We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to San Francisco. We were greeted by a porter who took our luggage and for $15, parked the car. The hotel is absolutely enchanting with a Victorian theme. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel room was beautiful with a fireplace and a Victorian motif. We had a view of Cannery Row and enjoyed people watching. I gave this place five stars because of the breakfast that was included. We actually ordered our breakfast the night before and it was delivered in the morning as requested.

Room Tip: Always know what you want first...than ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolhandluke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,463
    343
    91
    42
    26
See reviews for
190
1,386
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just checked out of Spindrift Inn. Amazing property. Had a King corner suite, with glass on the corners with a window seat to look out over the ocean. Room 401. The windows open on all sides. Stunning view, except for the radio tower that is right outside the left side windows. Just pull the drape on that side. No issues. Canopy bed, real wood fireplace, All the staff, from the valet ($21.00per day to park..ouch), to the checkin desk, the gal that brings breakfast directly to your room each morning....all top notch. Probably the most pleasant people I have ever encountered at a hotel. Located right on Cannery Row. Touristy. Would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 417CarolC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I can re-iterate the good things said about the hotel, stayed for 6 days in a lovely appointed corner room facing cannery row towards the Aqaurium. Great Hotel location, breakfast tray was also welcome as was the free wifi, although it was a bit hit & miss sometimes with the connection. The wood burning fire was a nice feature. Staff were super polite and always cheery

Only downside to the room & Hotel was the noise in the mornings from the delivery trucks reversing and collection of rubbish on Cannery row. We did not hear any disturbance from people walking around outside though. MArked the sleep quality down for this reason anly. Bed was super comfy. Thought it was very very funny when the doorman/valet asked us on our last day if we were just checking in.

Room Tip: Sea facing room recommended,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

No surprise that this is rated as one of Trip Advisor's top romantic hotels. If you love the beach and are looking for a first class hotel experience, look no further. We booked a beach view (but not a corner) room and were situated on the first floor just off the lobby. This was not the problem it could have been (noise, etc) as we were blissfully unaware of any other guests or activity once we closed our door. As advertised, the windows open onto the beach (and I DO mean ON the beach!). If I had been so inclined, I literally could have jumped out the window onto the sand--it was about an 8 ft. drop (though I don't recommend it!). You should know, however, that the beach is not private, which means that during the day (all day) there are plenty of people out there strolling around and making their own kind of noise (no swimming--TOO COLD--but we did see some folks emerge from the bay clad in serious scuba gear). The view is of Monterey Bay, complete with plenty of seabirds (DON'T feed the gulls!), kayakers, sailboats, etc. Because the hotel is right in the heart of Cannery Row, we were a bit concerned about noise, especially at night. However, once the fog rolls in and darkness falls, most folks head indoors and even with the proximity to shops and restaurants, we didn't experience any noise issues (we even left the windows ajar all night, sleeping peacefully to the sounds of the ocean). The room was beautifully appointed with luxurious bath, fireplace, sitting area, fridge, and Keurig (honor bar, too). Our only complaint (and it's small and picky but it DID bug us): the lighting over the bathroom mirror is awful. Recessed halogens shine straight down and make the application of make-up or a successful shave impossible. We had to use the mirror in the sitting area by the windows to get enough light. But all in all, we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: If you want the beach, be sure to book a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owtmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, Director of Sales at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for writing a review of the Spindrift Inn! We are thrilled that you were able to sleep with the window open to enjoy the sounds of the sea, and pleased that you included a reminder not to feed the wildlife.
Your comments about the bathroom lighting will be reviewed with our staff to see if we can accommodate a better solution while still focusing on our mission to meet the standards of our Green Seal certification.
Thanks again for your great comments. Come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a corner room on the fourth floor overlooking cannery row. We were woken up very early by street cleaners. Very noisy. Valet parking was an additional 21 USD which we thought considering the high room price should have been included. There was no complimentary water in the room either. This was an additional cost.

We enjoyed a lit fire in the evening however the next morning was incredibly cold with no option to warm up the room.

Around 9am the room began to smell strongly of garlic from the restaurant downstairs. We decided not to stay our planned 2 nights and checked out after the first night.

On a positive the room was clean and comfortable and the location was very central.



Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lottaluv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
To begin, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their feedback regarding their recent stay. I consider such feedback extraordinarily valuable, as it provides out best possible opportunity to make improvements. I also want to thank this reviewer for their kind words regarding our location, and the hard work of our housekeeping staff in keeping a clean, and well maintained hotel.

I want to first let this reviewer, and all the other travelers out there, know that the Spindrift Inn will be getting a complete upgrade of our windows this winter. We will be installing brand new double-pane windows, which have several key advantages over standard windows, among them better insulation against weather and noise.

Regarding this reviewer’s comments about our parking charge, please know that we try very hard to make sure that our guests are charged for only what they want and use. Some properties, including some of our neighbor hotels, use a “resort fee” to charge guests for amenities; typically this includes access to a fitness center and parking. We disagree with this practice because all guests are made to pay this fee, but not all guests use these services. Still other properties will offer similar services “complimentary,” and put the charge in the room rental. In this way, the fee is hidden from the guest, and they end up paying sales tax on something they might not have wanted in the first place. Out of respect to our guests, we feel that it is unfair to charge for something that is not wanted or used, and as such we offer optional amenities and services (such as parking) separately.
Additionally, this charge, which was put in place in 2002, is important to us as it goes directly toward our efforts to create a secure environment for our guests; this includes a night security guard, security cameras, and other features. Our goal is to make all of our guests feel welcome and respected, and a part of this is being honest about what they pay for, and we very much regret if this separation of service makes anyone think less of our hotel.

With regard to the review’s feedback about not being able to warm up their room, please know that I will have our maintenance department inspect the heaters throughout the hotel immediately, so that any malfunctioning equipment can be repaired or replaced promptly.

Again, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their comments. Should anyone wish to speak with one of our managers directly about a question or concern, please don’t hesitate to give us a call.

Thank you,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Wonderfully quaint hotel, but do not stay on the cannery row side, was very noisy although we stayed on the top floor. Not only was it a car show weekend (did not know), but the bars accross the street play music until late and people walking the streets till 2:30am could easily be heard. Also the seagulls perch on neighboring rooftops. Love the rooms, delivered continental breakfast and wine/cheese happy hours- overall nice and good location - paying extra for ocean side would be well worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amyjogre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This cottage feel hotel a block from the Aquarium is a great place to spend a night or two. Walk the busy streets after you valet park your car and restaurants are everywhere. Continental breakfast is delivered to your room, which is spacious and we loved the wood burning fireplace. Cozy and romantic.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,297 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing