We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 nights of peaceful enjoyment”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in room 408 and had a very enjoyable, peaceful stay. The staff was great, the continental breakfast was generous, and we really liked the wine and cheese served in the late afternoons. The hotel is convenient to all the restaurants and sights of Monterey. There is no on-site parking and a valet takes your car to their parking, but they are very good about getting your car quickly when you want it. We found the Inn to be a wonderful place to stay in Monterey.

Room Tip: The water side rooms cost a bit more, and they have a good view, but our corner room, 408, also had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review of your recent stay at the Spindrift Inn. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and the complimentary wine and cheese reception. It is our hope that these small amenities along with our caring staff help create lasting memories for our guests. We also wanted to thank you for taking notice of our excellent valet service. We know that Cannery Row can be a difficult area to find parking, so we are happy to offer our guests a convenient alternative. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

The ocean view room is fantastic, worth every penny and more. Wood fire fantastic and easy to use, really comfortable bed and chairs, lovely bathroom with nice toiletries, binoculars to enjoy the fantastic view, room service breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese reception every afternoon (fantastic local wine), staff very helpful and lovely. The stunning location and room plus all the little thoughtful touches make this hotel probably the best place we've ever stayed!

Room Tip: Ocean view - absolutely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review and compliments of our staff; they work hard to try to provide personalized service, and I am happy to share your comments with them. We are always trying to create a welcoming environment for our guests and believe that our cozy fireplaces, complimentary breakfast delivery, and small touches leave a lasting impression for our guests. We want to thank you again for your beautiful review and are absolutely honored that you would consider us to be the best place you have stayed. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It is a nice place with wood fire place. We could not get the ocean view otherwise it would be perfect.
We would go back if we can get ocean room otherwise we prefer another hotel in the area.
We used Vale Parking but there is a public parking almost 200 yards away with very low parking fee.

Room Tip: If you get the ocean view it worths it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aykut2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience, but were disappointed that you were not able to stay in one of our ocean view rooms. We hope that you will be able to return soon and that we can share with you the experience of being ocean side.

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I've been to Cannery Row quite a few times. Love the Atmosphere, Food, Shops and just People watchin. The Spindrift ON Cannery Row. I finally decided to stay there. First off, the Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The Room? A+++. Stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking Cannery Row and it was everything I expected +. The Fireplace...Niiiice on the cool Monterey Eve. The Bed sooooo comfy. And well the Cannery Row sounds and atmosphere right out the dual french doors? This was my VERY BEST stay in Monterey and I will be back.

Room Tip: If you like the Cannery Row "Vibe" request a room on the floor Cannery Row side with a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark32956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My spouse and I were getting away from the BIG city for a week. TripAdvisor pointed us to this cute little hotel on Cannery Row. Had our own wood-burning fireplace and breakfast in bed. Staff are excellent in pointing us to local attractions and restaurants. Our room was on the third floor facing the street. No problem for us. Ask for the two-for-one tickets for the Monterrey Aquarium three blocks away. Only available at hotels.

Room Tip: Go weekdays for the best rates. I wonder if street-side would have been noisier on the weekends or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and myself wanted a quick getaway so I chose the Spindrift Inn. It is 21/2 hr. drive from our house and well worth the drive. Room was beautiful, staff could not have been better and the wine and cheese time was perfect. We valet parked our car and did not use it again since the location is just perfect. You can walk everywhere. Highly recommend this hotel for a great relaxing get away!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qtr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Can't say enough ! The staff was so genuine and hospitable. The most romantic place to stay . Amazing quality and attention to detail . They do not cut any corners and the real wood burning fire place is a huge bonus! Definitely going back ! I've spent much more at "fancier" places that don't even come close to the level of genuine hospitality and comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jponce2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie D, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review about your recent stay at Spindrift Inn. We are lucky enough to have an amazing team that serves each guest genuinely and whose mission it is to provide an authentic and intimate experience. We truly try to pay attention to the small details and appreciate that you took notice. We hope that you will return to the Spindrift Inn soon.

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £158 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing