We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jekwu O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for The Stevenson Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good Points of the hotel was the Breakfast & the free parking, WIFI was average, room was very dark but to be fair it was clean.
The location wasn't great, especially as it was linked with a petrol garage, but in saying that the price of the room can't be moaned at, on the whole would have tried to find better.
I've rated it average as it could do better with the WIFI and styling the rooms a little better.
Its about par with UK travelodges!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review and a 4 star rating on cleanliness, sleep quality and value.
You also appreciated the free continental breakfast and parking. The wi-fi was ok for you.
We have a 50+ mgs feed from our provider and 3 access points that produce strong signals
by test everyday. We test the wi-fi with laptops, iPhones, Smart Phones and iPads regularly for signal quality and strength. You liked our price and many folks like to have the convenience of the
petrol station and its convenience market. Our Pillowtop beds and pool are other conveniences
that many travelers appreciate. Please come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

So the good points of this hotel. It has free parking and is in great location for all the bars and restaurants. The price was great at $80 a room and the breakfast was the best I got in any motel and bettered some Hiltons I stayed in. However although the wifi was supposed to be free it didn't work. The reception desk stated it was a problem with Apple products but strange that they worked in every other hotel. Because of this I took this review down to 3 stars. If the wifi worked this would have been an excellent stay.

Room Tip: get the top floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank for a great review. Sorry you did not get a better result with your computer connection to our free wi-fi. Usually shutting down and starting over fixes the problem. I use an iPhone and iPad at the property and get good results. We also bring the wi-fi down and back up and that is another way to resolve the problem. We actually never have a problem like this that lasts more than a few minutes. We invite you to come back and enjoy our free parking, free continental breakfast and free wi-fi. You can also enjoy a great night's sleep on our Pillow Top beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Booking into a Travelodge in England can be a bit of a gamble. You know it's going to be basic and sometimes it's not even that. The Travelodge in Monterey was fantastic! Super easy convenient parking, really nice comfortable rooms and complimentary breakfast in the morning! We only stayed 1 night as we were travelling down the Coast over the course of 2 weeks, but an ideal place to stop for the night.
The beds were the comfiest I stayed in the whole trip! The room had a fridge, loads of space to keep luggage, great shower, free wifi. And breakfast in the morning was a real treat. Toast and juice sorted us out before we hit the road again.

Thanks for a pleasant stay guys!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sarahracheI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you so much for the "fantastic rating". Yes we have convenient, free parking, nice and comfortable rooms with a complimentary continental breakfast. You like the fridge, free wi-fi,
shower and thought the beds were the most comfortable you slept in on your 2 week trip.
You used the word ideal. Please visit Monterey again and stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay in room 311. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable and this facility allowed for us to have 5 in a room with a roll away bed. With 3 boys 10, 14 and almost 17 it was a great and affordable option. The pool was average but quite acceptable and clean. The breakfast included freshly made waffles which are a family favorite. The staff was very nice and accommodating and gave us worthwhile tips on what sites to see and the best way to view them (Like Bixby Creek Bridge - Got some great family pics there!). It has easy walking access to groceries/incidentals, the wharf and great restaurants. We have a new favorite place to stay in Monterey!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 3rd floor. Our kids had fun dropping their pillows to me from the 3rd floor balco...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WAB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Glad your family of 5 had fun within your budget in our convenient, clean, comfortable and quiet location. We are happy you found us great and affordable. Our pool is heated to 82 degrees. We do specialize in giving you tips based on where you want to go and what you want to see. We even
have a few "secret" beaches for you to discover! We try to put some magic into your travels and we look forward to your return and all Monterey has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Good night for my family of 9 from UK and Australia - 5adults and 4.children.
A good nights rest en-route from San Francisco to Los Angeles.
Easy to find and good for walking into town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Rmhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We appreciate your 5 star review and as a family of 9 we are glad we met all your expectations.
Our location, free wi-fi, continental breakfast and parking do appeal to a wide variety of people.
Our swimming pool is now heated to 80+ degrees and Easter and Memorial Day are just around the corner. Make your reservations for lodging in Monterey's most convenient lcoation today!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Price, location, cleanliness, staff....everything was excellent.
This Travelodge surpassed our expectations. Who would have
thought such places were still available for the moderate price
of under $100.00.!!

Room Tip: Our experience was from a room on the top floor.
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for a 5 Star review! Every so often we meet the perfect guests.
The ones that come and stay a week and enjoy every minute of their time
discovering the magic of our location and all that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer.
When you visibly see the guest's smiles become brighter and brighter each day,
you know you and your team have helped create a bit more happiness and peace
in a busy, complicated world. Sharing the magic of Monterey is what we do
and we welcome all who wish to experience that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#20 of 56 in Monterey
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,455 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £58 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing