We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty, great location”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pretty, great location”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Spindrift Inn and enjoyed it a lot.
The hotel is right on Cannery Row and right in the center of a lot of restaurants and shops.
Short walking distance to the Monterey Aquarium and bike rentals opposite site of the street.
The hotel rooms where very pretty and very nicely done. Breakfast was delivered to the room which made the stay even more comfortable for us. Also the hotel offered complimentary snacks and wine every afternoon in the lobby.
We had a room to the street which wasn't to noisy at all.
We would always go back to this place if we go back to Monterey.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mossy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,469
    344
    91
    43
    26
See reviews for
192
1,390
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We always enjoy staying at the Spindrift Inn. The rooms are beautifully done. Ceiling fan is great as the rooms tend to get warm. There is a refrigerator in the room, with enough room to put a few things in without having to rearrange the mini bar stuff. Lovely outside patio where you can sit and enjoy the bay. They have a wine and cheese offering in the late afternoon. It was a nice day so we took ours up to the patio. Plenty of nice restaurants to walk to for dinner. No need to go out to breakfast, it is brought to you in the morning. Very nice offering of coffee, fruit plate, yogurt, cereal, bread...pick what you want and the time you want it delivered the next day. Valet parking is extra but really makes the visit easy. Call a few minutes before you want your car because the garage is not on the property. We had booked our stay on the Cannery Row side, and yes we wake up early in the morning because of the noise from delivery trucks but we also hear the seagulls.
We enjoy coming hear a couple of times a year.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CWFSantaCruz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We arrived at the Spindrift Inn around 5 pm and our room was not quite ready. However, we were treated to some complementary wine and cheese while we waited. We had an ocean view room with 2 Queen size beds. The room is very pretty, the view is stunning and the beds very comfortable. It was wonderful to fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the waves below our window. The location of the hotel is good. Very convenient to the aquarium and all of the shops. The beach area is a little small and rocky and full of seaweed. The kids played on the beach for awhile, but it is not really a beach suitable for lounging around. We were especially disappointed with the Monterey beaches after we visited Carmel. Generally, Monterey runs a very distant second to Carmel, in our opinion.
The staff is polite and friendly, and the valet parking service efficient. But, we had to call down for coffee cups in the morning, and it took almost 30 minutes for them to bring them. And the coffee was definitely NOT worth the wait - thankfully we found the Starbucks later in the morning. The complementary "breakfast" was only for two, even though we are a family of four, and consisted of some fruit, a couple of muffins and 2 glasses of orange juice. So we still had to go out for breakfast so that we were all fed.
We would not return to the Spindrift Inn for the current price of over $400 a night (after parking, fees and taxes). I just think that for that kind of price, a little more than "pretty" is required.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Very nice hotel. Old school.
The rooms on the water are worth it too. Spend the money, you're on the bay.
Good restaurants within walking distance. The Monterey Bay aquarium is also great to visit, and it also is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was quite a grand hotel, though maybe just a liitle "tired". Quite sumptious rooms - ours was a corner room with two window seats and grand drapes, all rather olde worlde. It is very well situated for access to shops and restaurants and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We were greeted with our choice of red or white wine, cheese and biscuits which was very welcome after a long drive. At $229 dollars per night it is rather expensive but I suppose that is par for the course for Monterey.Breakfast has to be ordered the night before and is delivered to your room at your requested time, and it was excellent - couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

From the front desk staff greeting you each morning and each evening as you return 'home -- no matter what time you returned, to the lady delivering breakfast each morning, to the lady pouring wine each afternoon to the valet being so friendly/helpful each time we received our car for day trips -- asking us if we were all set or needed help/directions! Each and EVERY staff member was friendly, helpful and dedicated to their job. We have stayed here 3 times in the last 10 years and would not stay anywhere else! We are from the mid-west, so if you're going to go west for vacation -- do it in style and to the max!

Green Features: very conscious about conserving water -- which is evident throughout all of the town
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I would not change anything about Spindrift. The hotel offers a European flavor. The front desk people are friendly as is the maid service in the rooms.. We have recommended Spindrift to our children and friends as well for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: We did not use the swimming pool or fitness center. We can do this at home. We were there for rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertjangell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing