We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick to Your Ribs Omelettes”
Review of The Wild Plum

The Wild Plum
Ranked #43 of 305 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Stick to Your Ribs Omelettes”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We saw an ad for this place in our hotel room that said "Best Breakfast in Monterey" so decided to give it a try. It was a little hard to find on a side street. There are a few tables outside of the restaurant, a counter you can sit at inside that runs along the front window and a handful of tables inside. We were seated right away and the place soon became full on a Thursday morning. Staff was attentive and timely. I chose the Southwestern omelette, which was chock full of veggies, bacon, avocado and accompanied by a delicious homemade salsa. The fruit on the plate was fresh and the two types of bread were good. I did learn a trick though (a little too late) -- ask for jam for your bread. We didn't know, but overheard another customer. Apparently they have raspberry and apricot jam. My husband ordered a ham and cheese omelette. We left stuffed! And let me tell you ... we were not hungry until 8 hours later, if even then. Definitely would not hesitate to recommend The Wild Plum for breakfast. BTW ... if you are looking for the restrooms, ask staff. They are outside and around the corner and it takes a code to get in. However, the restrooms were very clean making up for the lack of convenience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CacheOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    119
    30
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Healthy delicious food”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I go to Wild Plum frequently. Call me a regular. The food is really high quality. The atmosphere is sort of Berkeley. Many good things on the menu, interesting combinations. Though it might sound mundane the grilled cheese sandwich on Nana bread is wonderful maybe the best ever. The service can sometimes be a little laconic. Roll with it, very nice people

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank creativity2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun find for a light lunch”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were staying at a nearby hotel and just wandered out to see what we could find nearby for something light to eat. This was an unexpected great find.
Menu has plenty of choice and the homemade soup was delicious. I had a great salad, although chicken was dry. The salads and deli items on display to take away all looked delicious.
There was only one guy working, and he did a great job serving us and others, and was very polite.
It was nice to find somewhere so wholesome with some great home cooked, and fresh foods.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were in Monterey for the Big Sur Marathon and knew of this place from a previous visit. It's a small place with just a few tables, but the food is great, the people very friendly, and the atmosphere funky, with a pleasant laid-back vibe. Others on this site have mentioned a wait, but there was none when we went there. I had the California omelette, which was awesome. Coffee was great too. The cafe was a little hard for us to find, but definitely worth the extra few minutes it took to find it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank runnerskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Skip”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I went for lunch and ordered grill chicken on nana's bread. Was so so. The chicken extended over bun which would be OK except that cheese and some sort of sauce was dripping out. I gotta say sauce did do much for me, and the hunk of cheese was just too much for the sandwich. I couldn't really recommend the cafe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Plum also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to The Wild Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing