We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I was attending Skip Barber's three day race car driving school at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and we needed a place to stay with an easy drive to the track and in an area where my wife could walk to attractions and shopping. Found Spindrift online and reviews on Trip Advisor were helpful in making a final decision. We had a third floor corner room on ocean side which was beautifully decorated - canopy bed (very comfortable), a wood burning fireplace (weather was chilly so we had a fire going daily), large flat screen TV, two comfortable wing back chairs, built-in seating under windows and a small table and two chairs for dining. There was also a writing desk and large closet with built in drawers. The room was a tad crowded due to the large wing backed chairs but we didn't mind because they were so comfortable. We left the windows ajar in order to hear the sound of the waves each night. Bathroom was large and updated with tub/shower combo. What made this hotel a great value was the included continental breakfast brought to our room each morning and the wine, crackers and cheese available in the small but comfortable lobby each day from 4-6PM at no charge. Unfortunately,the weather was not good enough for us to enjoy the roof top garden area. ALL staff were friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed Juliet who generously served the wine and cheese daily. She proudly told us about the additions and renovations the hotel had made within the last couple of years and showed us the Trip Advisor Award (a trophy) that Spindrift recently received. The only downside was the daily charge for Internet access. We highly recommend this unique hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,990)
There are newer reviews for Spindrift Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,626 - 1,632 of 1,990 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2010

We got the ocean view, but they put us next to the elevator. Very noisy. We asked the next day and they moved us up some floors, and away from the elevator, and the rooms away from the atrium are bigger! This second room was VERY nice, made the trip worthwhile.

Don't get room x05 on the ocean view side, get x02 or x06. We moved from 205 to 402.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RabbitDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Stayed here for our anniversary. The hotel is beautiful, clean rooms with outstanding service from start to finish. The in room breakfast was nice and the wine and cheese was cozy and quaint. The only negative was I had to circle the block three times until a spot in front of the hotel opened up for me to stop and park for the valet service. Other than that I can't say anything bad!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDaddy458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My daughter said it was a queen's room, and it was! From the moment we checked in until the moment we picked up the valet-parked car, I FOR ONCE, felt like a queen. You just don't get this kind of service anymore and I couldn't get enough. We can't wait to go back, but this time stay longer! As my kids say, somewhere between 3 and 100 days! Enjoy, we certainly did... and traveling with two little ones (5 and 7) isn't always easy... but Spindrift made me feel important! Plus, such an easy (and safe) walk to the Aquarium... hurray!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank has-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I had no idea that we would be staying in such an awesome location. Ask for a blacony view - it's unbelievable. We were short walk from everything and the accomodations were so plush I was blown away. The staff was amazingly attentive and the complimentary room service breakfast was a super touch. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChismMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

My husband and I spent our 10 year anniversary at the Spindrift and I intend to make this hotel a new ritual. The room was charming and beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had hoped for a relaxing, getaway and that is exactly what we got. We found the hotel has a roof deck. We spent evenings up there with a full view of the ocean. It also has direct beach access for the daytime. There are many little shops within walking distance and a free trolley that took us to Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. It was a wonderful vacation. Every couple should go!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlznbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Stayed here for one night in May - mainly to visit excellent aquarium a couple of minutes walk away. Cannery Row room was excellent for sitting on the balcony watching the world go by. Room was clean and comfortable, although not huge. Complimentary cheese and wine in evening was great way to meet and chat to other guests, and wine was of better quality than that being sold by the glass in winery outlets on the Row. Breakfast was adequate- we ate ours sitting on the balcony, which was a great way to start the day.
Only complaint was that neither of us found the bed comfortable- would be better removing the huge mattress topper- but that is a personal choice kind of thing

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubadiver5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £161 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing