We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit and we still love it”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Westbrook, CT
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“2nd visit and we still love it”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Downtow Monterey along Cannery Row is pretty touristy but if you'll be there anyway, try the Spindrift Inn...it's wonderful. This was our second stay and we just love the ocean front corner rooms. The rooms are very nicely decorated and quite comfortable: great bed and linens, 2 comfortable upholstered arm chairs with a shared ottoman, window seats and a set of binoculars. It's more like a the private residence of a friend who knows how to do it right than a hotel room.
From the comments I've read, not everyone likes the continental breakfast. If you're looking for a big, cooked breakfast - bacon, eggs, etc - go out for breakfast. But if you might enjoy a light breakfast in the privacy of your own room, give it a try.

One tiny disappointment: It sounded like there was a family of baby elephants upstairs from us so next time we stay (and we certainly will), we'll ask for a top floor room.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper or just like a quiet room, ask for a top floor room. There are hard w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2peripatetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,447
    341
    89
    42
    26
See reviews for
190
1,368
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in Monterey which was perfect for exploring the 17 mile drive, Carmel & Point Lobos State Park, Pacific Grove and of course Cannery Row. Took other reviewers advise and booked a deluxe corner ocean view king. Arrived on Friday evening after driving down from San Fran: what a delight to drop the car with the valet ($21 daily) and be greeted with the daily wine and cheese reception. Up to the room and every expectation is met: large Victorian themed room, great views, 4 poster princess bed & fireplace. Seals and dolphins in the bay just off the beach, fantastic. Continental breakfast in room most enjoyable. Cannery Row is a busy place but the room is a real refuge and I would not stay anywhere else. Ocean rooms a must for the views and quiet.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harry_Melbourne_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, Ca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is our 4th time at the Spindrift and ea time has been great. The Room is large enough to be comfortable but cozy and warm. The ocean is outside your window and the view of Monterey harbor is grand. The afternoon wine and chees is the best. You get to meet fellow guesta and talk about things in and around Montery or life in general. The staff is very friendly and knowledge and willing to help with most any request. Highly recommend the Spindrift Inn for any stay in Monterey

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benzarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Don't be put off by the Spindrift's location in the middle of Cannery Row - book a sea view room at the back of the hotel and you are in a different world, overlooking the bay and its sea otters, seals and dolphins. On our last morning while having breakfast in our room (the only option) we saw no less than 40 dolphins in the bay! So many we forgot about the sea otters .... This is what the Spindrift is all about. Superb rooms, log fires, great views from the rooms at the back, excellent service. Rooms are equipped in an old-fashioned but classy way with really comfortable beds. Tip: go for a sea view room, ideally on the second floor - and use the binoculars provided!!!! Be aware that the breakfast provided on a tray to your room is often never quite as you ordered - all part of the adventure! we always look forward to getting back there!
PS: if you're a real Sea Otter fan, head just up the coast to Moss Landing Beach where you'll see even more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I needed to have one day of rest and rejuvenation and I got it at Spindrift from the featherbed to the soothing music to the wood-burning fireplace to the bath salts-- I was so comfortable and it was a beautiful stay! The continental breakfast in the morning was very nice as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This B&B vibe hotel is a gem!! The attention to detail and the staff were far beyond our expectation. The location of this hotel is hands down the BEST! The small beach right in Cannery Row has been a favorite of mine for years!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I wanted a romantic one-night get away for our 2nd Wedding Anniversary, and my wife and I are so glad that I chose the Spindrift. Everything about our stay was perfect.
All of the Spindrift rooms have fireplaces that use gas to burn the split wood logs, but when I found out that not all rooms have a full canopy covered bed, I upgraded our reservation to an ocean view corner room. It was amazing. There's nothing like hearing the waves outside your window while the room is lit only by the light of the fireplace. A little wine and that king sized canopy bed, and you have the perfect romantic night. Oh...and the bed was amazingly comfortable. I wish I could replace my tempurpedic at home with the bed from the Spindrift!

The hotel is perfectly located on Cannery Row, with easy walking distance to most attractions. All the staff were extremely helpful and polite, from the time we drove up to the valet stand until we finally said goodbye. The hotel has an excellent "happy hour" with wine and cheese and an opportunity to just relax in the lobby in front of a fireplace.

Some people have complained about the $21 valet parking fee, but I think it's a bargain! Try parking on the street and putting in Quarters for each 10 minutes, and you'll pass by the $21 in just 14 hours (not to mention that the parking meters allow only 2 hours maximum).

If I could change anything, I'd put an ice machine somewhere on the 2nd or 3rd floors, but that's minor.

We will definitely make the Spindrift a regular short get away location for some rest and romance.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the higher room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingB0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing