We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect get away trip.”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away for a couple days and wanted to try out a new location. We decided on Monterey and were recommended to stay at Spindrift by some of our friends. We were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the hotel was and how perfect the location is. Right on Cannery Row, so many shops, food options, minutes away from the aquarium and Starbucks is right there too. The staff was amazing, we chose to pay for the vallet just because we saw a bunch of cars getting tickets for parking meters being out of time on our drive in. The hotel is right on the ocean.... it was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALoeffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

I should share this review, I always fear that I will have a hard time booking a room on our next trip. But this hotel and its staff are so extraordinary that I must do this.

Waking in the morning to watch dolphins and sea lions frolic in the kelp beds with the waves lapping at the pilings and rocks…what could be more romantic ??

The rooms are very quaint. The afternoon wine and cheese ?? The readily accessible firewood. Those and a hundred other little touches.

The staff is caring beyond belief. Teresa and I got engaged in Carmel while staying at Spindrift and we came back to celebrate. The front desk set us up with a restaurant reservation that swept both of us off our feet to celebrate the occasion. In this world of having to jump through hoops just to get anyone's attention in hotel, the staff at Spindrift really excels.

Definitely worth a try, particularly for you lovers out there, and I hope there are lots of you

Room Tip: Go for the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug_T_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyInns, Public Relations Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Your review swept us off our feet! Thank you for sharing and thank you for keeping romance alive at the Spindrift Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Spent a great few days there overlooking the bay. Fireplace, great bed, outstanding service.

This is the second stay in this hotel. The first was an accident on after a long day in Napa Valley. We stumbled into the hotel late and crashed in the room. The windows opened over the bay and on that cool night, we snuggled up by the fireplace and had the best night ever.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

In center of cannery row but very quiet an comfortable. Loved our stay. Felt like we were only guests. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I was not impressed with cannery row because too touristy for us. But hotel was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

From the moment we arrived until well after we left, this place did not cease to surprise.

Arrival was simple, friendly, and quick. Check in was very efficient and pleasant and we were in our room within minutes. I have to be honest the rooms are a bit chintzy for my taste but loved the place nonetheless. The rooms are well appointed (though the bed is a bit soft), we had a cannery row facing king and loved the views and the balcony. The log fire on a chilly winter evening and morning was a real treat for a hotel.

Location couldn't get much easier... 5 minute walk to the Aquarium, the hotel backs onto a beach... just amazing.

The Wine and cheese reception was a great touch. A little crowded, but both the wine and cheese were great. Breakfast was a little late in the morning, but was nice to have a simple breakfast served in the room.

After I arrived in LA I realised that I had lost my glasses. I called around a couple hotels to find I left them at the Spindrift... they located them and they were in the post that day. Such amazing service throughout.

This place is special and you should not miss it if staying in Monterey.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Posted on behalf of Randy Venard, General Manager

We are thrilled to know you will be back!

At the Spindrift Inn, we believe that it is the little extra touches like the wine and cheese hour and our thoughtful, attentive staff that make our hotel special. Thank you very much for noticing and sharing your comments here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice room (106) with beautiful view. They had a couple of king rooms available at check-in so they took us to each one and let us pick the room we preferred. Location is very convenient for touristy stroll to cannery row shops and restaurants. Really enjoyed the breakfast delivered to out room.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cnkmerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Pros: Fabulous ocean facing room, feels like you are right on the water. Great design on the first floor with the living area a few steps below the bedroom. Great bathroom. Great fireplace. Good coffee. Staff were extremely helpful and service very prompt. Great little 4 to 6 wine/cheese platter. You pay for valet parking, but can take the car out and in as much as you like, plus (and this is a very big plus), they let you keep the car in the valet (with suitcases) until 4 o'clock, (past the 12 o'clock check out after you vacate the room), so you can wander around a bit after check out. Cons: No hot water for my bath. Bed was lumpy and uncomfortable (if they are going to put a feather insert under the fitted sheet, first of all they should use a fitted sheet, and second, make sure the feather or whatever it is under, is consistently spread throughout the bed instead of heavy lumping in the middle! Breakfast coffee was good but the fruit platter was downright bad. Grapes where off, orange slice was juiceless, watermelon not ripe, altogether bad. Eggs were perfect. Muffin and coffee cake were good.

Room Tip: We loved the convenience of having a gas fireplace which is only available on the first floor. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,660 reviews
1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £155 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing