We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2009

The hotel room (a corner king with ocean view) was beautiful. It had window seats and binoculars to watch the sea otters in the kelp. The fireplace and chairs were relaxing. The staff greeted us with wine that we took up to our room (we arrived during the complimentary wine and cheese reception). The breakfast delivered to the room in the morning was a nice, added touch. I highly recommend this hotel for couples.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valleyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,992)
There are newer reviews for Spindrift Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,715 - 1,721 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2009

We splurged here and were very grateful. Not a bad word to say. Lovely attentive staff (nothing is any trouble for them), beautiful room (get a sea view if poss, well worth it) in a superb location. The free cheese/wine is a very nice touch. The hotel itself is a new build, but inkeeping with the older buidlings.
No car park, but the valet service is excellent. No bar either, but hey, there's no shortage of those either.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

You will LOVE this place!!! Built in the '20's, it's an adorable, small hotel that sits directly on the beach. With a woodburning fireplace in our room & a comfy sitting area, we never even turned on the flatscreen TV. We fed seagulls from our windows that open over the beach and watched the waves crash in. They get so close, they could literally touch the building. We fell asleep to the sound of the ocean. Perfect!!! The beds are super fluffy with down comforters and pillows & they serve breakfast right to your room. The staff were all very professional and nice. Don't miss out on this place- even if you stay for just one night! It's a treasure!!! We WILL be back!

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Romanticanniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

I had a wonderful time at the hotel. The rooms were very romantic and cozy. I wanted to spend more time in the room. I wish I could of spent extra days there. I will stay there again on my next visit.
Our room was on the cannery row side. View is very nice, unfortunately the music from a tavern across the street is a bit loud. Had to shut the windows.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This was our second stay at the Spindrift and again had a wonderful experience. We had a wood burning fireplace room right on the water, with incredible views. It's right down the street from the aquarium and wonderful restaurants. The staff was really nice, great wine and cheese in the evening and a continental breakfast delivered in the morning. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djrbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Very classy room decor, spectacular Bay view with windows that opened to allow sea breezes and the sounds of surf, birds, and sea lions, especially comfy feather bed and linens, great fireplace and TV, nice wine/cheese reception in lobby, outstanding front desk and concierge service, tasty breakfast brought right to our room. Within walking distance of aquarium, cannery row, and many great restaurants (the Chart House was excellent). Couldn't have been more perfect for our 10th anniversary!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

On Cannery Row, but the best part was the service. They had wine and cheese for guests in the lobby (until 6 pm). We had a street side room, less expensive. It had a balcony (small) that overlooked the street. The room also had a wood burning fireplace and a built-in sauna. The room had wood floors.
The staff were very helpful. Each and everyone staff member we talked to, during our stay, seemed very concerned that we were taken care of. I have stayed at many very nice hotels and resorts, but never have seen better staff care.
It would be easy to convince us to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlccva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £160 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing