We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Ranked #48 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at the Clarion for 2 nights. The first night we paid about $190 for 3 people in a double. We extended our stay for a second night (at $300) to explore more of Monterey. That was a bit overpriced for the quality of the hotel even on a Saturday night. The rooms are clean but just a bit noisy. You could hear the next door neighbors arrive and leave at all hours of the night but that may just have been the room we stayed in. The breakfast should be used as a snack to an early lunch. Staff was good and responsive all around. I would prefer to be 2 blocks or so closer to downtown. Probably would not stay at the Clarion again but it's not a bad last-resort place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

My stay at the Clarion Hotel Monterey was a good reminder of what hotels use to be. Although clean and comfortable the age of the hotel showed in a musty odor that was constant. I was impressed by how quite it was and was able to sleep quite well. The continental breakfast was stark but they had Cheerios (my favorite cereal) and the coffee was fresh.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in room 233. It must have been an old owners room. Being a suite, it was very small (I've stayed in larger cruise cabins on cruise ships) and very poor quality for a suite. No air conditioner in room, refridg was warm, light bulb in bathroom burned out, drawer in closet hutch was broke, bed was a queen and hard and bathroom floor needed some repairs. The morning breakfast is not until 7 am making it a bit hard for morning air travels to enjoy a quick breakfast. No coffee in the lounge so having morning coffee if you can't wait for breakfast is impoible as the coffee pot in the room is dirty and I certainally wouldn't use it. The grounds were clean and the staff seemed pleasant to communicate with. I would not recommend this Clarion if you like a more upscale stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyoed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Excellent staff, good rooms, good location.
Breakfast is just ok with cereal, juice, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy and waffles.
They do have indoor pool but i think it is shared with the neighboring hotel too so expect it to be a little crowded.
Noise from outside might keep you up if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pooja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If the indoor pool attracts you here, be aware that while it is a large one and nice enough, unless you are here when it is very warm, or you happen to have a room that is very close to the pool, you will need to be ready for an outside walk back and forth from the pool. There are no changing facilities or bathrooms in the pool area, either. Otherwise, the rooms are OK, and the breakfast very nice with lots of stuff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John10731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Friendly helpful staff on check in and lots of parking on site. Site has an indoor pool and spa, and the included continental breakfast is excellent. We had a villa with fireplace which was great. Plasma tv microwave bar fridge queen bed however the bathroom is a bit dated but in great condition. The location is a 5 minute drive from the cannery wharf district and 10 min to Carmel and local golf courses.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Posimaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Clarion isn't a hotel, despite the name. It's a pretty standard motel operation. The layout is a bit unusual, as the motel units are arranged around an old two-story house that seems to be related, somehow, to the motel operation....possibly an owner's quarters? Anyway, this motel property is a little old, tired and seedy, with chipped (exterior) paint, stained and worn (exterior) mats and carpeting. Some of the rooms are small; others rather large. Room interiors are in pretty good shape. Moderate noise levels for a motel, from in-room refrigerator cycling on and off all night to plumbing sounds from adjoining rooms -- all kinda typical. I'd say the Clarion can be a good choice or a poor choice depending upon the price you're able to get. Despite the mild complaints, this certainly isn't a dump nor without some redeeming features.

Room Tip: Rooms with two beds seem to be significantly larger, even after allowing for the space occupied by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.1 mi away
Munras Inn
Munras Inn
#25 of 56 in Monterey
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#55 of 56 in Monterey
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargazer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargazer Inn and Suites

Address: 1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-4513 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £55 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stargazer Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stargazer Inn & Suites is part of the Monterey Signature Collection of accommodations. Situated in the center of Monterey's historic downtown,Stargazer Inn & Suites is a newly renovated, smoke-free hotel in one of California's most picturesque coastal communities. Monterey is the gateway to Big Sur, Carmel and other vacation spots, making the Stargazer Inn & Suites an ideal hotel for business travelers and vacationers alike. Our rooms feature bedding and bath collections for ultimate comfort. In addition to 40" flat screen TVs, our guests have access to complimentary high-speed wireless internet. Last but not least, we offer an indoor heated pool and spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stargazer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Monterey
Clarion Monterey
Monterey Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing