We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for better at the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Ranked #34 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better at the price”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent staff, attractive exterior, room was in good condition, nicely decorated and appointed. Loved the bathroom. Included Wi-Fi, microwave and mini-fridge and very good breakfast. Good location and reasonable price. When we travel (about 200 nights per year) we generally look for "budget" lodgings and if I could consistently find places like this one I would be very happy. I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: We had room 114, one queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Specialklc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Comfort Inn – Monterey Bay. I have passed along your kind compliments of the staff and they thank you! Our complimentary hot breakfast has so many options; fresh fruit, yogurt, hot waffles and so much more! We know you have many options to choose from when you travel. Thank you for choosing our hotel Specialklc!

I am delighted to hear that we will see you again!
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    166
    102
    20
    9
See reviews for
136
170
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Furniture was new, the room had a nice view with trees outside the window. Size of the room was also appropriate. Breakfast area was a bit tight, and selection was fine.

For the cost, it was a good deal.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hakan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hakan:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad that we were able to provide you with a great value at our Comfort Inn. We look forward to serving you on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel is very nice. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and well appointed. Jacuzzi didn't have knobs on tub 1, and could have been warmer, but it was still relaxing. Stephanie at the front desk is AWESOME! Very friendly, welcoming, always asking if we needed anything to make our stay better. Liked the chairs around the property where you could sit and relax outside and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: This is not in the downtown area, so restaurants are few, but the Italian restaurant up the street w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evrgrnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Evrgrmom:

So glad that you were able to relax and "see the world go" by while you relaxed at our hotel. We hope that you get another chance in the near future to take a quick getaway to Monterey soon. I will share your kind words with my team. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stephanie was fantastic in greeting us and making sure our stay was enjoyable. Her friendly and outgoing personality made our experience an enjoyable one after a difficult but beauitful drive up the coast line from San Simeon. She made sure we got the best room available for our stay. ( My wife and I agreed that she was the best front desk person we had ever encountered at a Choice Hotel over the years traveling across the USA . Room was fine , breakfast was a bit late as the door was locked and the start time was later than other hotels.
A long line formed outside the breakfast room... after the desk clerk was notified ,she promptly opened the breakfast door ...then a few minutes later a college golf team (15 young men ) stormed the food buffet area making it difficult to enjoy the breakfast due to the comotion. Nothing unusual for a large group with a schedule, but they should open a bit earlier for people traveling on to space out the breakfast traffic.

Room Tip: Go to back area for a quiet stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbyrd1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Jim:


Thank you for your feedback as it helps improve upon our services. I am so glad that you received the Best reception ever. I will share your kind words with Stephanie. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

As a frequent traveler, my recent stay with my wife was the first time we have encountered cockroaches in a hotel in North America. On our second night we found and caught a cockroach in the bathroom near our toiletries. Upon discovery my wife was too afraid to use the bathroom for the rest of our stay. We could actually hear them running across the tile floors from our bed. In addition, cockroach feces was clearly visible on the white tiles of the bathroom floor the next morning. Upon checkout I reported the cockroaches to the front desk which indicated they would contact me to compensate for the unpleasant stay. Never received a response.

Our stay: 2 nights in a non-smoking queen bed room

Pros:
- free wifi that works
- breakfast included (sausage, scrambled eggs, make your own waffles)
- short 5 minute drive to Fisherman Wharf, near Highway 1

Cons:
- tiny room, about 1-2 feet of room around bed is the entire room
- thin walls - can hear neighbors talking and bathroom schedule, birds at 6am, cars
- tiny usable closet space
- dirty blanket
- orange and apple juice at breakfast was undrinkable
- loud heating unit

Sleep rating: 4/10, good pillows (can choose firmness), ok mattress, poor blanket (dirty and thin), noisy

Shower rating: 6/10, low flow shower head with acceptable pressure

Conclusion: Don't stay here unless you like cockroaches

Room Tip: avoid room 126, cockroach sighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pinter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Pinter7:

We appreciate your feedback as it helps improve upon the service that we strive to provide to all our guests. We apologizes for any inconvenience caused to you and hope that you give us another chance when visiting Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Un-professional staff. Room was ok (needed maintenance and stained blanket) Breakfast presentation unappetizing. Main issue was 2 pit bulls ran out of room next door and charged my husband while we were unloading car. Contacted Front Desk (seemed indifferent) .Few minutes later got call from room of dog owners telling me dogs were friendly, are we cool , do you want a beer. People in parking lot all night. Not a good start of our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Tammy:

Thank you for taking the time to post a survey. I do want to apologies for the issues with the dogs. We do have designated pet friendly rooms and pet policies in place so as to not inconvenience our guests not traveling with pets.

We do value your feedback and will certainly use this to improve upon our services.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
306 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This review is for the Comfort Inn that is on North Fremont Street in Monterey. There are two others in Monterey.

Not much to report except the 2 outdoor jacuzzis and a (broken) Sauna, a clean room with huge bathroom and comfortable bed. Both sides are adjacent to busy streets, could be noisy for some light sleepers.

Of course it's a motor inn next to 10 others in N Fremont Street - I think this one has best value. OK for 1 or 2 nights on the road down to L.A. or S.F.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Joe:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you found us to be a good value during your trip to California.
We hope you visit Monterey again in the near future and we look forward to having you stay with us on your return trip.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport
0.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#35 of 56 in Monterey
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Address: 2050 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in Monterey, Comfort Inn Monterey Bay offers clean and comfortable rooms that include a free hot breakfast serving eggs,sausage,hot freshly made waffles in 2 flavors, fresh fruit,cereals, pastries and much more.Free WIFI. Micro/Fridge in all rooms. Walk to restaurants. Minutes to Fisherman's wharf, Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row. Within 2 miles to beaches and golf. Call hotel for additional information on our Package offers such as the Aquarium package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing