We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Romantic! Our pick for our 1st Anniversary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pacific

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pacific
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Romantic! Our pick for our 1st Anniversary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was an absolutely beautiful and romantic place to stay. We stayed in a Junior King Suite and the bed was a four poster bed. The room had a gas fireplace which was perfect as our day there was a little chilly and had a cd player and some romantic music. It's about 2 blocks off of the wharf which is why I gave the location a 4. For those who are spoiled by very luxurious rooms this may not be for you but I have stayed in all types of rooms and this was so cute and cozy that I didn't miss the other amenities. The price was excellent at $123 as well!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    444
    209
    89
    57
See reviews for
306
563
27
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Imagine a big open fire in your bedroom, lots of space, good location, helpful staff, clean rooms and really comfy beds . This is the Pacific
On the downside, there is no bar , no facility to eat , no lounges plus a €30/ night parking fee.also it can be a nightmare trying to find your room as the hotel consists of a number of inter connected buildings , so a bit of a maze
After arriving late at night , after a longdrive,we were disappointed that we had to go outside on a cold night to try and find somewhere to eat. We ended up in the Worlds worst Pizza place!! Also the breakfast was Spartan to say the least.
The staff were great , friendly and helpful
The hotel DOES NoT HAVE A VIEW
Would we stay there again?
Maybe next time , find a place that serves food plus which has a view and free parking

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank komivong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This is my 4th year in a row to stay here for New Year's. Rooms are way more affordable than the hotels on Cannery Row, and it is just a short walk from it. Rooms are really spacious, which is great with our 1 year old. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmariesears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Super cute, clean and unique hotel, great location and incredible friendly staff. Breakfast was good too. The only "negative" was the $20 we had to pay for parking. Other than that an awesome experience. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetraLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We got a pretty good deal on this property through TravelZoo and werent' sure what to expect. I found the reviews on Tripadvisor to be a bit of a mixed bag and frankly I don't think the hotel's own website does it justice.

The location of this hotel is perfect, right on the edge of Downtown it's actually in the middle of a State historical area and actually has historic buildings on either side of it. It's also just a couple of blocks from the water and from Fisherman's Wharf. It's always a pleasant level walk on a gorgeous waterfront walkway to Cannery Row about a mile away. Thanks to Tripadvisor we knew that there was alternatives to paying $20.00 for parking and there was plenty of street parking right outside the hotel. Parking is restricted to two hours from 9am to 6pm but we didn't find this to be a problem as we were often out touring and you can move your car around as much as you like as long as you move it to another spot at least 150 feet away. Check in was efficient though it would have been nice if they offered help with bags as it's a long slog from the lobby to one's room. I love the layout of this property, it's practically a city block large and as you wind your way through it there are numerous outdoor courtyards with gardens, fountains and seating area. It's truly an oasis and we really loved it but it does make it a pain to get to your room! Even if you pay to park in their garage you are potentially in for a long trek to your room, not a big deal but something to be aware of.

We were blown away by our room! We had two beds (they called them queens but they felt a bit bigger than that) and a sizable living area with love seat, chairs, and a fabulous gas fireplace that could produce a massive roaring fire! There was also a patio and though it was cool at night my wife and I enjoyed having a glass of wine out there and listening ot the barking of the sea lions! Though there's no kitchenette, they not only have a microwave and fridge but they actually had table settings for two with realy plates, cutlery and wine glasses! The living area was so nice that we ended up walking down to Trader Joe's a couple of nights (it's less than a mile away) and eating in our room which was a nice money saver. As many people have noted the bathroom is huge with a tub/shower combo and another separate shower and toilet that have another door for privacy. The room is truly a great set-up if you are a family and need some space.

They don't seem to advertise it on their website but there is actually two hot tubs on the property though the one closest to our room was out of service the entire lenghty of our stay. We did use the other one and it was nice but tiny which could be a problem given the size of the property. Speaking of which...It was really busy when we were there and the staff were really struggling to keep up with breakfast when we were there. Breakfast is very simple though appreciated as it's rare to get a free one at such a nicel hotel. There was cereal and yogurt, bagels and bread, hard boiled eggs and muffins. One morning they brought out donuts and another they brought out a lemon cake which was tasty but seemed like an odd choice for the morning. If breakast is important you may want to get there early as there could literally be a 15 minute wait just to use a toaster when we were there and there's also not a ton of seating though they do provide trays in your room if you want to take the food back to it. I should note that the coffee was really good!

So why not 5 stars? I found the service to be a little spotty. Housekeeping was the best we've ever experienced, every day we would come back to the room to find our girl's stuffies arranged artfully on their bed and they even offer turndown service. The front desk staff weren't the best though. On two different occasions but our rooms keys stopped working and the staff were efficient enough about re-keying them but not at all apologetic about it. One afternoon we went by the breakfast room where they put out tea and coffee and I mentioned how good their ice tea was. The guy working said "yeah, I love it too and I will have it out in just a minute" So we sat around for ten minutes waiting to no avail. Eventually we gave up but I walked by 20 minutes later (to get that darn key card replaced!) and they still hadn't brought it out. I was a little surprised as he saw us waiting for it...These are relatively small things but we were staying for several nights so it was a little annoying.

Over all I really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlackberryBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Lots of charisma in this hotel, friendly staff, pets allowed, large bathrooms, hardwood floor, gas fireplaces in room, excellent continental breakfast, within walking distance of everything on the bay. Only downside was extra $ for parking and no sink in the kitchenette.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We wanted to meet our daughter and grandson in Monterey (they live in S.F.; we live in S.B.) to celebrate his sixth birthday, see the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf and the Old Historic Center of the town. I chose the Hotel Pacific because of its location, but also because of the favorable comments on Trip Advisor. It is a very attractive place, though a little rambling, with many stairways and view-scapes. It reminded me of one of those M.C Escher prints. The rooms were large, each with a sitting area, large screen R.V., fireplace, and kitchen nook with microwave and refrigerator. Each morning, we retrieved our delicious breakfast from the breakfast and brought it back on a tray to enjoy fireside. We walked around the neighborhood which is really charming, and sampled both of the restaurants that the helpful staff recommended.
We were able to walk to the Aquarium, only a mile a way along the waterfront. The only negative that we had heard was that the place was noisy, due to the thin walls. However, no one disturbed our sleep. However, we had rooms with two outside walls, and you might consider requesting that when you book. You do pay $20.00 for parking, but the garage is so convenient to your room, that it is worth it. We plan to come back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacific

Property: Hotel Pacific
Address: 300 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pacific 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pacific is a boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Monterey, California just steps away from the Monterey Conference Center and walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and other top area attractions. Hotel Pacific offers luxury all-suite accommodations with fireplaces, free wireless internet access, patios and balconies, microwave ovens, mini-refrigerators, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments, luxurious feather bedding, and unique vacation packages. Recently renovated in 2015, Hotel Pacific is the perfect hotel choice for your next romantic weekend getaway, vacation or business trip to the Monterey Bay area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing