We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection: ocean view, great staff, wood burning fire, room service breakfast, free wine & cheese”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I can't say enough good things about the Spindrift. This boutique hotel is set right on Cannery Row, and above the beach. Spend the extra money for an oceanside room and sleep to the sound of the waves crashing below.

We were welcomed immediately by Patrick, the valet/bellman, and he was incredibly friendly and accommodating. (Valet costs the same as self-parking, so might as well go for that if you're going to spend the $20.) Our room was gorgeous: roomy, bay window with nothing but water in front of us, gas fireplace (that burns cedar wood, which they provide), cozy antique-ish furniture, huge bathroom and a comfortable bed.

We spent a lot of time in the room, and I wish we'd been there at least 2 nights! Wonderful home away from home.

Other perks: free wine and cheese from 4-6 and free room service breakfast (pastries, cereal, fruit, etc.) and great location, right on Cannery Row.

We had a wonderful time. If the opportunity presents itself again, we'll spend a few days there!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGT720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,556 - 1,562 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2010

The hotel had a bottle of sparkling cider in an ice bucket with two goblets and a lovely card to mark her birthday. They gave us a corner room with a wrap around balcony. Service was excellent as usual and the staff friendly and accommodating.

There are now several choices in luxury hotels on or around Cannery Row but the Spindrift continues to be my favorite.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFJeweler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stayed at the Spindrift Inn for one night for my wife's birthday and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location, about a five minute walk away from the aquarium and very close to all the other restaurants and shops on Cannery Row. The staff was very courteous and friendly, the wine and cheese tasting was a nice touch, and the continental breakfast delivered to the room was nice as well. In addition, the bed was very, very comfortable and we slept very soundly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akeefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Make sure the Fireplace flu works without having smoke filling the room. Continental breakfast a little on the weak side. Not real warm and fuzzy peope. Trip was ruined when smoke filled two rooms, moved to a thrid.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassiefromlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed at the Sprindrift on our babymoon after spending three nights in San Francisco. What a great decision! It could not have been more relaxing or romantic. We wanted a place to be calm and unwind, but the Sprindrift was much more. The staff was fantastic--willing to help with anything and always genuinely happy to talk with us. There is also complimentary wine and cheese available in the evenings. Check out the top terrace for views and relaxation, too, but watch out for any seagulls who want to share your cheese plate. The in-room wood burning fireplace was one of our favorite amenities. Absolutely wonderful. We spent nearly all our time in our room/on our balcony. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

My wife and I spent a few days in San Francisco and Monterey for our 25th anniversary. We could not have been happier with our room at Spindrift Inn. It is close to attractions (Aquarium, shopping, etc) and was a pleasant drive to 17 Mile Drive and Big Sur. The Inn itself is very customer focused (something some of the other hotels I have been at lately could stand to learn) and the staff was always prompt when anything at all was needed. The breakfast in the room was nothing extravagant, but it hit the spot and was always on time. The room had been refurbished in the not too distant past and was very nice. Although the bedding was not my favorite, my wife is still raving about it (matter of taste I guess). I would not hesitate to recommend it to a friend or family member. We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P38Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed at the Inn over the Thanksgiving weekend and it was perfect. We stayed in a deluxe king room. The room was so bright and airy with the corner window seat located on the top floor. It was so nice to sit there and look out over the bay. We say seals, otters, pelicans and cormorants during our stay. It was also a great place to eat your breakfast that is delivered to your room. We found it was a
great way to start the day. We had cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins and coffee cake, juice and coffee, your morning paper is also included. When you return to the Inn in the afternoon you are greeted with wine, cheese, fresh fruit and coffee. You can enjoy this in the lobby or take it back to your room or up to the roof terrace which has chairs and Loungers. In the evening there is nothing more relaxing than opening your window to listen to the sea while sitting in front of your own fireplace. I would definitely recommend the Spindrift to anyone looking for a relaxing and romantic stay. I would make a couple of suggestions and that is 1. WIFI should be included as most upscale do, and 2. Have an umbrella in each room for guests to use if it's raining as you must go out to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philly413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £154 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing