We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice romantic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice romantic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

Excellent hotel. Our room had a real woodburning fire and comfy chairs to sit in front of it in. Wonderful hotel for a romantic getaway. Saff v helpful and there was wine and nibbles every afternoon provided free to hotel guests.
We also saw lots of sea life ... Sea otters, sea kind seals in Monterrey.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lau9925768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,434
    338
    86
    41
    26
See reviews for
185
1,359
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We found this small hotel by chance doing an internet search. It's an extremely charming hotel and is very well located for all that is going on in Monterey. The two things that really stood out for us were the overall cosiness of our room and the genuine warmth of the staff. From the moment we arrived we were given full attention, nothing was too much trouble and every request was dealt with graciously.

It's slightly unfair to single out two people because they were all so good but I would give a special mention to Paul who helped with bags and parking and to the lovely lady who hosted the wine and cheese reception in the afternoon. She personified the hotel - charming.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Monterey (as far as we could work out) is fairly poor on really good restaurants. It all seemed a bit 'sliders and tacos' to us. For great dining go to Pacific Edge near Carmel ($25 cab ride).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

The hotel is well managed and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They do seem to bend over backwards to accommodate guests' needs. The rooms are in good shape for a hotel that has been around a while but are pretty well kept up. The rooms, however, are somewhat small and there is not much in the way of extra chair or table top space. No way to "put your feet up" unless you put them up on the other sitting chair or lay on the bed. The little round table is adequate for your laptop use.
Wi-fi was good, if somewhat slow. You can pay to upgrade for faster service if you want to download streaming media, for instance. If you wan ice, call down and ask for it and someone brings it up to you. There is a small fridge for keeping drinks cool (not extremely cold).
Sometimes the noise from morning garbage trucks or food service deliveries is noticeable, but not horribly so. Probably even less noticeable on the ocean side of the hotel.
The complementary wine and cheese get together in the afternoons is always fun. Always someone new to meet and chat with.
There is no free parking in that part of town. You either use the valet parking or go find your own. Either way, parking is expensive in Monterey and the meter maids are intent on earning their annual salaries. You can put your vehicle in the valet's hands and take a bus anywhere you want, however, from the Monterey Bay Aquarium, or elsewhere.
Though generally higher dollar, there are LOTS of places to eat right around the hotel all within walking distance.
While excellent for for couples, or singles, this hotel really isn't a "family" hotel. It is geared more towards adults and people who are trying to "get away" for a while.
For the cost, this is a very competitive hotel especially ON Cannery Row!

Room Tip: Call the hotel, first, THEN check Expedia, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartholomew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosville, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Just returned from a single night. The location is fantastic. Perfect for walking everywhere. Our room was street side and it was a little noisy. The room is very comfortable and romantic. We had a balcony and that was an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sksanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at the Spindrift Inn, the last time being four or five years ago. It's a very charming inn located in a prime spot on Cannery Row.

I generally agree with the other positive reviews of the rooms, the hotel location, the charm and the uniqueness of the inn. I like the real wood fireplaces and the cozy comfort of the rooms. The bed wasn’t outstanding (the previous two hotels earlier in my trip had better) but it still exuded the cozy comfort of a small B&B. The bathroom is nicely done in marble tiles and it fits the room well.

Unfortunately there always seems to be one event that mars my stay at the Spindrift. Last time it was a door ding on my personal vehicle. That was a real bummer, especially after paying the valet expense. I realize that 'stuff' happens and didn't hold the hotel at fault on that one.

This stay the problem was with the free continental breakfast. The first day it was delivered on time to our room, but the toast was still bread (not cooked) and the fruit was so-so at best. The coffee was not all that warm either, and there isn't a microwave in the room in which to warm it up. The next day, breakfast was 25 minutes past the end of the promised delivery window. We had yogurt but no spoons or forks were delivered, bananas that were green and again the barely cooked toast. Sigh, well 'stuff happens'. This was a free breakfast, so we ate the 2 muffins and a pastry we bought the day before. Then I also noticed (probably after the coffee cleared my senses) that things smelled real fishy. Not good!! That's when I realized either the napkins or the coffee cups had a fairly strong fish smell to them.

Upon checkout I brought this up to the hotel staff. They were sorry to hear about the breakfast and they promised to investigate. They credited one of two nights parking ($20 off $40). I'm not sure why a poorly done, fishy breakfast and a now woozy stomach didn't rate both nights of parking as compensation; but frankly I didn’t want to argue. One of the staff members went on to say they provide the breakfast for free as a courtesy and that they don't share a kitchen with a restaurant. Furthermore, she stated they had to do all of the food preparation without the benefit of any kitchen facilities whatsoever. Well this didn't make me feel any better. Are they making my breakfast in the laundry room? Anyway, I’m guessing a staff member went fishing and didn't wash well - or couldn't quite get the fishy smell off his/her hands. For a second I thought about bringing up the dirty wine glasses (lipstick, etc.) at the wine and cheese event on our first night, but I decided to just move on. It's pretty obvious the Spindrift is not a place that should be serving food and drink to guests.

Too bad about these incidents; as otherwise the Spindrift Inn is a cute, charming hotel in the heart of Monterey.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

The Spindrift Inn's staf were all very cheery and helpful and immediatly took care of one of our concerns.
The fireplace in every room was a great feature.
Very neat and clean hotel; the staff were always busy.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch94553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

This place was great! Often when you arrive at a place, the reality and actuality are far removed from the advertisements and pictures. But not here. This was picture perfect. Everything from the location, the outside view, the lobby, the rooms to the room service were just as described. Excellent! We were greeted at the curb with a friendly doorman, greeted at the front desk with a very kind receptionist, given great directions and recommendations and a coupon for a free appetizer (which was our choice off the menu, not some pre-determined miniature sized reject no one wants to begin with) at the restaurant we decided upon. We are really glad we cancelled our other reservation and booked here. Our room overlooked Cannery Row and not the bay, but that was no cause for concern. This is THE place to stay when visiting this area and I regret that we only had one night to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing