We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed our stay very much”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pacific

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Pacific
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
New York City, New York
1 review
“enjoyed our stay very much”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Excellent accommodations and location - everything was perfect and thanks to Kimmy & Karol on the check out - highly recommended. Every room is like a suite, you can entertain people in your room without feeling cramped.

Room Tip: Really nice LG wide-screen TV, good speed on the WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, General Manager at Hotel Pacific, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Jon,
Thank you for your comments about the Hotel Pacific and especially for mentioning some of our superstar employees Kimmy and Karol. They work very hard to make sure everyone's stay here is enjoyable and I know they appreciate it when it is noticed. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Barry Gambold
General Manager
Hotel Pacific
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    460
    212
    90
    57
See reviews for
321
579
28
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel was unfortunately the worst one on our California trip. The staff at receiption was unfriendly and gave us the impression not to be interested. The room we got was called a 'luxury junior suite' but it was dark and dingy and 'luxury' was the last thing that came to mind when you stepped into it . Like the rest of the hotel it needed renovating, it looked as if it has not seen an update in the last 20 years. Like some other reviewer also said, the patio was a joke. It had a wall around it that backed to a road and was very unwelcoming and dark. The only good thing was the complimentary breakfast, if you don't mind to clean the table the guest before you has used. How did this place get 4 stars?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiamP5195WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, General Manager at Hotel Pacific, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Claudian,
I am so sorry to hear about your recent stay with us. I wish that there was something that could have been done when you were here to try and rectify the situation. I would appreciative if you could send me an email at my email at bgambold@hotelpacific.com so I can get some more details from you and see how we can prevent this in the future.
Sincerely,
Barry Gambold
General Manager
Hotel Pacific
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Really liked this hotel. Unpretentious and relaxed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely large room with everything we needed to make our stay memorable. Yes would agree with other reviewers that it could be a bit noisy due to the tiled floors but the location more than made up for this slight annoyance. Only downside was cost of parking but everything else was excellent and would choose to return

Room Tip: Choose a room to back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairolass_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Like another reviewer said .. Go somewhere else. It's awful. We checked in and before we even got to the room we knew we'd made a mistake. The guy on the desk was very unfriendly. Then we saw the lift and nearly didn't get in it ! The room was a suite !! But it still had rubbish in the bin from the previous guests, pubic hairs in the bath, and filth under the sink. Skylights were cracked and mouldy. Room was dark and dingy. The patio was a joke. About 10ft long and 3ft wide with 10ft walls all the way round !!! It was dirty and very unwelcoming. We checked out again immediately and found another hotel. Just don't bother booking in the first place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We appreciated the nice clean rooms of the hotel pacific. The rooms are designed with a lot of wood, which suits to the relaxing atmosphere of Monterey. The hotel is very good located for a walk down to the harbour for food and more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, General Manager at Hotel Pacific, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello,
We appreciate you taking your time to review our hotel We know your time is valuable and we do appreciate it. We discuss all the comments made and yours will be well received by our staff.
Thanks,
Barry Gambold
General Manager
Hotel Pacific
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby Magna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A homely motel style place, The room was a small two room suite with a kitchenette so we were spoilt for space. There isn't a restaurant so we used the hotels recommended supplier who provided a very adequate repast with a bottle of wine. Reception was helpful and friendly and helped us sort out our wi-fi. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, General Manager at Hotel Pacific, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We appreciate you taking your time to share your thoughts. We have over the years looked at adding a restaurant but in the end always decide that with so many options so close and with such a great variety within walking distance we would leave it to those who have been doing it for years. I hope our staff was able to give you a good recommendation? We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Best regards,
Barry Gambold
General Manager
Hotel Pacific
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel has been severely neglected and is in obvious need, not only of renovation, but at the minimum repairs -- to crumbing plaster, bundles of electrical wires hanging out of the wall in the lobby!; and cleaning--the furniture and walls had ground-in grease and looked pretty banged up. The staff - from the desk clerks to the engineers were well aware of the deteriorating condition as they readily admitted to the need for a complete remodel. We would rate this hotel as 'poor' instead of 'terrible' if the price had reflected the condition. But for the 'boutique' high price they charged for these rooms (and we saw three rooms, changing until we settled on one that looked the least dingy), borders on dishonesty. The location and outside, quick-look appearance of this establishment give it loads of potential -- but the owners must be waiting for it to completely fall apart before they close it - because closing it is the only way at this point to properly renovate.

Room Tip: Check the Wi-Fi before unpacking, it doesn't work in all rooms. Also, we are happy we asked to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eviet530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, General Manager at Hotel Pacific, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear eviet530,
I am extremely sorry that you had a bad experience at the Hotel Pacific. The staff and management try extremely hard to make everyone stay and enjoyable one and we obviously did not live up tot hat. As for the condition of the property. the Hotel does have new owners and have been working on a full renovation plan that is in the works. That does not help you with your stay but if you have the time to give me a call I would like to discuss your insures in person. I hope to hear from you soon.
Sincerely,
Barry Gambold
General Manager
Hotel Pacific.
Direct line 831-333-3909
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacific

Property: Hotel Pacific
Address: 300 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pacific 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pacific is a boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Monterey, California just steps away from the Monterey Conference Center and walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and other top area attractions. Hotel Pacific offers luxury all-suite accommodations with fireplaces, free wireless internet access, patios and balconies, microwave ovens, mini-refrigerators, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments, luxurious feather bedding, and unique vacation packages. Recently renovated in 2015, Hotel Pacific is the perfect hotel choice for your next romantic weekend getaway, vacation or business trip to the Monterey Bay area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing