We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on Cannery Row”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great location on Cannery Row”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The first thing I noticed upon entering our room (ocean side) was the strong smell of a wood burning fireplace. Neither of us minded this but after a couple of days it became strong and caused a slight irritation to my throat. Although I must admit, we thoroughly enjoyed the real log fireplace on the chilly nights. Having the window seat was great as we liked watching the people on the beach area below us. We were comfortable on the feathered bed the first night but after the second night both our backs started to ache as we're used to a firmer bed. I guess it's all subjective. A continental breakfast was served on time to our room each morning which was nice. The bathroom was great with lots of room and good water pressure. If I could offer just one suggestion to the owners, it would be to add some sort of lighting inside the closet area as that's where we put our suitcase and it was hard to see inside. We enjoyed our visit and this is a pretty facility but not the nicest of B&B's we have stayed in. Our favorite is the Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove. However, Seven Gables does not have fireplaces or televisions which was a big plus to us.

Room Tip: Select top floor for less noise and request an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,474
    347
    91
    43
    26
See reviews for
194
1,396
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Mohave
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a corner ocean view room. The room was beautiful... a perfect romantic getaway.

We enjoyed spending our mornings in the window seat reading our books, although we had a hard time not staring out at the ocean- we spotted otters, seals, and dolphins. In the evening, we enjoyed sitting in front of the fire, listening to the waves crashing outside. The bed was extremely cozy and comfortable.

The location was perfect. Once the car was parked, we didn't use it the rest of the week, we walked everywhere we wanted to go.

The staff was very friendly and attentive. The complimentary room service breakfast was a nice way to start our day. The wine and cheese in the afternoon (which we took up to the rooftop patio) was a nice segway to dinner.

We would definitely recommend the Spindrift to couples looking for a nice getaway.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shauna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here with my brother and his wife as well. They were visiting from NY and thoroughly enjoyed some warmer weather. Both of our rooms were ocean view which are a definite. Wood burning fireplace, afternoon wine and cheese, breakfast on silver platter in morning, feather bed just add to the wonderful ambience of this Inn. We could walk to restaurants and the Monterey Aquarium so we didn't need our car until we left for home. You will find it a stretch to find anything negative about this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at Spindrift Inn this past weekend. Overall, the hubby and I had a wonderful weekend, however, Spindrift could use some more hospitality and attention to detail. We are regulars at the Monterey Plaza Hotel, and thought to give Spindrift a try since a friend of ours stayed at Spindrift and raved about it. Our check in was smooth, and our room was a "Deluxe Corner Ocean View King Bed" which had gorgeous views. The room had a nice wood burning fire place and a nice feathery comfortable bed. However...

1. The shower valance curtains had mildew on it, and it was really obvious, which grossed us out.

2.The wood they use for the fire place was stored outside on the patio deck, which got rained on over the weekend and was damp and moist, and we could not get our fire going due to the wet wood.

3. The fridge in our room made a loud noise constantly,to where we had to unplug the fridge overnight in order to sleep.

4. The doors and the walls at Spindrift are extremely thin. Since they deliver complementary breakfast between 6AM - 11AM, all we heard in the morning starting at 6 AM was loud knocks and "Breakfast!" by room service to every room down the hall who ordered breakfast, which defeated the idea of "sleeping in". Our walls were so thin that we can hear our next door neighbor running their bathwater. Better idea maybe serving breakfast down at their lobby instead.

5. They DO NOT have central fire alarm system!! We got woken up by loud fire alarm beeping at 7AM in the room across the hall and WE HAD TO CALL IT IN!! It was past 10 minutes before someone came up to check up on this...i wonder what would of happened if we didn't call the front desk to alert them about the fire alarm going off...again, we weren't able to sleep in.

6. There is no AC! I understand that we could of opened the window, but in the winter time, its hard to keep the window open over night.

7. I wish Spindrift can maybe patrol their "private beach" better? i know the beach is "pubic access" however, it really defeats the purpose when drunk homeless guys pass out on the beach with beer cans next to them. not a good sight for family with kids. Maybe they could ask the city of monterey to come and ask the drunks to leave the beach?

As much as i paid for the rooms here, i would really rather pay a little bit extra and go back to the Monterey Plaza Hotel and have more of an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrflashykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyInns, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
I want to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. We hold feedback such as yours to be extremely valuable, as it provides our best opportunity to make improvements.

We are all disappointed that despite your kind regard certain aspects of our hotel, your experience was less than entirely wonderful. Our mission at the Spindrift Inn is to provide a comfortable environment dedicated to personal, attentive service, and I sincerely apologize for anything that detracted from your enjoyment of your stay. We have shared your comments with housekeeping and maintenance staff in order to help prevent some of the issues you have addressed from occurring in the future. Comments from our guest are so important to help in the ongoing evaluation of the products and services that we offer.

We want to assure you that we do have a central fire alarm system, and it is serviced and tested regularly. We also have all rooms fully sprinkled, and the sprinkler system will trigger the alarms in the event of a fire. We comply with all fire codes, and the hotel is inspected regularly by the local Fire Marshal. In addition to the central system, we also provide smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors in all guestrooms. It is possible that these guests heard a smoke detector in a guestroom chirping for a low battery, or may even have heard an alarm clock in another room.

Thank you again, for taking the time to share your feedback. We believe that honest comments such as yours are vital to our continued improvement. I sincerely hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back, so that we might demonstrate how truly dedicated we are to providing a wonderful Monterey experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We loved our stay at the Spindrift a few years back in a room overlooking Cannery Row. For our return this time, we chose the Ocean View room. You can not go wrong either way. The accommodations, the staff, the service, the location --- excellent, excellent, excellent, excellent. First-timers should be sure to read the book about Cannery Row you will find in your room. It provides a fantastic history of Monterey and Cannery Row in photos and words. The Spindrift is the perfect getaway!

Room Tip: Want to people watch? Cannery Row side. Love watching and listening to the waves, Ocean View. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is best place to stay in montery clean romantic ocean veiw rooms and fireplace wine time evenings very pleasant place to stay bit pricey room service slow breakfast was ok little cold nice service people friendly

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portugessboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Spindrift is a wonderful piece of Monterey. We booked a room overlooking Cannery row and I couldn't have been more pleased. Well appointed rooms and fantastic bedding. We visited during the winter so the fireplace came in handy. ;)

Everything is centrally located to the hotel and the wine/cheese reception they hold is a nice hospitality. This is our staple hotel when passing through northern California.

Room Tip: Book a room that overlooks Cannery Row. Believe it or not the noise level is very low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy92648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing