We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just so so.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Ranked #52 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The property was nice, the rooms looked nice on the inside, once you lay down though, you feel like you are laying on the ground; super uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scuttlebuttin143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Stargazer Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

I'm a little surprised to hear some of the negative reviews. I don't know why anyone would choose this motel for their honeymoon or spend $300 on a room. My friend and I got a room with two queens and paid about $100. I was a little shocked when I opened the door and saw just one queen bed. After 6 hours on the road, I wasn't too excited and marched down to the front desk to complain. It turns out that there were 2 queens, Had I explored further, one was just in another room- the one with the ocean view. Sure the TVs were a little retro, but I hope people don't come to Monterey to sit and watch TV... Went to an amazing Tapas restaurant within walking distance down the street. Great continental breakfast (they even had protein- hard boiled egss). Good waffles and more variety than similar motels I have been too. They even worked hard to provide a family who came to breakfast with kosher options. Went for a swim and soak in the hot tub. All in all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karapalida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed as we were going to the moto gp race. Ideal location for laguna seca but this is not a hotel. Room was dark and the noise from other guests was easily heard. More of a motel that needs an upgrade and fast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We paid 300 bucks for a motel (it is not an hotel!!) by far the worst hotel we spent during our honey moon in California and surprisingly at the highest price!!!!
The value is at least 3 times lower. Ok we were in. A weekend in high season but in any case rate was toom much overpriced and I think should be prohibited over speculate in such way.
In the room there was a strange smell and there were several spot in the floor. Additionally was very dark, located in front of vending machine and very dirty
Indoor pool seemed dirty, old and in fact was always empty
Next tine We will book in advance and not in this hotel
Don t go there!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conteraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have never written a negative review, but this hotel's take-it-or-leave-it attitude and untrained staff really ruined an important birthday weekend for our family. The front desk person was entirely unaccomodating and kept saying there were no rooms with two beds, though I had called and requested rooms with two beds a week prior and we arrived early for check-in. She said there was no record of my request, which means either she or a prior clerk did not make notes or she was lying. Finally, after cross-examining her for several minutes, she came up with one room with a "futon" and a bed, "but that's reserved for walk-ins." She grudgingly let us have it. It was awful and the leatherette hard couch (not a futon!) was impossible to sleep on. The rooms were old and mildewy and the beds were tiny...I've had similar accomodations and not complained, but the star rating for this hotel should be one at most, not two-and-a-half...and they should have a front desk person with a better attitude and some training.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fangsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

we stayed in the honeymoon suite it was great it has a four poster king size canopy bed and a fireplace. it was great i will come back here again and i will tell all of my friends about this place. the front desk staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMollySalinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Monterey was full when we looked for accommodations for this last-minute family weekend getaway. This looked like the best of a small number of accommodations that still had availability. I hate to imagine what the others would have been like!

The only real positive: there is, as advertised, a heated indoor swimming pool with whirlpool spa, and the littlest member of our traveling party enjoyed it, though it must be said that the pool area was spartan, and the "pool towels" on offer at the front desk were little more than cleaning rags.

For the rest, not so good. The room was reasonably spacious, but cluttered and dingy, with dated and worn out furnishings and a grimy carpet. The free breakfast was minimal, some warehouse store pastries, sliced bread for the toaster, hard boiled eggs and fresh waffles (the last was one of the only nice touches, and appreciated by the little ones). As the property had filled up for this busy Monterey weekend, however, by the time we made it to the cramped breakfast room the offerings had been pretty thoroughly picked over.

At $300 a night plus tax, this was a great disappointment, and I would not stay here again even at one-third the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai-Ala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 56 in Monterey
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#55 of 56 in Monterey
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargazer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargazer Inn and Suites

Address: 1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-4513 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £56 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stargazer Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stargazer Inn & Suites is part of the Monterey Signature Collection of accommodations. Situated in the center of Monterey's historic downtown,Stargazer Inn & Suites is a newly renovated, smoke-free hotel in one of California's most picturesque coastal communities. Monterey is the gateway to Big Sur, Carmel and other vacation spots, making the Stargazer Inn & Suites an ideal hotel for business travelers and vacationers alike. Our rooms feature bedding and bath collections for ultimate comfort. In addition to 40" flat screen TVs, our guests have access to complimentary high-speed wireless internet. Last but not least, we offer an indoor heated pool and spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stargazer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Monterey
Clarion Monterey
Monterey Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing