We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Majid A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, it's a very clean hotel, our room was spacious and certainly large enough for the 2 of us and our hefty luggage, my only negative would be the slightly dated decor and a slight scent of a retirement home.
The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Monterey, it's certainly within walking distance of downtown Monterey and Old Fisherman's Wharf a large retail park is also within walking distance although slightly uphill. Cannery Row and Pacific Grove are also close by although some may consider more of a short drive rather than a longer walk.
Overall I was more than happy with our stay at the hotel and would certainly recommend it as a base to explore Monterey and it's surroundings.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for a very good 4 star review. We appreciate you stayed 2 nights and found us clean and spacious. You loved our lcoation which is our greatest selling point and realized you could explore Monterey on foot. Thank you for recommending us and we will see you on your next visit to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

stayed there for one night on our trip along the PCH. Huge rooms, well furnished. Motel is a bit aged but well kept. Found everything in good condition. Wifi was ok. Parking on prenise seems to be difficult though we did not during peak season. The elevator moves very slow but that's a minor problem. We did not try the pool.
Especially our little daughter enjoyed the breakfat served in the office. cosy atmosphere. joghurts, muffins, toast, waffles an juice. We did not regret our choice to stay here. Recommended!

Room Tip: try Henry's BBQ for excellent food in a cosy atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flomaxbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We appreciate the 5 star review. You liked our huge rooms, evertthing worked including wi-fi,
cozy atmoshphere in lobby/breakfast room for an enjoyable continental breakfast. And you did not regret your choice to stay here and you would recommend it. Thank you and come again
to Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for nearly a week , we were on the top floor , lovely room for the price and the staff were excellent , very friendly and helpful. I would defiantly stay again. Very central to downtown and the bus station if you want to head anywhere.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Diarmuidthemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

We appreciate your positive, kind comments. All of our staff does do a great job! Our location
for ease of walking to everywhere in Monterey is truly unequaled for the value. We certainly welcoome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Mr Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Manager at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Although a little dated and when you first walk in a slightly fusty smell, this hotel was clean and we had a good sized room. The staff were friendly and the complimentary breakfast and parking were a bonus. We were able to walk to the local restaurants and fisherman's wharf from the hotel. Although next to the road and petrol station we didn't hear any noise.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TravellerH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for a 4 star review. Our staff does a great job at keeping everything clean and working.
We do check every room everyday. We have renovated all guest rooms in the last several years.
Being close to 40+ restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf and the beach, we have an ideal location
to help all discover Monterey on foot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#29 of 56 in Monterey
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £58 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing