We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights in late November. The hotel is a great value with very nice location. It was very close to Alvarado street near all the restaurants and a short drive from Cannery Row/Fisherman's Wharf.

A few drawbacks:
-You can hear a lot of noises at night, especially sea lions, which can be annoying, but then again, you are near the coast
-We were charged for the use of the safety box (which is ridiculous, and they didn't even tell us during check-in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surf_golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank for the comments that we have a great location and value and are close to lots of restuarants and a short drive to Cannery Row.We are a 12 minute walk from Frisherman's Wharf. During the Memorial to Labor Day season we have a free shuttle 2 blocks away to Cannery Row and Pacific Grove! We apologize you did not realize that there is a $1.50 charge for the safe. That information is right below your signature on the registration card and every front desk person should point that out to you verbally. As always we do have a free continental breakfast, free wi-fi and free parking for your convenience and pleasure. Please come agiain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This motel does what it claims -provides convenient, comfortable affordable accommodation. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and my room was clean and in good condition. Overall, the condition is good, although not super modern, everything looks neat and recently painted and maintained.

It is a short walk from Alvarado street which has several restaurants and about ten minutes from the Fisherman's Wharf.

Breakfast and wireless internet were included, so value was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rveeaytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Guest Relations Manager at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for a great review with 5 stars on cleanliness, service and value! As you stated we are convenient, comfortable and affordable. You said we looked neat and are recently painted and
maintained and you liked our wi-fi and breakfast. Close to Fisherman's Wharf and a short walk to the main street, Alvarado. We hope you will return soon and join our gowing family of repeat guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I love the town of Monterey, and chose to stay at the Travelodge since their price was one of the best in the area. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were relatively small compared to other Travelodges and similar hotels I have stayed in before, but that was not unexpected given the hotel's overall size which is also rather small. Parking downstairs was easy, and the bed was very comfortable. I recommend getting to breakfast early, since the space is small and can get crowded.

The hotel has features that have clearly not been updated in a very long time (50's-ish style shower), but if you are looking for a very comfortable and affordable place to crash while visiting in the Monterey area, this hotel is a great value.

Room Tip: Request early for a double bed room, they fill up quickly since this is a very small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventursaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank for your review and pointing our very competitive price with friendly and helpful staff.
We have upgraded all the guest rooms in recent years, added Amana Heater/Air Conditioners,
Simmons Pillowtop Queen beds, 100% non-smoking with free wi-fi and a free continental breakfast that includes 24/7 coffee and tea. Our rooms are above average size for economy lodging in Monterey at 264 to 351 square feet. Our closest neighboring hotel has rooms at 200 sq feet. You liked the ease of parking. Please visit us again. Our bathrooms on the 3rd floor are brand new!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#20 of 56 in Monterey
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £57 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing