We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Days in Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The travelodge in downtown Monterey is a great place to stay. Clean comfortable room. Center located to just about everthing you would need to walk around Monterey. Greg Smith and his staff are fantastic, aways ready to be of service. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Thank you for the great comments about our location being walking distance to just about everything in Monterey. Our housekeeping department is excellent and your comments about your room being clean reveals their attention to detail. The fact that you stayed 10 days for your vacation
here really gives us and others valuable insight into the basic reasons why folks like us...location,
amenities and price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for The Stevenson Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel for the Monterey Jazz Festival. We are very pleased with the location because we can walk to the shuttle stop and have access to restaurants nearby w/o having to take the car. This hotel meets our bacsic needs and is very conveniet to the festival. We plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank jazzyretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for your comments and for being a return Monterey Jazz Festival guest. We appreciate all your comments and look forward to improving your experience on each return. We have recently added a higher speed internet bandwidth and are currently improving our pool area. We look forward to your return next year and invite you to communicate on Trip Advisor and with us directly as well on our brand website Trip Advisor is right next our property name.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here for a night during our 2 week road trip around california. Its not in a bad location, about a 20 minute walk to the wharf and the marina (add an extra 15 to cannery row) but next to a main road which can get noisy. The room was a bit dingy for such a bright place but as we were only sleeping here one night we didnt really mind. The bed was comfy and the bathroom clean. Plenty of space in the car park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for your overall positive review! We are the closest economy-priced lodge to downtown Monterey and Fisherman's Wharf. We are 4 blocks to Monterey Beach and 1.9 miles to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our rooms were redecorated in 2009 with new furniture, carpeting, curtains and a completely new top of bed. The tile floors in the bathroom are newer and we have free parking, a free continental breakfast and free wi-fi. Our Pillowtop beds are considered highly comfortable by our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here for 1 night while exploring the Monterey area and Aquarium during a business trip. Hotel prices are high now during July in Monterey and we were not planing on spending much time in the room.
The hotel is in a good central location of downtown Monterey. The hotel looks fairly ugly from the outside right behind a gas station but we had a good nights sleep in our room there and a decent little breakfast. The rooms where as nice and modern as a Travelodge type budget hotel probably can be. Small room and bathroom but efficient. The bed was a big surprise. Very comfortable and good quality mattress and pillows. We stayed at a Marriott property the next night and the beds were actually comparable. If you are looking for an affordable room in Monterey and will not spend much time at the hotel this is a good choice. Very friendly service at the front desk by the owner. Staying here allowed us splurging on lunch at the Inn at Spanish Bay/ Pebble Beach and a good upscale seafood dinner at Schooner inside the Monterey Plaza Hotel. The only negative was that when we got back to the hotel after dinner there was not one parking spot in the underground parking lot or hotel parking lot. We had to find parking on a side street away from the hotel. This was annoying since free parking was part of the hotel offerings we liked when we decided on this hotel.

Room Tip: Request upstairs room otherwise your window will look out to the parked cars and it will be much noi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Munichchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Your positive comments are much appreciated! We will see you the next time you stay in Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed in the Downtown Travelodge for one night as part of a two week trip around California and out of all the hotels we stayed in this was my least favourite. The surrounding area wasnt particularly pleasant and neither were the rooms. The pool was tiny and overlooking the main road and the carpark. Not very appealing!!
Location wasnt particularly great for what we wanted, nothing was really in walking distance except Denny's and a Gas Station!
The man behind reception was however very friendly and pleasant and was happy to help with enquires that we had.
If I were to return to Monterey again i'd definately choose different accomodation!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayleybailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for a review that compliments our front desk. I would like to note that we have over 45 restaurants within 3 blocks, Fisherman's Wharf is a flat, 12 minute walk away and all of Monterey's Historic Adobes with their beautiful gardens are on that same path. The Monterey Bay Aquarium Shuttle is 2 blocks away and runs every 10 minutes all day long. We have free wi-fi, free continental breakfast, Pillow top beds and have been recently refurbished with the help of a talented designer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms/4 adults for last minute weekend trip to Monterey in end of June.

Very short walk to restaurants, bars and shops. Since we were checking out on our day to the aquarium we drove to cannery row instead of catching the free trolley. I imagine the walk there would take 15-20 minutes- and be lovely. Wish we stayed two nights so we could have enjoyed the pool as it looked fun. Small, but not crowed. And 8 feet deep!

Happily surprised with room quality. Updated room, comfy bed and adjoining doors to rooms. Carpet felt recently shampooed and was a little damp so we wore sandals in the rooms until it dried. Iron smelled musty so check that before stinking up clothes.

Friendly staff and decent continental breakfast of juices, coffee, baked goods, yogurt, cereal, fruit and boiled eggs.

Free underground parking and staff informed us of additional parking if lot was full (due to being 100% booked) which it was not.

Will add this to my Monterey rotation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrysina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. The pool is now heated to 81 degrees
and July 4th in Monterey is great witha parade, 3 bands on City Hall lawn
and all justt a few blocks away. Wish you could have stayed. Craig Smith, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

They are all very friendly, and helpful. The rooms are just what you need, and the beds are very comfortable. Does what it says on the tin. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

We appreciate your kind comments and positive words. Our staff works hard to give great service, at a good value in one of the best locations in downtown Monterey. We look forward
to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#20 of 56 in Monterey
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,453 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £58 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing