We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Awesome Service, but too expensive”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Clarksburg, md
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel, Awesome Service, but too expensive”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed at the inn for 2 days in September and overall really enjoyed our stay there. We were in the room facing cannery row, with a fireplace. The room was extremely clean and my fiancée loved the fireplace. The breakfast service is really nice, just wish they offered more choices.

The place charges $18 for parking, but there is a daily parking for $5 a day within 2 min walk. The rooms facing cannery row gets really loud during early morning with trucks. So if you are lite sleeper like me, you will have a hard time sleep.

I would recommend this hotel to people who want to stay between everything, but next time i would prefer to stay somewhere that is a little less expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,447
    341
    89
    42
    26
See reviews for
190
1,368
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2010

This is a very high quality hotel with extremely comfortable rooms and great service.
Breakfast is served in your room,the rooms are really luxurious and the beds are very
comfortable.
The hotel occupies the best position in town,Cannery Row to the front and the Pacific to the rear.
Parking is off site(valet parking) and is charged extra to the hotel charge but is quite
reasonable compared to local parking fees.
Our room overlooked Cannery Row which was very interesting and not too noisey.
There are plenty of good restaurants and other attractions in walking distance and some
fantastic places to visit by car.
Whatever you do don't miss the 17 mile drive,it costs about $10 but it was the best $10
we spent,fantastic coastal scenery and a visit to the famous Pebble Beach golf club en route.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pailsilver675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We spent two nights at the Spindrift in their ocein view king room. The experience was fantastic. The view is beautiful. The feather quilts and bed were comfortable. The gardens on top of the roof is great for the 4-6 pm cheese and wine. The fireplace kept the room cozy, and we cranked the casement windows open in the mornings to listen to the ocein sounds. The only thing i didn't care for was the $18 a day charge for valet parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sturgisfxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We really enjoyed this hotel on Cannery Row in Monterey. The room was extremely comfortable and the wine and cheese reception every night was a nice bonus. The staff was very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

For a guy traveling with his wife or girlfriend, finding a romantic place to stay has benefits. As I've learned over the years, "romantic" to my wife encompasses much more than simply romantic. It means incredible bed, great view and ambience, hyper cleanliness--you get the picture. The Spindrift Inn scored highly in all those areas. We listened to the seagulls at night as we enjoyed the wood-burning fireplace. Our room was plenty large and had hardwood floors. Wine and cheese at four in the lobby was a nice touch. The location can't be beat; central to Cannery Row and its shops. Starbucks is a half-block away. We thought the ocean side was worth the extra dollars. The staff was really friendly, and we appreciated all of Marlene's help in particular. This is a quality place to stay--take it from the guy with the picky wife.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMonkeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here for a night to celebrate my birthday and we are sure glad that we chose Spindrift Inn! From the moment we walked in, we felt at home. The staff was sincerely glad to help us...from getting our room ready a little early since we arrived before check-in, to giving us recommendations to various restaurants based on our interests. My boyfriend mentioned to Allison at the front desk that we were visiting for my birthday and she sent up a card and bottle of wine to our room! I thought that was very much above and beyond for her to do.

Our room was absolutely charming! We got a corner Cannery Row room, but were still able to hear the sounds of the ocean through our windows, which we were actually able to leave open all night due to the wonderful weather. Unbelievably plush beds! The window seats are a great place to sit while drinking coffee in the comfy robes that are provided by the hotel. I very much enjoyed doing so early in the morning and watching the sun come up over the water...beautiful! The wine and cheese service was also a great compliment to our stay. There was white or red wine to choose from and wonderful platters of various cheeses, crackers, and fruit which were constantly being replenished. The staff was more than eager to pour the wine for us when they weren't otherwise occupied. It was nice to chat with other visitors, but we really enjoyed taking our wine to the rooftop to enjoy the view. Breakfast served to our room at the time of our choosing was a great way to end our stay.

We will definitely be staying here again and again and again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2010

How to start with so many good things to say. First off, my Fiance and I stayed here for her birthday, a short 3 night getaway in Monterey. We wanted to be in the room we booked so I specifically choose a hotel with larger rooms, a fireplace and a good view.

We were extremely excited when we arrived. Our greeting and check in was amazing and swift. I had arranged for strawberries and champagne to be in the room when we arrived, it was and because I let them know about the special occasion they placed us in an excellent room, top floor on the corner. Strawberries were amazing, from Rocky Mountain Chocolates across the street, and the champagne was alright but I was not expecting top of the line champagne.

Our room had an amazing view of the bay and cannery row. We opened the windows and did not close them until we left 3 days later. The fireplace was a great feature, wood burning, which I prefer over a gas fireplace. And then we sat and laid down on the bed. Words cannot describe how comfortable the bed and pillows were. Our robes that were in the room were warm and extremely comfortable.

We were in a great location as well, the hotel being right on Cannery Row and within walking distance to about 10 eating choices, the mirror maze, the aquarium and tons of shops. Our room within the hotel was also in a great location, on the corner near the outside exit with quick access to the rooftop garden, near the firewood supply and down the stairs to the street.

All of the service staff was excellent. Front Desk was very attentive and gave us some great suggestions for restaurants. As well, whenever we came and went they always asked how things went, how we were and if we needed anything. The bell/valet staff we excellent and were quick about bringing the car around or helping if we had any problems.

Now we had a few minor complaints. First, with the windows open the noise from the beach in the morning did wake us and the first night a homeless man was sleeping on the beach under our room. Not a big deal being on the 4th floor but if I was lower would have been a problem. Second, Sergio at the front desk was the odd apple of the bunch. Not as polite in person and very short on the phone. Third, Breakfast is delivered to the room every morning. Excellent feature to have, although the food was mediocre. My problem was that no matter when I asked for the food to be delivered, they gave 15 minute windows between 6 and 10, it always showed up about 15-20 minutes earlier then I had asked. Fourth, parking is easy, all valet, just pull up to the curb. But, since it was mandatory valet and the hotel has no onsite parking you have an $18 a day charge for parking. A little much considering as a guest you have no other options. And finally, yes the hotel was a little pricey. You did have alot of great amenities and the weekday AAA advance purchase rate was reasonable, the weekend price was way up there.

Overall, if you are looking for a great place to relax or for a special occasion, this is definitely a place I would recommend. I would go back tomorrow if I could get the rime off work.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismckennato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Thank you very much for your comments; we appreciate all of our guests’ feedback, and consider it of immense value and significance to our business.

First of all, it is always gratifying when the effort we put into our service, the cleanliness of our hotel, and the maintenance of our rooms is acknowledged. Thank you very much for ranking those highly. We love every opportunity we get to help people celebrate, and we pride ourselves on being a hotel of comfort, luxury, and above all else, romance.

We regret that this otherwise wonderful stay was marred by some shortfalls on our behalf. Regarding the homeless on the beach, we have contacted the city and have been assured that McAbee Beach will be patrolled by law-enforcement. Our staff member that fell short of expectation has also been spoken to, and action will be taken to make sure all of our employees treat those staying with us like welcome guests in our home.

As for parking, because of our hotel’s location on Cannery Row, we do not have an onsite parking garage. To that end we offer valet parking. However, we do not insist that guests use that service; there is a public parking garage a block away, as well as metered street parking that our guests are more than welcome to use should they prefer. The fee that we charge goes toward our efforts to create a secure environment for our guests; night security guards, cameras, and other features.

Should any guest have an issue that they would like to speak directly to a manager about, please do not hesitate to give us a call.
Thank you again; all comments and feedback are greatly appreciated.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing