We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“California prices” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pacific

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pacific
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
london
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“California prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Loved the central location and layout of this hotel. I was attending a conference at the Portola Hotel and it's just across the road.

Stayed for two nights in a beautiful twin room. Very comfy beds, lovely balcony across the entrance to hotel and quiet, clean room.

Thought the rate was too high at $169/night though but that may just be because it's California.

I had a couple of suitcases and it would have been great to be offered help with them to my room which seemed to be about a mile away. I eventually found it but came across water leaks on parts of the balcony.

Breakfast was continental; boiled eggs, muffins, cake, tea/coffee and cereals. It was served just above the lobby so no restaurant in the hotel from what I could see. Got in very late and so ordered room service. It was exorbitant. I spent $55 as you have to pay 8% sales tax, 19% service fee and $3 for delivery- go out for a meal!!

There is a computer in the lobby you can use and pay for using a credit card or can charge to your room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zinizana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    442
    209
    89
    57
See reviews for
305
562
27
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

while it may not have the facilities of other larger hotels it does possess a quiet charm of its own. centrally located a short walk from the harbour area of Monterey the Hotel Pacific is a well appointed tourist class hotel offering most of what you want for a whistle stop stay in this beautiful and picturesque area of the Californian pacific coast. The rooms have a homely and very comfortable feel with a beautiful gas fire which just oozes relaxation. the staff are helpful, although not overtly, and while the hotel doesn't have an in-house restaurant, it does offer an order in facility from a local restauant. although it can be a bit expensive so be careful what you order. the location is perfect - far enought from the centre of the town to not be over noisy and close enough to the harbour and downtown to be within walking distance. Worth a stay

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woosie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

By far a favourite hotel, characterful rooms, brilliant position in a lovely town with helpful staff and surprisingly good free brekkie! Monteray was a last minute addition to our California trip but we are so glad we stayed. The market (Tuesday's ) was brilliant as well as the Cannery and Fisherman Wharf area

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Juliebol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Went with a friend to get away for the weekend. The hotel is in a great location and is super cute from the outside. The inside is in definate need of updating but should keep the integrity of the mission-style charm. I love soft beds, but for those of you who do not.....The staff was helpful and made a great dining recommendation. It is a little pricy for the current condition, but I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cappi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed there 2 night in July 2012 and chose by location. Indeed the location is perfect for exploring Monterey and the rooms are big.
The hotel would be very nice if:
1. the place was updated and repaires was done. Example the parking garage and elevators from there to the rooms are really in bad shape. The outdoor jacuzi was out-or-order.
2. the staff would be friendly and less snobby
In conlusion I hope the hotel will improve and the owners invest in it and it could become a nice place, as I guess it was many years ago.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danish_Greetings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

They need to invest in new beds.and all have caved in centers ..discussssting. Think place is on it's way down and not well maintained. Cost way too high for what you get. Recommend you look at other locations in this area

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metoo-wego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

First impressions were very good as we approached the hotel. However, there were one or two things which jarred with us, especially in terms of staff and service. The first room we were shown to was lovely and had obviously recently been modernised. However, the view from the balcony was completely ruined by a ledge covered in cigarette butts (despite this being a non-smoking hotel) and discarded plastic cups – they had obviously accumulated over some time, presumably thrown there by people from the sauna. We told reception that we didn’t want that room and although we changed to another much nicer one with a courtyard view, their attitude was somewhat blasé and they did not seem to be the slightest bit interested in our reasons for changing. And to make matters worse, once we had been established in another room, the door suddenly opened and the bell hop entered followed by other visitors, coming to look at the room!! Clearly the staff in reception had not updated their booking information; what an invasion of privacy. There were other telling signs of complacency (which we did not experience in any other hotels on our trip). For example, every day the maids took away the extra cup/glass/cutlery/plate etc and so we had to ring down each time to get them to replace it. Each time it took at least 45 minutes to do so. And on our last night, a radio alarm went off in the empty room next door, waking us and continuing nonstop. Again, it took 45 minutes for someone from reception to come and turn it off, despite it being 1am. No sense of urgency or customer service here.
This being said, the hotel itself was absolutely lovely – huge room with lots of space including massive bathroom and separate dining area. Very nice décor. Good situation for exploring Monterey and very convenient parking arrangements. Good buffet breakfast provided within the price although it was a bit of a scrum if you stayed in the breakfast room, but the option of taking food back to the room was a nice touch, helped by providing a tray in the room for transporting food.

Room Tip: check it first and don't be afraid to change. Go for a first floor (English) room rather than gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacific

Property: Hotel Pacific
Address: 300 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pacific 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pacific is a boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Monterey, California just steps away from the Monterey Conference Center and walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and other top area attractions. Hotel Pacific offers luxury all-suite accommodations with fireplaces, free wireless internet access, patios and balconies, microwave ovens, mini-refrigerators, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments, luxurious feather bedding, and unique vacation packages. Recently renovated in 2015, Hotel Pacific is the perfect hotel choice for your next romantic weekend getaway, vacation or business trip to the Monterey Bay area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing