We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Yorba Linda, CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Spindrift In for one evening this past week on our way to Washington. The hotel is located on Cannery Row and the shoreline of Monterey Bay. Upon check-in, you are greeted by a valet, in our case Michael. Very nice and helpful young man. He brought our bags to the room, explained all of the room features, and parked my truck. By the way, they have a cheese, cracker and wine serving upon checking in in the late afternoon, early evening. Decent wine and good cheeses. If you have never been to Cannery Row in the evening, it is very noisy (in a good way) and active. Our room overlooked the road, which I would not recommend if you need to catch an early night's sleep. You can close the windows, but there is no a/c. If you need quiet, pay the extra and get a room on the other side of the building overlooking the bay. The room is relatively small, but comfortable. Two easy chairs and a wood burning fireplace, which would be great for a winter stay. An additional bonus is that there is a roof top deck with tables and chairs for relaxing during the happy hour. We actually enjoyed the busyness of the street and the many sea gulls....cover your head if walking in the morning. All in all, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The noise level from the street can be annoying until about 10:00 PM. If so, get a room over lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,447
    341
    89
    42
    26
See reviews for
190
1,368
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This place is really nice. Right on cannery row so good for bars and restaurants. Don't pay for valet parking because you can park on street for free nearby. We had a street view, which was good but the sea view was better. Only criticism is that the roof terrace is bare and should be developed as a bar. Stay for 3 nights.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ZebulonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Took our 14 year Granddaughter who says we have continued our "Wow" factor as grandparents. Stayed two nights and enjoyed the window seat to view the water as well as listening to the waves at night. The feather bed was cozy. Great service and hospitality by Renee and Cory who work the front desk. It was an amazing, restful weekend! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtremern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We were all delighted to read your review and very thankful that we were able to help keep that wow factor, which your granddaughter awarded you with! We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Renee and Cory. They will be ecstatic to hear from you. We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here about 10 years back and loved it then, and it is still a wonderful place to stay and come home rested and relaxed. This place is so comfy it is just like sleeping at home...awesome bed and pillows. Well designed rooms and clean. We stayed on the second floor balcony room, streetside. Open the doors and you hear all the sounds of daily life. Close the doors, it is so quiet and a pleasure to take an undisturbed late afternoon nap. The price is a bit higher than our regular hotel budget, but it is worth it! We arrived early 1.30 pm, checked in, left our luggage with the front desk, valet parked our car, and we left to have a wonderful lunch. At 2.30 the front desk called and informed us our room was ready and our luggage was in our room. Perfect! Checkout the next day was 12 noon. We left our car in the hands of the hotels valet parking for the rest of the day while we had lunch and shopped on Cannery Row. We returned back to the hotel picked up our car and headed home, no extra parking fees. We'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well kept and clean, perfect services, great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goosefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your amazing review. We love hearing that you consider us as your home away from home, as this is truly the Spindrift Inn experience we try to provide for our guests. We will be sure to pass on to our staff your thoughtful comments and want to thank you for recognizing their dedication and hard work. Should you return to Monterey in the future, the Spindrift Inn will be ready to welcome you back home for another memorable stay.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Everything about the hotel was nice, until you wanted to sleep. Then the loud hard rock music started, at 9pm, and lasted until midnight. It was VERY loud in the room, with the windows closed and the drapes drawn. So loud, sleep was out of the question. I put on a CD of soft music to cover up the noise, but couldn't hear it over the loud rock.

They had an odd item in their checkin documentation, that if you left before you registered departure date, you paid for it anyway. Now I know why -- anyone would leave after the first night; if they could.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are very appreciative of you taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your most recent stay at the Spindrift Inn. Comments from our guests are extremely important to us, as they provide our best opportunity to improve ourselves.

We were disappointed to find out that your stay was not entirely wonderful. Cannery row is a very vibrant environment and we are very sorry that the noise created a less than restful evening. In 2013, we did install double pane windows to create a more comfortable environment for our guests. Additionally, we employ on site security that are typically proactive about responding should they foresee noise from surrounding businesses going on beyond reasonable limits. They will initiate contact with the nearby businesses to resolve the noise disturbances. We are very sorry that there wasn’t any intervention earlier regarding the excessive noise that you encountered. We will certainly review with our onsite security team to try to prevent future disturbances.

Thank you again for your honest feedback, as it is vital to our continued improvement. We truly hope that you will consider returning to the Spindrift Inn, so that we might show you how dedicated we are to providing a wonderful Monterey experience.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

All the rooms have gas fired, wood burning fireplaces. We upgraded to an ocean view room. Very comfortable and nicely furnished. Window seat that ran the entire length of the windows which all opened wide. Sitting there, with the fire going, windows open with the waves lapping below with wine or coffee and a book is just pure heaven. Competent, friendly staff. The wine and snacks in the evening served in the lobby are a nice touch and also complimentary continental breakfast served in your room should you need it. The hotel is close to all that Monterey offers and a short ride to Pacific Grove and Carmel.
Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: The Cannery side rooms have balconies and look over the street which can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel follows environmentally friendly practices. Linens changed on request
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondiej2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent several days here just enjoying the locale. Walking distance to numerous restaurants and the aquarium. Although valet parking is expensive ($23 per day) it was necessary as parking is too difficult to find on the street. The continental breakfast is yummy - plentiful and wonderful. A different selection every day. The room we had was the one pictured at the top of these reviews and well worth it. We looked down on the beach and could open all the windows.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing