We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun find for a light lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wild Plum

The Wild Plum
Ranked #45 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun find for a light lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were staying at a nearby hotel and just wandered out to see what we could find nearby for something light to eat. This was an unexpected great find.
Menu has plenty of choice and the homemade soup was delicious. I had a great salad, although chicken was dry. The salads and deli items on display to take away all looked delicious.
There was only one guy working, and he did a great job serving us and others, and was very polite.
It was nice to find somewhere so wholesome with some great home cooked, and fresh foods.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    117
    30
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were in Monterey for the Big Sur Marathon and knew of this place from a previous visit. It's a small place with just a few tables, but the food is great, the people very friendly, and the atmosphere funky, with a pleasant laid-back vibe. Others on this site have mentioned a wait, but there was none when we went there. I had the California omelette, which was awesome. Coffee was great too. The cafe was a little hard for us to find, but definitely worth the extra few minutes it took to find it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank runnerskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Skip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I went for lunch and ordered grill chicken on nana's bread. Was so so. The chicken extended over bun which would be OK except that cheese and some sort of sauce was dripping out. I gotta say sauce did do much for me, and the hunk of cheese was just too much for the sandwich. I couldn't really recommend the cafe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good place to stop if not in a hurry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We ate here at the begining of April.
The food was really good, big portions.
The staff were polite and helpful.
The place was very busy and we did wait a while, but we were on holiday so didn't mind.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank micthemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great breakfast or lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This place was amazing! They have a lot of variety (pastries, scrambles, salads, sandwiches) and everything we ordered was great. I had a big salad with lots of fresh avocado and a delicious dressing, and my husband had a yummy scramble with potatoes, eggs, and veggies. I would definitely return to this little restaurant!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GriffinH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Plum also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to The Wild Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing