We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon at the Spindrift Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at the Spindrift Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Spindrift Inn was a one-night stop along our two week honeymoon traveling California. We loved our stay and were given a beautiful corner, window spread room. We chose to do the sailing package and had a great experience sailing with Captain Christian on a 2 hour private sunset cruise.
As we arrived to the Inn, we were greeted with a wine and cheese reception. The staff were a highlight. They were cheerful and incredibly helpful for any of our needs.
The room itself was very impressive. Besides air conditioning we had a ceiling fan and also a fireplace. Breakfast was served to our room complimentary. The bed was very comfortable with gorgeous linens. The bathroom was spacious and provided Aveda products.
The Inn is very centrally located, walking distance to the aquarium and many shops.
We visited the Mexican restaurant adjacent to the Inn and it was delicious! We also recommend the Cannery Row Brewery for pints and food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for sharing your honeymoon experience with us. We are beyond ecstatic that we were able to take part in such a special occasion and provide you with a memorable experience. Our Sailing Package is a spectacular adventure to take on together and we are so happy you thoroughly enjoyed it. We wish you all the best and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to California.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,434
    338
    86
    41
    26
See reviews for
185
1,359
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wonderful hotel for a couple of nights. Right on Cannery Row in Monterey as well as ocean view rooms. Very well priced for the area, but the building is showing some age. However, it is very clean and we thought the breakfast was nice. The staff was very friendly and eager to help. Parking is an extra cost and is by valet only and it does take about 5 minutes for them to get your car, it is not onsite. The biggest reason that we don't suggest a longer stay here will in Monterey.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view. The Cannery Row side has garbage pickup and food deliveries early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1001Randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a romantic getawy and I absolutely LOVED this hotel. Our room faced the ocean (which was a little more expensive) but WELL worth it!! We had a large glass window and we could open parts of it and hear the ocean waves all night. In addition to the great view, our room had a small couch and table facing the window, a fireplace, a very comfortable bed, smaller/older style bathroom, They offer breakfast which they bring to your room at the specific time that you request. In the evenings they offer complimentary wine and cheese which you can enjoy in your room or in the lobby area. They are located in the heart of Cannery Row and you can walk to all the local attractions and great restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask and pay for an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We were very pleased to find out that the Spindrift Inn was the perfect location for your romantic getaway and that you had the opportunity to stay in one of our ocean view rooms. We agree, there is nothing quite like listening to the ocean waves outside your window as you sleep. It is truly a magical experience. We can’t wait to welcome you back for another memorable couple’s getaway.

Sincerely
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a room right over the beach, it was beautiful. Breakfast, wine and cheese were included and very nice. Clean and very well presented, we will be back. The staff were very friendly & helpful. We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HatchetDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel has a superb location on Cannery Row and we have stayed here before. The view from our room of the bay was wonderful. Unfortunately, the rooms are a little tired (and we had their premier room) and the breakfast that is included is not what one would expect from a quality hotel. The staff are extremely nice and gracious. With a facelift and reduction in the "cutting corners" philosophy this could again be a premier hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tottot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review and for pointing out so many of the highlights of the Spindrift Inn. Our staff will be thrilled to hear your kind words, as they truly strive to offer our guests a memorable experience. We will certainly review your feedback regarding our breakfast selection and room decor with our management, as we are committed to providing our guests a premier experience. Thank you again for your honest feedback it is truly valued and will help us improve. We hope to have the opportunity to earn your 5 star review once again.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

From the location, to the staff, to the rooms - everything about The Spindrift Inn is perfect. This was my third visit - this time, I was surprised by a sauna in my room right in the middle of the action on Cannery Row. I like to call the bed a princess bed because that is what I feel like when I sleep in it. The chocolates on the pillow, the fireplace, the breakfast in bed on a silver tray - it does not get any better. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Both beach and Cannery Row provide amazing views - not a bad room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mokakween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We were all delighted to read your review regarding your magical experience at the Spindrift Inn. We hope all our guest get to experience the enchantment of our property as you did and want to thank you for continually choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back for another fairytale adventure.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Celebrated our anniversary here again. Our best wedding anniversaries have been celebrated here. They have cozy romantic rooms. We enjoy taking their wine and cheese reception (I also have tea) up onto their roof top. If we're lucky enough to get a room with a balcony it's a treat to enjoy our breakfast out on the balcony.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
What an honor it is to be a part of such a special occasion. Thank you for continually choosing to spend your anniversaries with us. We truly enjoy being able to provide our guests with memorable experiences that will last a lifetime. We all forward to being able to welcome you back for your next anniversary and many more to come!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing