We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect..”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2010

This was a BEAUTIFUL hotel, the bed was amazing the room was one of the nicest we have stayed in and we have seen quite a few hotel rooms in our travels.
The majority of the service was unparralleled, Paul the valet was amazing as was the sweetest wine/ cheese hostess. We took our wine up the deck and enjoyed the sun each night.
The only thing is, if you stay in the hotel stay on the ocean side, we had a street view and were kept up until 3-4 am, if it weren't for the level of service they provide as well as the amazing bed it would have been horrible.
We had dinner at the Sardine Factory, would advise against, imagine it had it's day but the food was not worth the price at all. Would go again for a pre- dinner or post- dinner martini as the bartenders were awesome.
We traveled up a block to Lighthouse Street and had dinner at Hula's, it was AMAZING, would highly recommend.
We rented surrey's at the bike rental shop and went to Fisherman's Wharf one day then to Lover's Beach the other, great views!
We also took a surf lesson, if you are looking for a surf lesson Southbay Surf Riders is the ONLY way to go, we almost had a bad experience with another company and are so happy we went with Southbay, EXTREMELY professional, we had Adam and he made it really fun and a great learning experience!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firsttimertoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,663 - 1,669 of 2,002 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2010

I'm still not sure why the "comparable" hotels are more money. Here you can be on the ocean w/a fireplace in a massive comfy bed. Wine and snacks in the afternoon, breakfast and coffee delivered to your room all in the price. I just don't get it. We actually scoped out a few of the competitors and were underwhelmed. Here are the things I liked that I didn't see in other reviews.

The location is by Cannery Row, more crowded than downtown, I think, and a little more "touristy," but still only a 10-minute walk from Fisherman's wharf and Monterey has a great little walkway to follow. Across the street there's a bike rental place (rode to Carmel and back) and some really great restaurants (fantastic sushi at CrazyFish(?), Mexican food at Joses). There's also a spa called Body Suite a couple blocks away, overlooking the ocean, that is terrific and a better alternative to the "in room massage." Everything was in walking distance.

I was here for the Big Sur marathon. They put out bagels, bananas, coffee and water at 3 a.m. for those of us running. I also noticed that they are a little fanatical about vacuuming.

I read complaints about noise. I was there for a cool weekend and didn't notice anything beyond waves and seagulls. It was very easy to just lay there in the big bed and listen. I was also fascinated by the sea otters playing in the bay outside the window.

I wasn't a huge fan of the $18 daily parking fee and lack of on-site parking, but it worked out fairly well. I also hate being charged for internet, so I used the free internet in the lobby.

This is my first TripAdvisor review. A part of me wanted to be quiet to keep the secret to ourselves, but that would be wrong.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrm123abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

This hotel was fantastic. When we arrived we were greeted by name and the staff went out of their way to extend the wine and cheese reception for us. Paul, the best valet I have ever known, brought our bags up and then offered us an amazing dinner recommendation. He knew the city like the back of his hand and was even able to arrange a window-seat reservation for us on the spot.

The room was gorgeous. We had a king with a full ocean view, and it was complete with (among other amenities) a wood-burning fireplace, a darling window nook, a fluffed bed, and hardwood floors. It truly could not have been better.

Our stay was too short, but the staff was helpful at all times. We felt like royalty.

If you are looking for a romantic getaway, this place cannot be beat in Monterey. You will adore it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andywalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Our trip was amazing from the moment we stepped out of our car! The hotel guy (forgot his name) was there the moment we pulled up. Loaded our bags and we headed into the hotel. It was a quick check in and the same guy helped us to our room. He was so nice! The room was beautiful! Our favorite part was the bench window seat overlooking the beach. The fireplace added the extra special ombiance. So romantic! The windows open so you get the sound of the waves! The only thing I would change, we were in room 202 and we heard the music at night from the restaurant below. We will get a room on a higher level next time. Absolutely superb service! We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homew3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Wife and I had a great time. View was great!! Stay on the ocean side top story, you will love it. It was real nice to take a hot bath, then get into bath robe, sit by the widow and watch the seals, birds and otters play in the bay. Also, fireplace was the icing on the cake!
Wife and I have had a hard year. This Spindrift get away helped our marriage. You cant put a cost on that. Thank you for your service and we hope to see you again very soon!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The Spindrift Inn on Monterey's Cannery Row is a must for couples, whether on a simple leisure trip or in search of a romantic getaway.

The hotel is only 25 years old, but is nonetheless historic. The Spindrift Inn is built on the site of the Ocean View Hotel, which opened in 1927. The Ocean View hotel was a landmark in its time, operated by Chinese immigrant M.C. Wu.

As the Cannery Row area fell into disrepair during the early '60s, so did the hotel. It closed in 1966 and was demolished in 1983. In 1985, the 42-room Spindrift Inn was built on the site of the Ocean View. While the building is different, the views and the sounds of the ocean -- lapping waves and carping seagulls -- are timeless. Designed to evoke the charm and romance of a San Francisco boutique hotel, a standard ocean view room is beautifully appointed with wood floors, a lush four-poster bed with a feather bed (probably THE most comfortable we've ever slept it!), a wood-burning fireplace stocked with logs (and instructions for starting a fire), and marble floors and counter top in the bathroom.

The rooms also offer the usual amenities we expect today: Internet access, flat-screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, and hair dryer. The Spindrift Inn includes mini-bars stocked with non-alcoholic treats; alcoholic beverages are available upon request. Rooms have a CD player and several CDs to choose from. Ocean view rooms include binoculars to provide a better view of the scenery.

A continental breakfast is delivered to the room at the time the guests request, and a wine and cheese reception is offered from 4:00 to 6:00 each afternoon.

The servive is excellent -- from check-in to bell/valet service to the team that delivers the breakfast to housekeeping, all made us feel like honored guests.

While there is no "on-site" restaurant, there are at least a dozen eateries ranging from chains to outstanding local establishments within a couple of blocks' walk. And with its location right on Cannery Row, visitors will surely find something to suit their taste in very short order.

How romantic is the Spindrift Inn? While just passing through on our road trip, we were so captivated by its charm that we opted to stay a second night, and may have stayed longer if rooms had been available.

We definitely recommend the Spindrift Inn, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TheTravelPro_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed for one night at spindrift inn in a non ocean facing room on the fourth floor. The experience was amazing. The location of the hotel excellent. You can just walk down to beach at the back of the hotel. Also there is a beautiful garden on the roof with ocean views. Room was extremely cozy with a personal fireplace and big screen TV. We did not have any issues with noise. The complimentary breakfast served in the room was great. Overall we had a very pleasant stay, staff was very helping. We highly recommend this hotel.
Downside: Parking for 18 dollars is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £158 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing