We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice, above average place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Ranked #52 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Recently took my daughter on a small excursion to visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium traveling along the 1 from Huntington Beach. We wanted to stay closer to the aquarium however there was a large car auction in town the same weekend so lodging was scarce and rates were at a premium. The Clarion was a clean place a little off the beaten path, they served a nice morning continental breakfast and have a heated indoor pool. The wharf and cannery district are about a 5 - 7 min drive. As I mentioned this is a nice clean place but if your looking for something with a view and charming character you may want to try somewhere else. This is your typical above par but not excellent travelers chain hotel, I am sure well worth their normal rates but I felt the rate because of the car auction was a little too high but the hotel was charging what everyone else was so I can understand. The room had a low ceiling which made it appear small and boxed in also it was a little dated but as I said clean and did have a fridge, wifi, large tv, etc. if your traveling on business or alone and just want somewhere cool and quiet this is for you! I would not recommend as a romantic getaway location. Couple of things I will say, Diego the check in guy and all the staff were very friendly! There's a cool little bay right nearby to take a little walk then get dinner in town at the wharf however it's not quite close enough to walk. Also the comforter could have used a cleaning, but the sheets and linens were quite clean and fresh. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I might suggest an upper floor room but not in the courtyard it felt a little closed in.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Stargazer Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

I used Priceline's "name your own price" to get our room because room prices everywhere were significantly higher than normal this weekend due, at least in part, to it being move-in weekend at Cal. State Monterey Bay. Although I got a pretty good price for this weekend, I was still concerned about our stay because I had read a number of negative reviews. I want to say that we had a perfectly lovely stay with no problems, and I would stay here again.

The front desk was very nice both on check-in and check out. Maybe the room you get makes a difference, but everything in our room worked and was well-maintained. There was a mild "old hotel" odor when you first opened the door, but we opened the window to let in the wonderful Monterey air and were able to air it out pretty quickly.

The room, which was about average size, had a refrigerator and microwave that we did not use and a coffeemaker we did use. The coffee in the room was very good (actually better than the coffee in the breakfast room). The bed was comfortable and, at least during the time we stayed, everyone was quiet, so we slept very well. Because this is really a motel rather than a hotel, there could have been noise if people arrived late or left early, but we did not experience any issues with noise during our stay. Our internet worked well and was complimentary.

I particularly want to address breakfast because someone commented previously that breakfast was "disgusting." Breakfast is a continental, which means starch not protein, but they did have freshly made waffles which was a nice surprise. Breakfast could be improved with the addition of a few simple items, such as cream cheese and bananas, which would complement what they do have, but breakfast was certainly not "disgusting." As another person wrote, think of it as a small breakfast and plan to have a nice lunch later. Also, although the breakfast room is small, it is very clean and cheery, and there is also some outside seating.

The location of this Clarion is good on what appears to be very nice motel row leading in and out of town. I think as long as you recognize that this location has a 2½ star rating and is actually a motel rather than a hotel, this is a good place to stay. I think many of the folks who were disappointed were expecting too much.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Recently came here for a quick stop on a road trip. Not only was front desk super friendly, the room was also extremely clean. This was the best priced hotel along munras with a comfortable stay! Would stay here again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank CFreeze24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

After spending a couple of nights in Santa Cruz before, this motel was very reasonably priced in comparison. The rooms were well equipped and clean with good A/C. The breakfast was good although a few healthier options could have been added as not everyone wants to eat mountains of waffles and muffins! The check in service was very good. All in all a resonantly priced motel. The pier and beach is about a 20 min walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crown3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our room was immaculately clean, in great condition and included a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The indoor swimming pool and spa were really nice. The staff were really friendly throughout our stay and after we left they went above and beyond the call of duty:- we left some souvenirs in the fridge and they contacted room service who very kindly returned our goods and they posted them onto us - we were absolutely delighted!
We really enjoyed our stay, and it was one of the cheapest hotels we stayed in during our 2 week trip throughout California, so we feel like it offers exceptional value for money. We can't recommend The Clarion more highly!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBunny008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We checked into this hotel on July 4. On check in we asked for a room with 2 beds, and were told it would be $25. The front desk person was surprised when the computer said it would be $45 because he has never seen the price for 2 beds be more than $25. We agreed to pay it. The room was very smelly, but we thought it would air out with the air conditioning on. We asked for a recommendation for a restaurant and was sent to a place with 1.5 stars on Yelp. Thankfully we checked it before making a reservation. We went someplace else that was good. We got back and the room still smelled so awful. We could not figure out if it was mold or mildew but we could not stay there it smelled so bad. I went to the front desk to check out and the front desk guy did not apologize and immediately said, I cannot refund the room price or the extra $45. No apology. He did not even offer to have us change rooms. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: Ask to smell it before checking in. Better yet, pick a different hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were booked to stay here for one night, but enjoyed it so much we stayed for another.
The location was perfect, just a short walk into Monterey town, but with brilliant access to Highway 1.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff very helpful and polite and the pool and spa were much better than expected. The pool was warm, and the spa was actually too warm for my sunburnt legs. We had been whalewatching earlier in the day, which was brilliant too, but the very warm water in the spa stung a lot. Slightly cooler would have been wonderful.
The breakfast was plentiful and varied and it was the first place we had been able to get a good cup of tea. Sorry to sound so English, but it was a real bonus.
Overall we would really recommend this motel, and if we are ever lucky enough to return to
Monterey, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeanaRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 56 in Monterey
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#55 of 56 in Monterey
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargazer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargazer Inn and Suites

Address: 1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-4513 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £56 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stargazer Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stargazer Inn & Suites is part of the Monterey Signature Collection of accommodations. Situated in the center of Monterey's historic downtown,Stargazer Inn & Suites is a newly renovated, smoke-free hotel in one of California's most picturesque coastal communities. Monterey is the gateway to Big Sur, Carmel and other vacation spots, making the Stargazer Inn & Suites an ideal hotel for business travelers and vacationers alike. Our rooms feature bedding and bath collections for ultimate comfort. In addition to 40" flat screen TVs, our guests have access to complimentary high-speed wireless internet. Last but not least, we offer an indoor heated pool and spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stargazer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Monterey
Clarion Monterey
Monterey Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing