a parking area, which is a little tight for larger vehicles. And given the high cost of the room, I think charging an additional 14 bucks a day to park is outrageous.

All in all, not what it used to be. We paid over $1,000 for three nights in a second floor, partial harbor view room, and that is way overpriced for what you get. I had to say it about a hotel that's an old favorite of ours, but I can no longer recommend this hotel. Next time in Monterey, we'll be looking elsewhere for a room

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bendwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM_8, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2009
We greatly appreciate the thoroughness of our guest’s comments concerning their stay. Feedback is always welcome and considered to be of significant value to our business. The Assistant General Manager and the Chief of Maintenance conducted inspections of the room and noted that it did not meet our standards. Corrective action has been taken and we have apologized to the guest for the condition of the room.
General Manager
Monterey Bay Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2009

This hotel does not look like anything special when you first pull up to it. Well, dont let that fool you! They are located at the beginning of cannery row (or end depending how you look at it) and because of it's location they have many rooms with views of the bay. When we arrived we were upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking Monterey Bay. We could see the seals/sea lions laying on the rocks out in the distance. The room had a beautiful balcony where we had our delicious continental breakfast, which you order the prior night and they deliver directly to your room (a nice touch!) We left the sliding glass doors open all night to let in the cool breeze and to hear the seagulls. It was the most peaceful sleep we have had in ages. The bathroom was huge! It had a seperate door (frosted glass) for the toilet, and double sinks witha huge counter area. This room was very romantic. I'm not sure if all rooms are like this one, but I highly recommend this hotel. Parking and WIFI were both free, which is rare to find today! We stayed 1 night at the SpinDrift Inn as well, and this hotel was nicer and had a more friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgdavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2009

This was our 3rd stay at the Monterey Bay Inn and again we had a wonderful stay. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. They also provide binoculars for looking out in to the bay along with a wonderful continental breakast delivered to your room at the time you select. It's a quiet place and very romatic (some rooms have fire places). A great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConcordAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We agree with most of the good reviews posted before us. Courteous and informative staff, clean and comfy room, toiletries of good quality, scenic harbor view from the room. We were particularly delighted by their thoughtful gestures of providing complimentary use of some good CDs (including romantic tunes from Chris Botti and sounds of nature recorded in Monterey Bay) and room service for breakfast. Our stay in the hotel was generally a pleasant one save for the following:-
1. No slippers was provided - imagine we got to walk on the chilly marble tiles on our bare feet.
2. We were prompted to leave the hotel a few times before the actual checkout time - imagine the annoying disruptions as we were halfway packing and dressing up yet we got to answer the door.
3. We were charged US$13.00 for the parking. For all hotels we have stayed in the world, we were charged so much for parking before.
If not for the above, we probably would give it the highest rating. The room rate is considerably high for a small hotel of the like and we did have a higher expectation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylviattl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh217
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Monterey Bay Inn to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We wanted to stay at the Monterey Plaza as that is where we had our reception but it was going to be over $500 a night, which was way over our budget. We snagged a harbor view room (view of park from bed; view of park, street and bay from balcony) on the top floor (4th) for $300 Saturday night and $240 the other nights. The front desk was very nice and check-in and check-out were a breeze, although we did have to wait until 4pm (standard check-in time) before our room was ready.

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were. The bathrooms are spacious with two vanities and separate toliet area, all in marble and granite. Plenty of towels and Aveda products. The bed was very comfortable and there were lots of pillows. There was also a desk and a sitting area. The room was very clean and best of all it was quiet! We couldn't hear anything from the other rooms (unlike the Plaza's hollow walls), but you could hear street noise which was not excessive after the Cherries Jubilee event was over.

The free continental breakfast delivered to your room every morning was so convenient and a perfect lite breakfast. There was always parking available on site (only $13 a night) and Wi-Fi access was resonable ($10 night).

You cannot beat the location--you are less than a mile from Fisherman's Warf and Cannery Row shops/restaurants. The coast guard pier is steps away and is a great alternative to the pricey aquarium--there are many harbor seals that like to lounge at the end on the rocks, sea otters that play by the boats and lots of floating jellyfish. Plus San Carlos beach and park are right next door. You are also a few feet away from the Monterey Bay Coastal Bike Path which runs all the way from Marina to Pacific Grove so it was super easy to get in a short run. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssh217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing