We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Wharf”
Review of Gilbert's Seafood Grill - CLOSED

Gilbert's Seafood Grill
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“On the Wharf”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

If you have an opportunity in Monterey, you should eat on the wharf at a window table for some excellent scenery: boats, sea lions, soaring birds, maybe a sea otter or two. We saw all.

Gilbert's met our expectations, but they could have done a little better.

First the good things. We both ordered a fish lunch, and the fish in both cases was seemingly fresh, well prepared and tasty. As were the mixture of vegetables.

Our only issue was that our two meals on the menu came with rice, but we instead got mashed potatoes. And in a peeve that I personally carry, the fish was mashed down onto the mashed potatoes. It was hard to separate the two.

The scenery and interior environment was very good.

Our waiter had issues -- not bringing my wife's water with the lemon she requested in advance and never bringing us the bread that he himself offered us. Another waiter willingly obliged us when asked.

Prices were reasonable for our lunches and the setting.

While I only rank at a "3", I don't think you'll do much better in this rather touristy area of the Monterey Wharf.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    20
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NOT worth a visit!!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Highly priced items for the low quantity of food. Mixed up our orders, wait staff was slow fulfill our requests (had to ask TWICE on number occasions!), and only allowed ONE free soda refills! What kind of restaurant only allows one soda refill?!? If, if you have to visit, the best deal is to keep to the lunch specials. For the quantity of food, the price could be right depending on what is ordered. Another MFW restaurant we will NOT be visiting again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLKian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The amount of food one gets is disproportionate with the menu prices. Seems like we got transported to Italy where they hand you a tourist menu when they see you come in, and everything starts at $20. Given the casual setup, small portions and nothing really exciting on the menu, you can do much better elsewhere.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“FISH N CHIPS!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Whenever I am in area where there is PRIME seafood I always try out the local FISH N CHIPS. I stopped by Gilbert's after my whale watching tour. I had a great seat outside on the deck surrounded by beautiful scenery of the Bay. If you are ever in the area stop by Gilbert's for some great FISH N CHIPS!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great view! Good food!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our family had fun watching the seals during our dinner. The restaurant had a variety of entrees and the prices were reasonable. A great place to eat with a family!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeaDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilbert's Seafood Grill also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing