We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for nearly a week , we were on the top floor , lovely room for the price and the staff were excellent , very friendly and helpful. I would defiantly stay again. Very central to downtown and the bus station if you want to head anywhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diarmuidthemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
We appreciate your positive, kind comments. All of our staff does do a great job! Our location
for ease of walking to everywhere in Monterey is truly unequaled for the value. We certainly welcoome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    260
    139
    39
    27
See reviews for
172
282
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Although a little dated and when you first walk in a slightly fusty smell, this hotel was clean and we had a good sized room. The staff were friendly and the complimentary breakfast and parking were a bonus. We were able to walk to the local restaurants and fisherman's wharf from the hotel. Although next to the road and petrol station we didn't hear any noise.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellerH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for a 4 star review. Our staff does a great job at keeping everything clean and working.
We do check every room everyday. We have renovated all guest rooms in the last several years.
Being close to 40+ restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf and the beach, we have an ideal location
to help all discover Monterey on foot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Affordable with pleasant staff, however, the stains on the chair and the carpet in our room made us feel uneasy. The room had been cleaned nicely but the stains were unsettling. The last bathroom update was obviously many years ago with cultured marble counter and yellow tile. I really think that anyone in the obese category would have trouble using the shower, etc in the small bathroom. We were on the 2nd floor.
The parking is limited and one must not have a large vehicle to navigate either the underground garage or the few available spaces ground level. Come in a small vehicle or on a motorcycle. Our mid-sized SUB was a tough fit.
Easy walking distance to many things. Great staff. Quieter than you'd think given its location above a gas station at a 3-way intersection but the A/C fan provided good white noise. Ok mattress.
One is in Monterey for a variety of excursions so hanging in a motel is not high on anyone's agenda. This one will suffice for a brief stay but don't expect anything but most basic amenities like hair dryer, ironing board, coffee pot. They did have a safe. No m/w; no fridge. The toilet paper roll spare had a flower made out of toilet paper on it. Really, it did. We opted for Denny's over the breakfast offerings due to bad coffee and carbs. Saw the pool used twice in the AM so wondered if it was heated or just brave people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txmagca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thanks for a review that found us affordable with a helpful staff. We apologize that there were any stains in your room and we are attending to that immediately. We have 13 parking places on the ground level and over 27 spots in the garage with a 6'4" clearance. Our pool is now heated and is heated from Easter until the end of October. Our bathrooms all have new floors and fixtures and on the third floor we have all newly redecorated bathrooms and guest rooms. All rooms were completed in the last 3/4 years and were designed by a designer. Queen pillowtop beds are in every room and are found to be very comfortable by even the most discerning of our guests. Any amenities beyond shampoo, conditioner and lotion can be found at the front desk for free. Half or our rooms and all of our 2 bedded rooms have refrigerators. The coffee and tea is available 24 hours in the lobby and the continental breakfast does include hard boiled eggs and yogurt, as well as waffles,muffins and more. We do have 40+ restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf and Monterey Beach all within a short walk. Our staff takes great pleasure in giving a concierge style approach to all your questions and needs. We do have a great location from which to discover Monterey on foot. No other lodges are this close to all of downtown Monterey. Our Amana A/C's were installed in 2006 and many properties do not have A/C. Please feel free to come and visit us again. WE do have many repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#17 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Property: The Stevenson Monterey
Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing