We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff led to a horrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Ranked #52 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Rude staff led to a horrible stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

When you've had a long day and finally reach your hotel the last thing you need is an unfriendly desk clerk treating you like a dirt.

I booked my hotel on Priceline and got a great deal. I spent the day at a final job interview, so I was dressed up a little bit, business casual. When I walked in, the woman at the front desk literally looked me up and down, frowned and in a sarcastic tone asked how she could help me. I'm in my mid-twenties, I get carded constantly, I get I look young but she acted as though I was a 13 yr old trying to buy beer. I was super friendly and I explained that I had a reservation, asking how her night was and commenting how lucky she was to be inside in the warm (it was freezing outside). She ignored my small talk and asked for my name bluntly, seeming skeptical about my having a reservation. After a minute of checking the computer she said, I kid you not, "Oh, wow, you really do."

She remained mono-tone and snippy as she gave me my key and told me where my room was. She acted as though her mere presence was a gift to me and seemed angry that I wasn't acting accordingly.

As I left I told her to have a good night, she grunted. Maybe she was just having a bad night, who knows, but customer service rule #1 is to check your personal problems at the door. She obviously missed that lesson.

The room itself was OK, stains on the carpet and chairs, the bed was a little lumpy, but otherwise it was adequate.

Breakfast was a joke. Everything was cut into fours. The large muffins (They looked like the Costco muffins) were cut into quarters. The breakfast attendant even stood there making Belgium waffles of which she then cut into fours. If you took more than a fourth, she gave you a look as if to imply, "you pig".

I get times are tough, but it was a little bizarre.

At least when I checked out I got a half smile from the front desk girl.

I will NEVER stay at this location again and would not recommend it to anyone. There are tons of other hotels in the area, I strongly urge you to try one of those over this place. Personally, I had a stellar experience the following night at the Red Roof Inn.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage ask for a room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    101
    86
    43
    44
See reviews for
87
133
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here last March for my 14 yr. olds springbreak. It was very conveniently located. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. Only problem was they had a major power outage when we got there but P.G. & E. was able to get us up and running by 9p.m. The staff also, put us in a nice room that had two separate rooms for each queen bed so, it gave my son privacy and my s.o. and I privacy. This room also, had a small balcony that looked out back which was pretty . I watched the birds every morning. Breakfast was good and very satisfying. The staff was great and we would definitely stay here again. I'm a Choice Hotels member so we received a good price especially with the free upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krista h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Obviously the Choice hotels in the US are not the same as the ones in Sweden. I was shocked by the hotel when I got there.

The hotel is not a 'hotel' - it's like a motel. The receptionist area is located in a separate building. Check-in was great and the front desk staffs were very friendly.

However the hotel itself was bad. I think it's worse than a Super 8/Ramada limited we stayed at. We had a one bedroom suite and the room was dark, and cold. The door couldn't lock properly unless you slam it very hard.

There was a heat in the hallway, and we were wondering why it was there. Then in the evening we knew why. There was only heat in the main room, not in the toilet and not in the bedroom. Perhaps better insulation on the wall will help, but unfortunately the walls were paper thin.

Monterey was not warm in early April, and the toilet and bedroom were freezing cold in the morning and it's definitely not the best way to wake up freezing cold.

Breakfast was 'eatable', nothing fancy but with hot and cold food. The area was pretty packed with people because it was very small.

I don't think I would ever want to go back there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a portable heat if you have a one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPHBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stopped over at Monterey on our way to SF. We were unlucky to arrive in the middle of the busiest Jazz Festival in CA and had a hard time finding a hotel to put up for the night. Everywhere was either full or overpriced. So it was no surprise that we ended up doling a lot of dough for this very basic room.
The girl at the front desk was not helpful, and didn't seem to care if we took the room or not. She wasn't forthcoming with any local information or suggestions for places to visit or eat even when we asked her. Having no choice, as every other place was full, we did take the room.
The room itself was not bad at all. It was very spacious, clean and comfortable. It was well provisioned and had good size beds. WiFi was free, which was helpful. Breakfast was included, but was awful with hardly any choices and wasn't worth it at all.
The overall experience wasn't good, and we would not recommend this place. Definitely not a first choice, more like a last resort.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stayed there for two nights while attending a friends wedding. Nice older hotel, rooms could use upgrading. Continental breakfast was just ok nothing special. Close to Carmel where the wedding and reception to place. Was nice that most of the couples friends were able to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul10212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This older hotel on Munras was a nice, quiet place to stay for 3 nites, not too far from the tourist spots. The continental breakfast was adequate, my room, the Cabin Suite, was in interesting throwback to an earlier time which I much enjoyed and hope to visit again nest time I visit Monterey. My room had a refrigerator and a microwave which I found useful. The staff was friendly and accommodating and eager to please.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My family spent a lot of time at the indoor pool during our 2 night stay. Here are some notes:
--Pool is conveniently close to all rooms.
--Pool water temperature is kept quite warm/inviting.
--Hot tub is indeed hot, which made up for jets not being very strong.
--Depth ranges from 3.5+ ft in shallow end to 8+ ft in deep end. Seems deeper than marked. There was no place my 4 year old could stand in the pool - glad we brought inflatable ring for her.
--Pool open until 10 pm. Made for easy after dinner family activity. (Closed noon-1pm for cleaning.)
--Small, well-worn pool towels available from friendly hotel front desk. Might want to bring your own.
--Pool seemed heavily chlorinated. We didn't rinse our daughter's suit after the first night, and by the second night it had faded from purple to pink! Oops.

It was a great visit overall. We loved our room with 1 king and 1 queen, efficiency kitchen, flatscreen TV, and fireplace. The free breakfast had enough variety to please us all. I personally loved the abundance of bed pillows and appreciated the hotel granting our late checkout request. We will definitely stay here again. I have just booked two more weekend trips!

Room Tip: The "cottage" rooms in the same building as the hotel front desk do not have air condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RXR94563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargazer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargazer Inn and Suites

Property: Stargazer Inn and Suites
Address: 1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-4513 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stargazer Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stargazer Inn & Suites is part of the Monterey Signature Collection of accommodations. Situated in the center of Monterey's historic downtown,Stargazer Inn & Suites is a newly renovated, smoke-free hotel in one of California's most picturesque coastal communities. Monterey is the gateway to Big Sur, Carmel and other vacation spots, making the Stargazer Inn & Suites an ideal hotel for business travelers and vacationers alike. Our rooms feature bedding and bath collections for ultimate comfort. In addition to 40" flat screen TVs, our guests have access to complimentary high-speed wireless internet. Last but not least, we offer an indoor heated pool and spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stargazer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Monterey
Clarion Monterey
Monterey Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing