We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandest Expérience in a land of Great Hotels”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Have stayed at most of the better places in Monterey area when visiting our daughter in Carmel Valley.
Among the many attractions is the small size of the hotel because it does not have conventions or large business meetings. There are plenty of large hotels for this and they earn their ratings for their ball rooms, convention rooms, gems, etc.
The Spindrift is right in the action of the tourist area, but seems like it is on a private island.
Cannery Row is along the ocean so rooms are divided with views of the sea lions basking on rocks with waves breaking around them and rooms with views of cannery row. We have stayed at both and really enjoyed each.
Check in is a pleasure, and as soon as you enter your room you know you made the right choice, the ambiance just seems to slow down time.
Wonderful bedding, private fireplace, complimentary cheese and wine at afternoon tea time, continental breakfast included and brought to your room.

The location is within walking distance of major attractions and numerous fine restaurants, including right next door (serves as hotel's resturant).
Great for couples, romance, just recharging, and sight seeing.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and have fantastic views, cannery row rooms are less expensive but have grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 2,011 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed in one of the suite's in January 2014 and just love it. The staff is exceptional and go above and beyond their duties. They make you feel at home, and my family and I felt spoiled. The accomidations are fabulous. My family and I, including the one's that didn't get to come are planning a get together next year at the Spindrift. I am telling everyone I know to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had a 2 night stay here this January and was charmed by this inn. The staff were outstanding. The rooms were perfect. The fireplaces and views could not be beat. The lovely breakfast hit the spot before a walk along the boardwalk and water. I would stay here in a heartbeat again when in town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelstl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights in January and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel has great character, the staff are friendly and helpful and our balcony looked over Cannery Row which was great for watching the world go by. Rooms are really clean and spacious and getting your choice of a continental breakfast delivered to your room each day lets you be lazy and choose where to eat it, we had breakfast in bed both days and it was a delight! This is a laid back town and the complimentary cheese and wine at 4.30pm to 6pm just helps you to relax. Just a short walk from the Monterey Aquarium, a number of restaurants including Chart House and a short drive to the start of the 17 Mile Drive, if this is what you are thinking of doing this is the place to stay! Valet parking ensures your car is taken care of until you need it again. We will recommend this Hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back quieter and have a view over the bay but cost more and don't have a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LePatioDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyInns, Public Relations Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for the lovely review and helpful room tips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Spent two nights starting with New Year's Eve in their junior suite on the first floor which also had a balcony. The service is exactly as described by all of the reviews I had read -- excellent, attentive, and professional. The junior suite (room 107) had two totally separate rooms, with a pullout bed in the extra living room (which had its own guest toilet). The fireplace in the main bedroom was easy to light and a nice touch. The only concern I had was that the suite was right off from the main reception area, and conversations there (even in the early morning) could be easily heard. Also, the room was in the front corner of the hotel directly above the beach, which should have been a plus, but for the fact that it was a public beach and, with the great weather there, a very crowded beach much of the day and into the early hours of the night. I would definitely return but might just opt to stay in a room higher up.

Room Tip: Both the beach directly in front of the hotel and the adjacent public park to the right of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbeLincoln115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here one night and just loved the place. Its quite a small hotel and is right opposite the Cannery Row building on the sea. Our room had a wonderful sea view with a bay window and we were perhaps twenty feet from the beach. The room was comfortably furnished, and had a very comfortable four poster bed. The bathroom was large and well fitted. The room was well decorated and in excellent condition. The thing that made it really different was the log fire (gas lit but real logs). When lit it gave off a lovely aroma and atmosphere. We should have taken more note of the verbal instructions about the fireside sliding vent however, as we forgot to open it and at one point had a rather smoky room-but it was our fault. Another thing we liked about the place was that they offered very nice free wine and cheese in the lobby area each afternoon about 4 pm to meet and mingle with fellow guests. We had to use their valet parking for the car, but it was not over priced and it was very efficient.

Room Tip: Get one facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcberry2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We go to Monterey at least once a month and always stay at the Spindrift Hotel. We always stay on the 4th floor Oceanside for the view and prefer a corner room. It is a little more expensive but worth every penny. The fireplace is wonderful but the view is awesome. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ksheehy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,540 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £161 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing